My Wednesday Walk. 'Bribie Island Foreshore.'

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

'Bribie Island Foreshore.'

This is my entry for the weekly Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by my friend @tattoodjay

I am also submitting this post as an entry for #BeachWednesday - organized by @lizanomadsoul and initiated by @uwelang

I hadn't planned on walking along the Bribie Island waterfront today, but my husband had some business to attend to on the island so I decided to tag along and make the most of what turned out to be a very lovely day.

Armed with my camera, a picnic lunch, a good book, a bottle of sunscreen and my swimming gear I jumped in the car and got John to drop me off at the beach whilst he took care of the boring stuff.

xdbt2qr60r.jpg

I'll never turn down an opportunity to visit this beautiful part of Queensland. Ok, so I invited myself this time, but this does emphasize the fact that I will go to great lengths, (such as preparing a delicious picnic lunch for myself and John) to 'bribe my way to Bribie.'

It was certainly worth the effort and not only did John benefit from my salubrious company, to and from Bribie, he was able to mix pleasure with business and enjoy himself almost as much as I did. That is what I call a win/win situation.

qlj3eaxbnf.jpg

After I had been delivered to my chosen, idyllic spot I needed to decide in which direction to take my walk. There were scenic attractions to the north and just as many in the southerly direction, So I went both ways.

mu843oxyov.jpg

Bribie Island (native name; Boragee) is situated in Queensland, Australia. It is 34 kilometres long by 8 kilometres wide. The body of water seen in these images is known as the Pumicestone passage.

It separates the Island from the mainland and is ideal for swimming due to the calmness of the water and the lack of strong tidal currents.

o8h0rj3h40.jpg

Pumicestone Passage is known as an important ecological waterway and stretches over 35 kilometres in length. This reasonably shallow estuary includes a series of channels, sand banks and islands. The explorer, Matthew flinders first landed at the southern end of Bribie Island and not realizing it was an island, called the passage, Pumicestone River because of the abundance of pumice discovered along the shoreline.

Jet skis were towing toboggans filled with laughing children up and down the passage. School kids are on holiday at the moment and many families were taking advantage of the fine weather to have fun together.

fodmysdok0.jpg

Two men in a small dinghy were drifting with the tide in the hope of catching some fish for dinner.

55.8 square kilometres of Bribie Island is national forest and forestry plantations. At the tip of the island is an important bird habitat in an area called Buckley's Hole.

f06vawr1wg.jpg

Residents living in units across the road are fortunate to live in this very appealing place. And without question, I was very fortunate to spend a few pleasant hours soaking up the sun and relaxing along the Bribie Island foreshore. And to top off my day, I combined my walking exercise with a swim in the refreshing blue water. Just perfect!

10ommm16p0.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

wt9p7tuiz2.gif

Posted using eSteem Surfer

09nl4xkzj2.png

FAQ

Sort:  

How wonderful and thanks for showing this beach! Looks like a lovely day there and so great that part of it is a national forest and bird habitat!

I'm glad you enjoyed this post @violetmed many thanks for your kind visit and support. Yes, Bribie Island has so much to offer for keen nature lovers and I always find something different to take photos of when I get to visit. 💐

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.39$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

🎁 Hi @trudeehunter! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you @tipu 🌺 🌹 🌺

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-wednesday-walk-bribie-island-foreshore


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This is a perfect day - sun, swim, walk. And picturesque place. :-)

Very true Neli. If I was to sum up my day I'd use the word 'perfect' too. Thanks so much for dropping by my friend. Much appreciated. 😊

How nice to go swimming in such lively calm water!! Your picnic lunch has something missing!! A bottle of cool white wine!!
So nice to see the beach with lots of space on a sunny day!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, it was a very enjoyable day.......even without that cool bottle of white wine. 😊 I'll have to be better organized next time. 😄

Sounds like a wonderful day for both of you and what a gorgeous place looks so relaxing and beautiful in these fantastic shots

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

It's always a pleasure to participate in Wednesday Walk JJ and it is never a hardship to visit Bribie Island. I always come away from there feeling relaxed and refreshed. 😊

Thanks and from your photos I can see why it would be such a pleasure to visit there

It is a beautiful island. Great pictures

Thank you Denisse. It is a favourite place of mine to visit.

Thanks for taking us together on your walk. Love the blue sea and the blue sky. And the trees...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks very much Eliza. 🌺

Well it looks like your bribe to Bribie island turned out a awesome day with great company a nice lunch and some really beautiful photos , i just want to dive into that blue water :)

A bit of bribery goes a long way sometimes @hangin It certainly paid off this time. I'm sure you'd love 'hangin' around Bribie and swimming in that clear, blue water. 😄

Yep a bit of bribery can go a long way these days and yes i would love it over there and sorry for the late reply we have been celebrating Thai New Year over here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77