WednesdayWalk in Nature "At the Lake and Bay" by Sunscape

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

a walk.jpg


Two days before my hip surgery, I asked my husband to take me to the bay and lake for an outing. I knew I would not be able to leave the house for some time. It was a beautiful day to walk and sit by the water. However, I was so shocked when we arrived at both areas to see the devastation the water had done.

This is due to the above average level in our Lake Ontartio. It was due to an agreement 3 years ago between Canada and the USA to allow a slow increase in the water levels of our lake. This has caused some terrilbe damaged to residents all along the lakeshore. Many homes, beaches and land have been damaged severly and land along the lake eroded away due to the rising waters. This is especially true when the rains and high winds cause waves to crash upon the shore.

A Park Beach



a tree lime.jpg


IMGP4955.JPG


2015-11-04 10.15.31.jpg

No more beach



a beachfront gone.jpg

This was our little park beach two years ago, and today this is what it looks like. All the trees are gone and timber is lying everywhere. It was so sad to see.


In the first photo, you can see the waves crashing the break wall near our pier. I took this one last year when we were there. This year the entire wall is now underwater and fishermen actually stand on it up to their calves fishing off it. The second photo was taken a few years back and my husband and Coco are at the water level below the break wall. You can see how much the water has risen in the last few years. Wow!


a walk.jpg


a break wall 1.jpg

At the Bay



a bay.jpg


Here are a few shots of the North end of our bay that empties into the lake. You can see that the water is high here and practically up to the edge of the road. I am literally taking photos from the window of my car.


a launchsite.jpg


a sandbag house.jpg


a sandbag.jpg

a duck.jpg


I can not even imagine how difficult it is for all the residents along the bay and lakeshores that have to fight the rising water levels. The devastation has been ongoing here for a few years now. Our legislators say that the agreement has to stand the way it is at this point in time. Now that is so hard to understand especially for those that are loosing their beautiful lakefront properties. Well, enough said. Thank you for taking a Wednesday walk with me. Enjoy your week everyone.


a post.jpg

#wednesdaywalk initiated by @tattoodjay encourages everyone to get out and about while sharing what they see. Enjoy the challenge!

a Etsy Header.jpg


Until next time, this is Sunscape...

Sun. Scape. Ing your day

@sunscape
Homesteaders Co-op -Sunscapes Soap Shop
Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations
Website - Sunscapes Soap Shop

Sort:  

🎁 Hi @sunscape! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Egrets For Feathered Friday Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I normally say any walk by the water is so relaxing and refreshing but not when you see all that damage that has been done by raising the level of the lake that is so sad to see and seems crazy to me

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

It seems crazy to me too. I was so shocked and saddened that all the trees along the shore were down. There is no more shade to sit by the water and the beach gone. :-(

:( and why did they want to raise the water, let me guess because somehow it helps some big businesses?

I believe it had something to do with the amount of shipping that uses a waterway.

I see I guess that makes sense

There must be some hidden agenda for slowly trying to get those people off this area!
In Africa, the poor people have been driven off their land because their lands are going to become valuable!

I agree, there is always a hidden reason behind something like that.

Lake Michigan is much the same. Miles of beaches in Chicago are now underwater. I suppose the day is coming when that fresh water will become a valuable resource?
!Tip

Really? That is so sad to hear. I did not know that the other lakes were being affected too. There is so much devastation everywhere.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88