That time we saved a turtle...#wednesdaywalk

Hey there folks!  Happy 4th of July for all you 'mericans. ;)  We are in between pool time with one group of friends and fireworks with another, so I figured I'd pop on here to share a few memories from prior years on this day.  Atlanta is very well known for the Peachtree Road Race 10k which is run every year on this day, but I have had just as many good times running on my own as I have running in the actual race.  Going out for a run this morning made me remember the little fella I came across at the end of my run this day last year. ;)


I have to say despite the heat and humidity, I actually really enjoy going out for a run by myself on the 4th of July.  It is very quiet out in the neighborhood because most serious runners join in on the race (60,000 or so participants give or take).  The streets are pretty calm, too, since most people take the holiday to sleep in and enjoy a day off, especially when it is in the middle of the week like this year.

Last year I did a similar route around my neighborhood.  I have a few main options depending upon how far I want to run.  As I was coming back around to less than a quarter of a mile from the house I came upon this guy hanging out in the road.



Since I was really close to home, I hurried back to go grab @dksart for a rescue mission.  He's not one for running, but he is usually game for a nice walk (thus I figured this counted toward @tattoodjay's #wednesdaywalk theme).  We almost didn't make it back in time as the single car I saw that morning passed by just as we were getting back and almost ran my new little friend over!



@dksart scopped him right up (he was not very big after all) to take him (or maybe her?) to the other side of the road as I have always heard is the right thing to do.  That was the direction the fella was headed on his own.



However, as we got to the opposite side of the road we realized it was not really an ideal habitat given that beyond the main street it was all houses and neighborhoods.  We did not see any other members of the turtle family nearby, so @dksart decided the best home might actually be closer to our own.  There is quite a bit of wooded land behind us with plenty of access to water.



I have to say this was probably the first and only time I've seen a man walking a turtle...



We ended up dubbing him "Bob".  He seemed to settle in just fine back behind the house.  At the very least I never saw him in the road again (alive or otherwise), so I hope we did right by him to put him in a safer part of the neighborhood.



Kind of in a similar thread--I wonder how many other animals I have saved by not eating meat for the last 5 years?  This holiday in 2013 was the last time I ate meat.  I'll write a post that is a bit more in depth to celebrate my "veggie-versary", but I definitely reflected on it today.

I hope everyone celebrating the holiday has a safe rest of the day as you enjoy some fireworks, time with loved ones or just a day off of work!

Sort:  

Happy veggie-versary @plantstoplanks !

Here is something to think about, the amount of animals you saved by insipiring others to become vegetarian who themselves may insipire others to do the same. I like to think that the ripple effect (I turned at least a couple frieds vegetarian minded) really has a positive impact.

Thanks for reminding me of the wednesdaywalk challenge.

Another good point! I wasn't even thinking about all of the little ripples. I'm not one for grand demonstrations, but sometimes just humbly setting a good example by living well has just as much positive impact in the greater scheme of things. ;)

Thank you guys!!! This is amazing! Good job!! :)

Thank you Maru! It is a fun memory to look back on. I hope I have the chance to save some other little creatures, but then again I'm perfectly happy if they all stay out of harms way on their own!

Wow!! You two are so great for rescuing the turtle ! I respect you !

Aww, thanks! I know people who have saved dangerous snapping turtles from the road before, so this guy was pretty harmless and easy to help! :)

Awww! Sweet!! I smiled when I seen him walking the turtle down the street. A first for me. ;)

<3 What a guy!

It makes for a cute picture for sure! I think he even tossed some veggie scraps out in the yard for him. 🤩

Aww! He is so adorable!

Congratulations on your veggie anniversary my dear!

What a great job of saving a turtle! And you saved hundreds of animals in those 5 years!

Cheers to many more vegan years to come! 🎉❤😊

No turning back now! :) It doesn't feel like it has been 5 years, but time flies. I don't always remember dates very well, but since it was right at the holiday it makes it easier to remember!

You are a great person, thank you for helping this little one. I'm sure all the turtles in the world they thank you

It makes me sick to my stomach to see poor animals harmed in the road, so I have no problem taking a minute to help one get to safety if I have a chance! I tend to drive extra cautiously through our neighborhood because there is quite a bit of wildlife even though we are not that far from the city.

Exactly, we can make a difference

You're amazing for saving the turtle!!!!

We don't have any pets, so may as well rescue a few wild animals instead. ;)

Turtles are my fav

This one was pretty cute. Dave actually saw him a few times around the back yard after we brought him back, so kind of felt like having a pet for a bit. ;)

What a cool Wednesday Walk post and so nice of you both to Save the Turtle and find a safe place for it

tip!

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed our mini adventure. :)

I love this story! I should know you would save the little guy! I can't tell you how many times we have stopped the car or bike to save a turtle. We have even gone around the block back to save these little guys! So sweet. You're great, inspirational post on this holiday! Be well!

We all need a little help from time to time. ;) Just as nice to give it as to receive. This little one was pretty easy to help out. I would definitely peg you as the helping type, as well. 😊 Hope you are enjoying the holiday!

I'm so happy you two rescued that little turtle and released him/her in a safer area. Great story @plantstoplanks!! ❤ Happy "veggie-versary"

Thank you @deerjay! I thought it would be a nice memory to share. :)

You're very welcome and it certainly was!! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27