Wednesday Walk Tiles


One Avenue- Five Minutes - Twelve Minus Two Tiles


Lat week I finally got around to having a go at @tattoodjay's weekly challenge called 'Wednesday Walk'.

It was great fun and I also won a Steem Basic Income share which makes it even better. There are more up for gras this week so why not join in?

The idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see, within a short distance of your home, office or wherever you start.

For more information see his latest Wednesday Walk post where he offers some guidelines.

Like last week, I wasn't feeling very optimistic when I set out, as I've walked this route to my local coffee shop 100s and 100s of times and I wasn't feeling at all inspired.

I stepped out not expecting to see anything much but before I'd even left the Mews my eyes were drawn to the brick work.

So I started taking pictures of construction materials until I saw these tiles.

Tiles.jpg

Then that was it. I was off snapping photographs of tiles left, right and centre.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

tiles in context.jpg

To give you some context, these first examples were all found on the paths leading up to the front doors of the buildings, just like the ones in the photograph on the left.

The black and white ones above are either original or copies of the originals but in a number of houses they have been replaced with different colours and patterns.

On some paths the tiles have been removed completely or covered over with that tarmac sort of stuff. Very ugly it is too.

Here are some of the other varieties I found on my short walk.

Tiles 2.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Tiles 3.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Tiles 4.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Tiles 5.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

These tiles are o the top and side of a wall at the end of the Avenue outside a Balinese Restaurant.

Tiles 6.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

And, finally these tiles are from the front of a completely different style of house.

Tiles 7.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

This is what I found in just one avenue.
I took twelve different types of tile shots (two I chose not to use) and all within five minutes. 😁

One thing that stood out for me is that they all could have done with a good clean!!! 😂

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Sort:  

Tile is so fun! so simple but you can get really creative with it. Love the mosaic pattern in the last shot. Of the entrance ways, the classic black and white is nice but I agree with you it has to be kept clean to work. If you are gonna let it go, some earth tones probably better :)

The thing is there are now multiple flats in one building so no-one takes responsibilty for the cleaning I would guess.

Some of the buildings I've been in are pretty grotty in the communal areas.

You have collected a whole catalog of tiles. I like the small mosaic images. I see that some of the samples look historically old, and some more modern. Good collection! Thanks @gillianpearce

Yeah. There was a good variety @madlenfox, both modern and old. 😁

Wow! I'm impressed! Great detail shots from your walk.

Thank you @melinda010100 but as I said elsewhere I'm not sure I can keep it up. It took me the best part of three hours to sort out the images.

I might have to do fewer images and more text in future which is a shame because I look the finding and photographing. 😢

What a wicked cool idea! I'm so glad those first tiles caught your eye (excellent catch, by the way) and inspired all those cool shots! That first walkway would be my favorite, after the owners (as you pointed out) gave it a good wash! Beautiful captures, @gillianpearce!

Thank you @traciyork. There are many details to photograph around here, once you start looking. 😊

You're very welcome, @gillianpearce! 😊

To find so many different tiles within the 5 minutes ---> Brighton is a tile gem! 😃

You could even say, First Avenue is a tile gem @rimicane because that's where all but one set were and, as I said, I didn't post all the ones I took. 😊

This is so cool! I love what you did here going and finding tiles. I don't think too many people would think about taking shots of these while on a walk but I adore that you did as it is so cool to see all the different colors and patterns. Thanks so much for sharing this, it was truly wonderful to see them all.

I didn't really think of it either @topkpop. I just started taking photographs and then noticed there was a different type at the next house and it went from there. 😁

I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for taking the time to come by and leave your comment. I really appreciate it! 😊

YOu have such a great eye for finding things on your walk and this week again you give us such cool patterns and color sonthe tiles this is such a cool post thanks so much for joining in on Wednesday Walk

Tip!

Thanks for the tip @tattoodjay. Finding and photographing is really fun but preparing the images is a whole 'nother ball game. I need to get much faster at it or else do fewer photos and more text. 😁

@gillianpearce Most welcome, and editing can be time consuming, some of the photos I share I may spend well over half an hour editing and on average I would say at a minimum I spend 15 Minutes per photo edit

Ah. So Maybe I'm not that much slower than others then. Although when I say edit I'm only talking the very basics that you can do on Google. 😁

@gillianpearce I should do less editing sometimes and speed things up but its a habit I have got into LOL

Hm, something went wrong with the comment, but I think I`ve managed to send the tip ;)

So many tiles ...... :)

Wow! I'm impressed! Great detail shots from your walk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25