Rabbits Galore

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

It’s Wednesday again and time for a few minutes outside to see what’s happening.

#wednesdaywalk is hosted by @tattoodjay. Check his post Here for more info on the challenge.

Coming from the back deck and walking towards the shed, I startled a couple rabbits...or at least one rabbit seems to be on the alert. The other one is eating a dandelion.


E25AE3A8-926C-4339-81C1-46CADF138961.jpeg


I love seeing the rabbits around and hope the coyotes or foxes don’t take them all. At least they are multiplying...Hubs said he saw a baby rabbit this morning but I haven’t seen it yet.


97A21CD2-FCD4-46A9-827B-C63DFD1AFE6E.jpeg


Bunny rabbit ready for take-off. I like the white marking under the nose.


B2147BEB-E4CE-4751-9B9F-F6F964F5169A.jpeg


The hummingbird is keeping a close eye on the feeder. they can’t stand but can wrap their feet around something like the clothes line or small tree branch. They were chasing each other around, moving faster than greased lightning.


9066FA6F-D801-4D28-940B-6204AE381FD2.jpeg


At the front of the house the asparagus is shooting up. I will take one feed from it but like to let it grow into a nice wispy bush.


7D99BC38-933B-4513-863E-7EA6E77A8E98.jpeg


I save coffee grinds and egg shells and place around my plants to brighten up the area. It is also good compost for them.

Thanks @tattoodjay for your lovely challenge.

Cheers! I hope everyone has a delightful Wednesday Walk.




#thealliance





46B316FA-31F9-40BB-87B7-F85999B33372.png


6EE249CE-12B6-4AD7-944D-06B6CDD099C5.jpeg


FA1B478C-7BD4-4A76-894A-95766A6B82AF.jpeg

Sort:  

Great shot of the rabbit taking off, a real nice action shot. I like that we get to see wildlife where we live, we have some rabbits move through on occasion, but we also have coyotes and owls.

Thanks @bashadow. It is great seeing the wildlife. 😊 Something had really decimated the rabbit population here and it was nice to see these ones.

What a cool walk with Rabbits and humming birds,
Humming birds sure move so quickly dont they

And your asparagus looks like it is doing well

Thanks JJ @tattoodjay. Our season is behind a bit this spring and flowers and trees are slow opening up. The asparagus like their location so I leave them there. 😊

If there happy there it makes sense to leave them be :)

Nice bunnies! We have three outside my office, although I haven't seen them recently. I hope they are doing okay.

Thanks Tanks @lordvdr for stopping by. I hope the bunnies are okay. Is your office in a busy area?

We do get a lot of traffic down both streets it sits next to.

Hello..!!!
@redheadpei
Fantastic photo's...!!
The Bunnies look big. Cute and big. I only see just rabbit tracks in the Winter when there's snow. Do they bother your garden..? I'm thinking they probably don't because you enjoy having then. I do have Bobcats and
coyotes ...that might be one reason I don't see them. 🤔.

Good evening Anne! I was glad to see the rabbits. Rabbits have been scarce here the last few years and I think it is because of coyotes or foxes coming into the area. These ones haven’t bothered my garden. I only plant tomatoes and peppers. I guess they don’t like those plants. The mice nibbled at my outside bushes during the winter and ate a lot of the branches that were under the snow.

Nice activity a couple of rabbits photography.

Thanks @kamrunnahar! I hope your week is going well.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by redheadpei from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You have many cute visitors :-)
Egg shells are grest for compost. I always forget about them and instead of dumping to reuse them.

Thanks Neli! I use the used coffee grinds and crush the egg shells into them.

Holy cows those are some good eatin size hares!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Captain! 😊 They do look big especially when they stretch out to leap. I’ve never eaten rabbit.

@redheadpei the rabbits found my husbands lettuce, they ate one all the way to the ground and most of another one. We also have two baby bunnies, I hope the Bobcats don't get them.

We don’t have bobcats here but the rabbits have other predators such as coyotes, foxes, owls, eagles and hawks...and I guess some people eat them. They are not on my list of foods to eat.
I posted a story awhile ago about one rabbit that hung around and something killed it in the backyard and left most of it there. It was horrible.

Hummingbirds are quite territorial and very smart. I had one knock on the window once when our feeder had emptied. And my bet is on the rabbits to keep up their numbers:)

Beautifuls shares, Jo:)

Thanks @prydefoltz. That hummer was smart. They will hover by the window so I can see them when you first return from the South. I hope you are right about the rabbits. 🤞 😊

She knew who was feeding her, that was for sure:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00