Wednesday Walk- Once Around The Yard.

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

My submission to @tattoodjay's weekly #wednesdaywalk challenge .

After feeding the cats I went outside and checked the hummingbird feeder.

We are still having hot and humid weather but cooling at night. The hummers empty the feeder sooner than usual in this heat.

Hummer At the Feeder



image


I think this is a female hummingbird as she doesn’t have the red on the throat like the more colorful male.

Next I checked out the little bit of garden I planted. It consists of peppers and tomatoes planted between an oregano plant that comes up every year.

These hot temperatures are good for the Hungarian Wax Peppers.

I didn’t realize I had the hot ones until I finally read the fine print on the tag but I can use them in pizzas and pasta sauce.

Peppers



image


The peppers are yellow now but will turn a reddish orange as they ripen.

i gave them a good watering as we haven’t had a rain for awhile and then on to water the tomatoes.

Tomatoes



image


There are some green tomatoes and many blossoms. There will be lots of tomatoes.

Our growing season is behind because of a late frost. The frost stunted some of my flowers.

That pretty well concludes my walk this morning.

Fact about the Hummingbirds: If you notice the little bird has her feet wrapped around the stand on the feeder. They cannot walk and can only rest if they have something to wrap their claws around.


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T6

Photos & Text @redheadpei. All rights Reserved.


F0E33BE1-23F2-4B8B-BDBD-068BF127059F.jpeg

#thealliance






The STEEM Engine



photofriend banner.jpg



Thanks For The Visit! Enjoy Your Day!

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-animal" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Looks like your plants are doing well even with a late start

I love hummingbirds so cool you got that shot of one

I never knew they could not walk

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Thanks so much @tattoodjay and for your generosity. 😊 ❤️

Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

The hummer is still beautiful and garden looks very healthy and growing!

Thanks Icy and for your support. 😊 ❤️ I might have to fry up some green tomatoes and onions.

Love the humming bird! I love watching them at my cottage. Thanks for sharing @redheadpei!

Thanks for stopping by @malneevent. Hummingbirds are fascinating little birds.😊

Simple and fun.
Proves we don't need an adventure to find something cool and fun.

Thanks so much for your visit @nananini. Keeping it simple is sometimes the best. 😊

Beautiful post and photos @redheadpei!! I didn't even realize that about hummingbirds but I've only ever seen them at flowers. Lots and lots of tomatoes..yay!!

Thank you, Dee. Sometimes a hummer will wrap the claws around the short clothesline I have on the back deck and stay there guarding the feeder. When another one comes to the feeder he/she will chase him away. I don’t think they hurt each other.
Yes, looks like I’ll have a good crop of tomatoes. Nothing better than being able to pick a fresh one from the vine. ❤️ 🍅

You're welcome Jo!! Hummingbirds are so cool!
I totally agree..nothing better then a home grown tomato right off the vine!! Yum!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77