Garden Of The Gods // Wednesday Walk @SteemUSA Edition

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Happy Halloween,

After a couple of days off I decided it would be time to get back into things on Steemit. Today, started off with a great Halloween show with @WhatsUp and we had a blast. If you missed it, then stay tuned for a great audio recording coming soon. WhatsUp did some curation's and read a poem and featured some links for people to check out, whilst I read The Raven by Edgar Allen Poe. My reading was fairly long but I did it in parts so it wasn't too much of me vocalizing all at once.

However, this blog is about my recent walk to Garden of The Gods in Colorado, USA. The #WednesdayWalk was initiated by @TattoodJay and this was just to get most of us out to take a walk around town, maybe just to our backyard or a block or two down the street. This initiative is a good one and I try to join in as often as I can, especially when it comes to photography. Since it is one of my hobbies and one of the reasons I came to Steemit.

farmto table.png

Created by @EagleSpirit

This past weekend I went on a walk through the Garden Of The Gods, this was a very sacred sight at one time and I have featured it in a past blog but after I received my new camera I have not had the chance to get back to take some shots. Thankfully, I was in the mood to take a drive and explore this area one more time.

As anyone who knows me can say I do love to take big snaps and I was able to figure out what happen to my last shots and why they were so small, I was taking them from the data part of my computer and not where the actual photos were stored. Live and learn!

DSC_0003.JPG

DSC_0004.JPG

DSC_0006.JPG

The above photos were practice shots as I was walking around the area and trying to focus my telephoto lens. Slowly I am learning how to switch from telephoto to regular 35mm.

DSC_0014.JPG

DSC_0016.JPG

DSC_0018.JPG

DSC_0019.JPG

DSC_0021.JPG

DSC_0026.JPG

Then guess who I came across? A lovely pack of riding horses, I found out after I had spent a little bit of time with them that the were owned by a group of people who just load up their horses and take them for a ride through the Garden Of The Gods. How cool is that?

DSC_0024.JPG

In between I am still looking for small plants and flowers to practice shooting, so I found these juniper berries that I love so much and the smell was really lovely.

DSC_0028.JPG

DSC_0029.JPG

DSC_0030.JPG

DSC_0031.JPG

DSC_0032.JPG

As I continued my walk through the Garden Trail (this part I had not walked through before) was a delight and as I captured my walk towards the main garden, I was filled with pure love. It is moments like these that really make living on Mother Earth rewarding.

DSC_0034.JPG

DSC_0037.JPG

DSC_0039.JPG

There was not much change of color and most likely not as vibrant as the east coast, but I still enjoyed capturing the slight change of colors that transformed some of the local grasses, shrubs, and vegetation.

DSC_0043.JPG

DSC_0048.JPG

DSC_0050.JPG

DSC_0053.JPG

DSC_0055.JPG

DSC_0057.JPG

DSC_0059.JPG

DSC_0061.JPG

The textures of the rock were lovely, and I the photos I could capture with my telephoto lens brought a smile to my face. While learning this process it can be quite frustrating when the feel of what one sees is not expressed clearly. The walk altogether was no more than a couple of hours and the trails are very well worn. The traffic is quite high and very difficult to park, and not many bathrooms so if you ever come this way be prepared.

DSC_0069.JPG

DSC_0071.JPG

Hopefully, you enjoyed taking this walk with me through a very special place in Colorado and had a very safe Hallow's Day! As always I love community engagement, so please leave a comment below and I will be sure to respond.

Yours,

QmXjtAmwcMN2UZUKqEHNNuFtbMT54MpWoTwgVvrSxsRSDc.png

Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a Certified Indian Blood member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Reiki Master-Teacher, Medicine woman in-training, paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, and energy work. Additionally, I'm the creator of Red Radio, #FreedomFriday, and #MedicineCardMonday so if you are interested in receiving Native American Medicine stop by my blog every Monday to say hello!

A'OO, Eagle Spirit

image

Sort:  

Well. That makes my stroll down by the river look pretty paltry. What a glorious place.

"Garden of the Gods". I'd never heard of it, but I know a place called "Valley of the Gods" in Utah that sort of reminds me of it. I think the name requires a certain something.

Valley of the Gods is quite near Monument Valley and I feel more drawn to Valley of the Gods. In fact, if you stand on Muley point you can look down into both of them about 20 miles apart. For me, it's an intensely spiritual place.

Thanks for an absolutely glorious look at a fantastic place. Amazing walk, all in all.

What a beautiful place and photos! Great place for learning how to use your camera - I do believe your getting the knack of it by the results you got here. Thanks for sharing!

you just made me want to take a trip not many can do that anymore thank you

Nice!

I never went there when I lived in Denver, but did on a road trip to NM via SD and CO in 2016.

IMAG0386.jpg

IMG_20160805_152951.jpg

Just a couple so I don't flood your post.

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

i saw faces on the mountains. Its amazing how nature took its shape

these are all beautiful shots, those frock formations really are beautiful and it is so ope and vast. I am in the mountains, but live in a valley that can feel a bit enclosed at times, I don't really have to travel far to get of there so thats okay. Love the horses too, my girls all love horses and will love to see these when they come back in a some point xxx

love the horsey shots! and that juniper!

One of my favorite places to visit. It's been a few years. I just love it there

Beautiful Place and Horses too. Nice job with being out in Nature today @eaglespirit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76