WdnesdayWalk - Outdoor armory

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

My contribution to the #wednesdaywalk challenge initiated by @tattoodjay might scare some people. But hey, it's Halloween so why not? 🙂
Today I will show you some big guns. 🔫

One of the interesting places in Iasi is the Military Club. Located in my neighborhood, this building seemed dull and boring. However, its history and the events that take place here are compensating the architectural boredom.
The Military Club was established in 1876 and it kept his status ever since.
During the WWI, the Military Club hosted different meetings, charity shows and it was also functioning as shelter for the wounded. The interwar period however was the best time for this club. After WWII, the club lived the darkest period of its existence, a big part of the heritage being destroyed by the soviet army.
The club began to revive during the 70s when it became famous anong the theatre lovers. Hosting famous plays both Romanian and international, the club became well known.
Back to the present now. In December this year, we will celebrate Romania's 100 years anniversary. With this occasion, the Military Club made some changes: it will host a museum dedicated to the army and soldiers.
I will show you the most attractive part of this new museum: the gunnery exhibits.

WaterMark_2018-10-31-17-13-14.jpg
Huawei P20, f/2.2, 1/216 s, 3.81 mm, ISO 50, Photoshop Express edited

These are real guns, not replicas, some of them being used during the wars.
Placed around the building, these weapons seem to form a line of defense for the building.

WaterMark_2018-10-31-17-13-44.jpg
Huawei P20, f/2.2, 1/800 s, 3.81 mm, ISO 500, Photoshop Express edited

These old cannons were restored. However, despite their shinny look, they are clearly outdated...I think...

WaterMark_2018-10-31-17-16-32.jpg
Huawei P20, f/2.2, 1/266 s, 3.81 mm, ISO 50, Photoshop Express edited

I doubt these weapons are still functioning but they surely are intimidating.

WaterMark_2018-10-31-17-12-42.jpg
Huawei P20, f/2.2, 1/317 s, 3.81 mm, ISO 50, Photoshop Express edited

I have more photos of these guns but I keep them for later posts. 🙂

Oh, before I finish one more photo. This cool "battlefield" is surrounded by flowers. Hundreds of chrysanthemums. Of course, I couldn't miss the opportunity. 🙂

WaterMark_2018-10-31-17-16-12.jpg
Huawei P20, f/2.2, 1/50 s, 3.81 mm, ISO 50, Photoshop Express edited

halloween.png


Check out the challenge started by me and @erikah, SeasonChallenge. We would love to learn about your impressions towards the Fall (these being the theme until 1st of December).

steemit-border

Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif

WorldWildFlora Discord server: https://discord.gg/sRY4du9

QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

Pretty scary to see those killing machines next to the apartment buildings. The flower power is nice 😊

Intimidating though awesome. It gives a sense of protection. And the flowers surrounding the iron monsters are absolutely wonderful. 🙂

You might be right, maybe I need some time to get used to the idea 🙂

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

NIce flowers to balance with those grand guns, I hope one day in displays like this will be the only place large guns/cannons are ever needed

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Amen to that, my friend. I really hope someday humanity will realise how pointless these wars are. I saw an interesting movie these days, Childhood's End. Do you know it? The first part was really nice and optimistic. And made me ask myself: do we really need aliens to show us the path?

I haven’t heard of that movie but I now will look to see if it is available on any of the movie sites I have and check it out

It is a good sf movie. It sends a strange but deep message. I totally recommend it. I have a site where you could watch it but I'm not sure whether it works over there...

I checked on amazon and Netflix with no luck while try other options tonight

Hi @roxy-cat! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Beautiful cannons!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Indeed, they are. Thank you for stopping by.

I have only seen guns like those in old movies, and I am grateful for that. That is quite a historic collection.

We have several camps over here and during the official celebrations they march showing the arsenal. But these old pieces of artillery are quite something. I never get bored seeing them. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09