Wednesday walk challenge Signs at the Beach and Steem Basic Income Give away

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

Wednesday walk challenge Signs at the Beach and Steem Basic Income Give away

This is my post for the Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by myself, let me first explain the guidelines

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Try and get a few shots not just one

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Try to limit yourself to a set distance or time from the starting location, say 5 Blocks, 5 Minutes walk or whatever and see what you can find in that short distance

make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join it this week please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all.

Following me and resteeming the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion, but you may have a better chance of receiving a Steem Basic Income Share if you do.

I am not strict on these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

I will try and visit, resteem and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk, plus I will be sending @steembasicincomeshares to a selection of those who participate.


The Walk I took over this past week that I am going to share is a walk I did at Gulf Beach, I did take a few beach shots but I have shared a beach post not too long along for a Wednesday Walk post so this week I will share some of the signs I saw at the beach

Gulf Beach Signs-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 55mm F8 1/400 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger



This is the first Sign I took a shot of near the end of my walk and it gave me the idea for this post.

In case you cannot read what it says here is what is on this sign

Prisoners of the American Revolution
Across this harbor, on January 1 777, a British ship, flying a flag of truce, put ashore 200 American Revolutionary War prisoners, all desperately ill with smallpox. The people of Milford made accommodations to shelter them, using the town hall as an emergency hospital. Captain Stephen Stow and Dr, Elias Carrington volunteered to care for them, Captian Stow and 46 of the soldiers died and are buried in a common grave here in Milford. Some recovered and returned to their homes.

Quite an interesting bit of history right there.

Gulf Beach Signs-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 67mm F8 1/400 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger



Now this sign when I first saw it here I thought was a bit obvious, why would anyone think its OK to drive onto the beach and park, but one night I was there when someone did just that drove right down by the water.

I was a bit annoyed for two reasons I thought it was a stupid thing to do on a public Beach, and secondly they drove right through the area I was taken a time Lapse shot of from beginning to end of the Sunset and they totally messed up the end of my timelapse and hence the whole 45 Minutes time-lapse series.

I was a bit evil perhaps kind of wishing that they were so biusy drinking and being loud and obnoxious that I kind of oped the tide came in without them noticing and flooded their vehicle!

Gulf Beach Signs.jpg

Sony A7iii 66mm F8 1/400 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger



It seems to me these days that everywhere you go there are signs telling you what you cannot do, funny thing is all the probited things on this sign I have seen many times on this beach, so clearly this sign isn;t strongly enforced.

Gulf Beach Signs-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 38mm F8 1/320 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger



The signs here are sure a variety of colors but apart from the first and last I share they all seem to be telling us what not to do, not that I am against all signs like this sometimes there has to be control of how much is taken from certain beaches to protect the balance of nature.

Gulf Beach Signs-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 53mm F8 1/400 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger



This one I wish they would enforce on a busy evening, sometimes all the parking spots are taken and many without the Milford Parking Stickers.

These stickers are actually free to residents who pay taxes tot he city.

Gulf Beach Signs-6.jpg

Sony A7iii 53mm F8 1/400 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger


This is one sign I am sure few people notice, but I am glad to say I do not think I have ever seen people walking over the grass and shrubbery areas on the beach

Here ends my Wednesday walk post and on to the....

Steem Basic Income give away

I mentioned in the guidelines that from this week I will be sponsoring a few who join the #wednesdaywalk challenge with shares on Steem Basic Income

What is Steem Basic Income you may ask well here is how they explain it

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content. so I have decided to randomly send some Steem to add shares for some of my followers so yesterday evening I sponsored the following people
@zirochka, @emjoe @nolasco, @photobe, @ilsaione, @bozz,

All people who joined in last weeks Wednesday walk, I would love to be able to give everyone who joins a Steem Basic Income share, but I don't make enough steem each week to do so, but I will try and share them around fairly between those that join the challenge

I hope a few of you may find this an interesting challenge and decide to join in.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.750916 lat -73.994393 long 8th Ave NYC d3scr

Sort:  

The Five Man Electrical Band said it best....

Sign, sign, everywhere a sign
Blockin' out the scenery, breakin' my mind
Do this, don't do that, can't you read the sign?

Great post! Resteemed... I'll be back with something of my own shortly :)

I love that song. Thanks for the memory.

Thank you :)

Memories:-)

Thanks for that little trip down Memory Lane! :-)

I couldn't place the song but thankfully you shared the link to it and it all came back to me

Canadian band by the way. It's insidious. We're everywhere...

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-challenge-signs-at-the-beach-and-steem-basic-income-give-away


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great point about the signs! I would be interested in receiving steem basic income. Respectfully following.

Wow this is a great initiative for the photo community.. Yay!

This walks with the signs is a good idea too. I do miss the beach. So land locked here. resteeming!

Thanks I am glad to see its slowly growing so many getting into it each week its like w aworld tour of walks ;)

I noticed that a few days ago. When I get off work maybe I will walk a little. I already posted the walk with the dogs I walk today.. we go the same way..lol

Getting out for walks is good for us all:)

yes it is.. :)

Hello
Nice walk on wednesday.
I hope next week have time for you and the ride
Happy Wednesday

Thanks Look forward tyo you joining when you can :)

**Thanks for the support / SBI
I am contributing to someone's contest right now 5 SBI and you know it comes right back to you this way.

BTW: I know you didn't really want the tide to come in on those cars.**

@photobe MOst welcome,

And yeah your right I really didnt LOL

@melinda010100

Thanks and thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

Amazing all the rules.. all the do's and don't's of this world

Yeah seems each year more and more signs appear, its getting a bit crazy I think

Help Wanted! I like it. And probably more effective than all the negativity :)

Yes I do agree that was the best sign there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81