Wednesday walk Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza and Steem Basic Income Give away

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

Wednesday walk Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza and Steem Basic Income Give away

Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by me, the idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start. And this is my entry for this week, but first, let me explain the challenge.

This is my post for the Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by myself, let me first explain the guidelines

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

Try and get a few shots not just one

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Try to limit yourself to a set distance or time from the starting location, say 5 Blocks, 5 Minutes walk or whatever and see what you can find in that short distance

Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all.

Following me and resteeming the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion, but you may have a better chance of receiving a Steem Basic Income Share if you do.

I am not strict on these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

I will try and visit, resteem and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk, plus I will be sending @steembasicincomeshares to a selection of those who participate.

For this weeks post, I will share with you a visit to Dag Hammarskjold Plaza

1 Wednesday walk Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza-2.jpg


Sony A7iii 54mm F6.3 1/60 ISO 320
*Click here to view larger



Dag Hammarskjold Plaza is a little park on east 47th Street between 1st and 2nd Avenues.
The park is quite close to the United Nations compound, which is quite appropriate as he was the Second Secretary general for the United Nations, he sadly lost his life while serving the UN in an airplane crash in Congo.

This is taken in the center of the park, which is just a couple of blocks from my new office location so I will be regularly taken a stroll around a little loop which will take me through this park.
and in this first shot are most of the things I will feature other shots of in this post, the Market you can see in the distance, however, will have to wait for my Market Friday post this week for @dswigle.

1 Wednesday walk Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza.jpg

Sony A7iii 42mm F6.3 1/60 ISO 2000
*Click here to view larger



The park or Plaza as it is also sometimes called has quite a few fountains, including this one

1 Wednesday walk Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 40mm F8 1/60 ISO 1600
*Click here to view larger



Another thing that you always see lot sof in this park are Pigeons, and they really love the fountains it seems.

1 Wednesday walk Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1125 ISO 100
*Click here to view larger



And you may have noticed int he first shot the Park has a lot of trees, this is a shot looking up one of them, they give a nice bit of shade while walking through or sitting on one of the many benches in the park, on a rela hot day that makes walking through this park more pleasant than walking on open streets in the sun.

1 Wednesday walk Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 62mm F6.3 1/60 ISO 160
*Click here to view larger

And my last photo for this post shows one of the lights in the Park, I like the old style feel of the lamps.

you may wonder what the Basket for is under the lamp, I was actually suprised to see them empty, often flowers are planted in these baskets, maybe they were holding off adding new ones with the heat wave that was going on when I took these shots.

Steem Basic Income give away

I mentioned in the guidelines that from this week I will be sponsoring a few who join the #wednesdaywalk challenge with shares on Steem Basic Income

What is Steem Basic Income you may ask well here is how they explain it

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content. so I have decided to randomly send some Steem to add shares for some of my followers so on the weekend I sponsored the following people
@steven-patrick, @redheadpei, @starjewel, @rossfletcher, @swedishdragon, @lyndsaybowes, @saffisara, @eaglespirit,

All people who joined in last weeks Wednesday walk, I would love to be able to give everyone who joins a Steem Basic Income share, but I don't make enough steem each week to do so, but I will try and share them around fairly between those that join the challenge

I hope a few of you may find this an interesting challenge and decide to join in.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.752145 lat -73.968577 long Dag Hammarskjöld PlazaNYC d3scr

Sort:  

I love going on walks. Will join in. Great photo of the fountain.

Look forward to seeing you join in the future :)

Hi @tattoodjay!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.841 which ranks you at #1220 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1218).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 487 contributions, your post is ranked at #24.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Beautiful. Absolutely beautiful. I'll try to participate in the walk next Wednesday.

I think he is the first Secretary General that I remember. I'm glad that there is a plaza in his honor.

Thanks for all you do for the community AND the terrific photos,

Thanks and would love to have you join when you can, I think he was the second Secretary-General of the UN, a Norwegian Trygve Lie was the first

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of September 12 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Your walk always beautiful...Gorgeous photoshoot with lovely colors; Absolutely amazing angle and great place for photos.
Beautiful work!

Thanks I was quite happy how they came out since it was a fairly grey day

you have extra photography eyes 🤪

Its a hobby I love :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-dag-hammarskjoeld-plaza-and-steem-basic-income-give-away


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Awesome post and beautiful photos Jay!! I love all the photos and would be impossible to choose just one favorite!! I do love the old style look of the street lamps also!! ❤ I'm going to try to get a post up today and will update with my link if I get it up in time! 😊

Thanks for your visit it is a cool little park

If you’d an join this week, cool but if not there is always next week :)

Thanks Just visited your post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83