Wednesday Walk to the Rotunda

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago


I spent the day navigating traffic, metro and foot traffic so that I could pay my last respects to President Bush as he lay in State at the Capitol yesterday. There were thousands lined up, and it was a long wait, but, the minute I saw the flag-draped casket, I knew I was in the right place. As my former President and a fellow military member, I am aware that he was far from a perfect, but he was a kind human being.

In a gesture that pierced my heart, Former Senator Bob Dole (aged 95) was lifted out of his wheelchair to pay his respects in a final salute to Bush. The gesture was not lost on me. He was respected and will be missed.


I would have loved to bring you pictures, but no. Not this time. Items not allowed were a camera or course. source



Pennsylvania Avenue, right before I ditched the camera.



The Cathedral is beautiful, but, I had to use a shot from my files as the camera was still not with me. However, it was a hike to be sure for the day and even though I got few pictures, I think I brought home a congested chest and a nice runny nose. At least I didn't come back empty-handed! This is a frieze over the West Doorway of the Washington National Cathedral named Ex Nihilo, which translates as “out of nothing,” this carving dramatically shows life emerging from the void. Partially formed figures of men and women seem to be emerging from the swirling background.


1-IMG_5712.JPG


They want to be picked. They yearn to be loved. Shouldn't we all want to be? There must be a flower. Always a flower.

This picture is for #wednesdayyellow #colorchallenge by @kalemandra


920770_10151635125938832_157918247_o.jpg



¸.♥´¸.•♥¨) Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul

(¸.•´♥ (¸.•´ ♥


1-IMG_6412.JPG


#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

#TheAlliance is an awesome way to grow and discover some quality content. Check us out! Find us on Discord!




Facebook

Twitter

Instagram



Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin. Some days, it is not as easy to see, so we must try harder to give everyone the proper focus.


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!

!tip

🎁 Hi @pixresteemer! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk To The Rotunda Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Thanks, Botty!

A wonderful gesture, Denise. As you very well said, he was a kind human being and, besides, it is not easy to be the president of such a great power like USA. As a leader you cannot be loved by everyone and it takes a great inner strength to cope with that stress.
I love your photos. The flower is by far my favourite but I'm also loving the one you took before putting the camera aside. 🙂

Thank you so much @roxy-cat! It really is not easy being a leader and making unpopular decisions! I know I wouldn't care for that job. I can see how much it changes the man to sit in that seat. They seem to age about a hundred years in those four years of sitting in as president.

They are all my photos, but, there are many places here that cameras are not allowed, for security reasons. So, I used shots that I took before they were banned. :)

Thank you and have a wonderful day!

!tip

🎁 Hi @roxy-cat! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk To The Rotunda Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I think that is a real patriotic thing for you to do. 41 seemed like a good guy and of course I was very fond of Barbara as well.

I sure hope you can quickly get over the ge(r)ms you brought home with you. See what I did there with gems and germs lol. Clever I know right lol. *Ducks and runs away lol

Terribly clever. Who knew? I actually don't think I brought any new ones back with me, just the extreme cold (I must be getting too far south for too far long to be calling 41 cold! But, it was damp!) aggravated the still healing throat.

But, it was totally worth it. I was an honor to be there.

!tip

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk To The Rotunda Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Such a somber day but all respect to you for braving the cold to show your respects I feel a similar way to you about the late president but he deserved the respect he was shown

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

There isn't a chance in Hell-o that I would want to be a sitting President and make decisions that will affect every single American. Have you ever noticed how they age about a hundred years with the one term. What a huge stress on them as a human being that has got to be.

I respect him and yes, I believe he deserves it. It wasn't a great post, but, the walk was awesome! LOL Next week will be better. I promise! Ever have one of those nights where you cannot put two thoughts together? Yeah! That!

!tip

IT was a greta post do not be silly, and yes they age so fast in that position and understandably the weight on their shoulders is immense

As for having a night not being able to put two thoughts together that happens often to me lOL

Oh, God! I must be getting old! LOL

I always say your only as old as you feel, mind you somedays thats young and sonme days real old lOL

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk To The Rotunda Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Rest in peace, choice for that to be honoured of president on Wednesday.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, may he rest in peace. It was an honor to be there. Thank you.

Good job paying respect, along with the pictures.

Thank you so much, Mike @manorvillemike I live close, so it is not such a hardship, but, I truly am glad I am able to attend these type of things. He deserves the respect.

!tip

🎁 Hi @manorvillemike! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday And The Decorated Heart Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Lovely, bright images, @dswigle. It is so pleasant to walk your steps, that I felt free to bring some friends... How about a walk with me, @bluefinstudios?

Yeah, @bluefinstudios is an awesome person. Thanks. The walk was one of respect and it was, indeed a somber day.

Thanks again and I hope you have a wonderful day!

!tip

Thanks, @dswigle!

Well, it's a second day of excitement for me @crazybgadventure as we were supported by a fellow on the platform and we start our Balkan Candles business venture this Saturday. Can't wait to make and decorate the first Christmas eddition. Cross fingers for me :-)

That sounds exciting! Yes! Balkan Candles? I can hardly wait to the post on it!

Yes!! Much luck on your new adventure!

Ahhhhmmm, doesn't it sound like a replic to Yankie Candles? Hihiii.
We are going under the lable you could see in this post Balkan Candles
Pardon my self-promoting spam!

Thanks! :) Nooo Yankee Candless is just an American name for a candle company that is made where all us Yankees come from. (A Yankee is a person who comes from the Northeastern part of the United States)

🎁 Hi @ravijojla! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk To The Rotunda Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Oh, Denise, are you sick? drink ginger tea and herbs and get well soon

No, just leftovers from the pneumonia that I had. I am feeling good! Thank you so much, Tali! @tali72 I hope you have a splendid day! xoox

!tip

I'm glad you're fine !!!! be healthy!!!!

🎁 Hi @tali72! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk To The Rotunda Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

An act of honor and respect! The last photo is very beautiful👍

I know they don't always do what I think is right, but, they have earned my respect as our leader. Thank you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @denissemata! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk To The Rotunda Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94