Wednesday Walk At Rocks State Park ~ The Rapids Area

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

My walk today is at Rocks State Park in Harford County, Maryland and is along, what is known as, the Rapids Area.

uw4dzdt2ky.jpg

We had to cross the street here to get to the Rapids Area trail. My next photo, which is on the side that we parked at, shows a trail that leads up to The King and Queen Seat. I'll be showing photos of that in the coming week or two but today I'll be showing more photos taken along the Rapids Area. I did show some photos, initially, on #bouldersunday but I took a lot of photos and so here we are...and I'll still have more photos to show after this post! 😱

yb4lizabbz.jpg

This is the Rapids Area but the body of water is known as Deer Creek. Funny thing though is that it isn't a creek! It's a 52.9 mile long river that starts in Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania and empties into the Susquehanna River. source

rsj5v3ai46.jpg

mii9u7tpbk.jpg

e5nogtg4l7.jpg

h201o6omz3.jpg

With all of the rain we've had here, it seemed like the foliage was extra pretty with various shades of green.

llqeu7vuf2.jpg

5wmaq0brlm.jpg

529amon6ga.jpg

With little pops of color here and there.

vj6dps6lb0.jpg

wlhmz3xoou.jpg

We watched how the quickly the water turned into rapids and listened to the accompanying sound.

vktd1qq1f0.jpg

jwqrd4un6x.jpg

a5jjpolrl2.jpg

vwybs0hzt8.jpg

You can experience it too! I made this very short video of the rapids. It is less than a minute long and, yes, I know I posted it in my other Rocks State Park Rapids Area post also! Hmmm...looks like only 7 people took that less than a minute to watch it! 😢 So, I'm giving ya'll another chance! 😉

The trail itself was very nice to walk. At times it was paved with boulders and rocks and other parts were just a dirt path.

fv7xb4im25.jpg

I spotted different plants that were pretty. There were a lot of these yellow flowers. I don't know what they are but I liked their cheery yellow color!

03dmnx7yjp.jpg

bnoyj5pivv.jpg

There are a lot of caution signs on the trail and by the water.

yx2t8ow3tx.jpg

oa6r6jysv0.jpg

There is also life ring should someone need the use of one.

0sv4dh0pts.jpg

You never know when you could lose your footing and fall in. I'm not saying that has happened to me (yet) but I've come close a time or two.

8g8zi79zwa.jpg

8chntbf1o9.jpg

Looking down the river, I spotted a young tree with white blossoms. It really stood out against the water and the greenery. I tried to get a good photo of it but I don't think the white blossoms show up as nicely in my photo as it did seeing it in person. Still a pretty little piece of scenery though.

1l27wbdi7i.jpg

Last two photos coming up! An area that's a little less noisy than the rapids and ...

hl2z7859e6.jpg

...an area quieter still where the water had a serene look and calming sound.

hyqf9m1t09.jpg

Thank you @tattoodjay for #wednesdaywalk!! You can check out Jay's latest walk here!

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks @pixresteemer!! I appreciate it!! xoxo

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

🎁 Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

This place look amazing! It is so green and lush I want to go for a walk here now. haha. Thanks for sharing I will add this place to the bucket list.

Thank you @bricbric!! I feel like with all the rain we've been getting, it's made everything extra lush. :)

ThAts a trail I would love to walk especially after rain and the greens really pop out so lush and vibrant
Loved the little video there is something so relaxing for me about the sounds of water through rapids
This was such a delightful walk post to visit !tip

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thank you @tattoodjay!! Yep, it was rainy off and on all morning. We almost didn't go but glad we did. Glad you loved the video! :)

I am glad you did as well so we all got to experience it as well :)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice or Drugwars

What a great walk. Watched the short video, the power of moving water is always remarkable to me.

Thanks so much @thebigsweed!! I know...I find it remarkable, fascinating and at times quite scary too.

You had a wonderful walk!!! These are beautiful virgin places! It seemed to me that the weather was rather damp. I hope you are not shy from damp

Thank you @tali72!! Yep, it was light rain off and on but most of the trail was fine.

I watched the video again. Such a lovely sound! And more rocks and flowers! Those springtime shades of green are the best! !Tip

Thank you so much @melinda010100!! I think I could pick out the ones who watched the first time..lol! It really was! I think all the rain we've had gave us a very green and lush Spring.

If it ever warms up here it will be like living in the jungle!

🎁 Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Walking Around My Yard... Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82