Wednesday Walk in Chincoteague

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago


Riding my anticipation
Gives me reason to believe
The conveyer of which
Belongs to my soul
Once more

IMG_9504ponies.JPG


Today is #WednesdayWalk with @Tattoodjay. It was a challenge started by him to get people up and moving, all the while, looking for something to photograph. You can find his current post here! along with the rules guidelines to the challenge. It's all the rage! Everyone is doing it!

ponies.JPG

Oh, there was so much to see as we walked downtown, throughout the island, of no return. We lost our souls there, as we do every year. Taking in the pony sights. Walking through the Tidewater, over to the town, we spot so many pony messages, basking in the sun. Oh, to run wild and free! Let's just walk about and see what we will see.

IMG_9970 pony swim.JPG

And yes, this is exactly what the town is like 24/7/265 days a year, unless there is snow. Which is really never. Life is in the lane of peace and harmony, bikes making the most traffic unless it is the season of the tourist. Life is a gentle feeling as the subtle breeze that brushes across my face. Uncomplicated. And I love it.

0P2A9384.JPG

IMG_8510 pony swim.JPG



Once in a lifetime or mayhap three
Your heart may stray toward a four-legged friend
Do not fight that natural-born love
That comes with caring for a newfound foal



Oh, for the love of all things pony. Pony baths, pony carousels...there is even a pony movie playing at the theatre. Even pony murals on every available space. And yet, it never seems like too much. I do so love to do a walkabout on this little island of Chincoteague. Life is good.



Misty. This movie shows the story of Chincoteague and her ponies. It plays every single day in the morning. Always plays to a crowd.

IMG_9969 pony swim.JPG

Simple fun. The laughter of the gull's echos in my ears. And I think to myself, what a wonderful life they have, running against the wind and playing in the sun.

IMG_9963 pony swim.JPG

A flower. There must always be a flower. This flower is dedicated to #WednesdayYellow #ColorChallenge by @Kalemandra, who colors my world, every single day. Even Henry likes yellow flowers and he loves to go back and visit Chincoteague.

10394494_734671071821_7543052050399214101_n pony.jpg

There is nothing quite like
The love a girl has for her pony
I beg to differ with anyone
Who doesn't believe
In that magic.


¸.♥´¸.•♥*¨) Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul

(¸.•´♥ (¸.•´ ♥

image.png

Pony kisses rock it. All day long.

I am only sorry that the walk is over! There was so much more to show, but...I want to thank you for coming along as I enjoyed a #WednesdayWalk, eclectic and true, brought by me to you. And just that quick, this show is over. Tag me and I will visit your walk too! Thank you!



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram



Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Because of you, I come back to post, again and again, I am encouraged by you, for the time you take to visit, comment or even upvote. For all of these reasons, I am eternally grateful. Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin. Some days, it is not as easy to see, how wonderful it really is. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.


I always post this poem down at the bottom of my posts. It is one that has become so near and dear to my heart. I only post the most famous part of it, but, wanted to post it in its entirety today.

they set my aunts house on fire
i cried the way women on tv do
folding at the middle
like a five pound note.
i called the boy who use to love me
tried to ‘okay’ my voice
i said hello
he said warsan, what’s wrong, what’s happened?

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered,
"where does it hurt?"
it answered,

"everywhere"
"everywhere"
"everywhere"

warsan shire



#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

SteemUSA.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif

The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Wow ... what a sublime place, Denise. Dream-like. Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful travels with the rest of us:)

Oh girl! Where have you been!? I kept going over to your place and peruse thing and I know you're around because you vote, but since when did you turn into just a curator and a non posting princess?

It is such a picturesque little place and I enjoy going there. It's like stepping into yesteryear and truly I do think that I could live there except that the culture part is missing and much as I love everything about it oh, it's just a visit for me and sometimes it's leaving an extended visit because it is that nice. I love to take you traveling because you're so much fun. Not get back over to your profile and post something. LOL I want to thank you so much for stopping over and say hello and leaving me such a wonderful comment, as usual. Have a brilliant night my dear. I miss seeing you!

!tip

Thanks so much, Denise. I plan to post again soon, hopefully within the month. I am working these days on new edits for some books I had published earlier and the second in my novel series Slip Treaders. When I get it all looking sharp, I will be up and running again. I promise​.

Oh, that sounds so fun!!! Oh, I will patiently wait, my friend. Some people are worth waiting for.

Takes one to know one:):):)

🎁 Hi @prydefoltz! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk In Chincoteague Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much for the resteem @pixresteemer! Have a most wonderful night!

!tip

🎁 Hi @pixresteemer! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk In Chincoteague Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Pony up!

Okay, I had to say it, corny as it is. Lovely area. Awesome pics and paintings. I really like the one with the lighthouse in the background.

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such a kind comment. Especially since I have been so (read overworked) that I try to push a post out and don't get much chance to read others. And I actually am annoyed at myself for that.

So my sincere apologies that I have been worse than remiss.

But, thank you for not holding that against me and coming here anyway. As always, I wish you a lovely evening!

!tip

🎁 Hi @blockurator! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk In Chincoteague Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Looks like it was a wonderful day. Ponies, horses, flowers and art all in a picturesque little town. What more could someone want. Thanks for the sharing this with us @dswigle

🎁 Hi @tryskele! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk In Chincoteague Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

It actually took place over a week oh, well the walk was one day but I was there for a week doing a pony swim, which is an annual event in this little town, which is actually an island I agree with you! What more could anybody want?

Thank you for stopping over and say hello and leaving me a most wonderful reply. Have a fabulous night.

!tip

Wow! This is a magical island where ponies are well looked after and care free! This place is so peaceful and timeless. Life can flow at a sweeter and slower pace!
It’s so nice to go there for rejuvenating energy every year!

It really is nice to have such a picturesque little place where time Stood Still and life flows a more predictable speed. The magic is in the island oh, you are so right!

I do go to the pony swim every year but I have another house that is not too far from there and like to take some time to relax and unwind. Once I do that, all is well but the world once again. Thank you so much for taking the time to stop in and say hello and as always I wish you a most wonderful day!

!tip

🎁 Hi @kaminchan! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk In Chincoteague Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

There are so many things to see! Wish you can show more... Haha

Oh well I can tell you one thing! You should be careful what you wish for. I could post pictures from this place all day long. I could post them until you begged me to stop. LOL thank you for stopping by and say hello and leaving you are very kind comment behind. As always I hope you have a most wonderful day.

!tip

I really don't mind looking at great photos!! Bring it on! Hahaha...
Truly, I really love your work, don't ever stop sharing. Wish you a wonderful day today.

🎁 Hi @joelai! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk In Chincoteague Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Lots of horses! I love them all and the art work too :)

OpSee that? You are just way too kind! There are lots of horses everywhere you look! This town or this island actually is all about ponies. Right down to the movie theater! And somehow it doesn't feel like Overkill. Thank you so much for stopping by and for leaving your always fun replies.

!tip

Thank you for your generosity and encouragement! I hope i get to visit there :)

🎁 Hi @rossfletcher! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk In Chincoteague Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Muchas gracias!

De nada! :)

These are really nice photography in Chincoteague. And last two photos are touching my heart because they love each other such as pony-flower or pony-women. I have enjoyed your pretty travel with pony.

Thank you so much! Chincoteague Island is one of my favorite places to go in this area. I really like the last picture to because it just reminds me how sweet these little ponies are. Thank you so much for taking the time to visit and there's always I wish you a good night. Or a good day. Whichever it is when you see this.

!tip

🎁 Hi @kamrunnahar! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk In Chincoteague Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Toy horse riding, nostalgic.....😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yes! The carousel was really fun and they're very popular around here, I'm not sure how they are in your country. Everything is so big back here and it's like stepping into 50 years ago some days, so yes very nostalgic.

Thank you for stopping by and poor the kind comment. I wish you a good day.

!tip

🎁 Hi @shuvo35! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk In Chincoteague Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

It looks like such a delightful place to visit i love the carousel and how cool so much there is focused on the pony’s even down to the movie showing and murals

Thanks for sharing such a fun walk and area

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thanks for this great post and being an active member and wonderful guide of @steemusa !tip

Isn't it funny that no matter where you go in this town you will see a pony. I kid you not. There's something comforting about it and then again there's so many of them! I have to say that walking around it never seems like too many.

I had a lot of fun doing this post and I do love the Wednesday walks. So thanks for stopping by and I appreciate the tip!

!tip

From your posts about the place it sounds so charming and a place I would love to visit but through your wonderful posts I feel like I have been there already 👍😎👍

Ha!! You just saved yourself a boatload of money! As lovely and nostalgic as this place is, their places to sleep have caught up (price-wise) with the times! :)

Well with retirement approaching any way i can save money is a good thing, I guess once something starts getting popular people and businesses always milk it for as much as they can

It's funny! It has been doing it since 1925 and has always been popular, but, now they are starting to get international attention. And BTW... their accommodations are places like Miss Mollys and other B&B that have been around for decades. Very few real hotels.

I didnt know it had been going for that long, and yes international attention will do that and spike the prices, I think its good there are not the big hotel chains there that could make it worse I suspect

Yes. I agree with you!

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk In Chincoteague Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thanks @dswigle for the tip truly appreciated

Oh, you know it is just a guilty pleasure!

And for those receiving so generous of you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73