Wednesday Walk. Bee Gee Way.

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

Bee Gee Way.

This is my entry for this week's Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by @tattoodjay

Bee Gee Way is situated in the heart of the Redcliffe Peninsula (my home town) and it serves more than one purpose. The most important one is to provide a fitting tribute to 'our' famous Recliffe Boys. The next important reason to walk down this marvelous, memory lane is to listen to the unique and wonderfully varied music of the Bee Gees.

7xg1o2sv6i.jpg

I decided one simply cannot walk down Bee Gee Way without listening to some of their music. But how does an avid Bee Gee fan (such as myself) choose a favourite song of theirs? They can't! The ideal song to accompany you on this walk in my opinion, would be, "How Deep Is Your Love" because we know that Barry, Robin and Maurice had a deep and abiding love for Redcliffe.

If you are able to listen to this sing via You tube, I highly recommend that you do. Apparently 'How Deep Is Your Love' stayed in the American Top 10 charts for 17 weeks, which was a record at the time.

The third most important reason to visit Bee Gee Lane is to take a short cut from Sutton Street to the Redcliffe Esplanade when you have shopping to do, but for my Wednesday Walk I did have time to gather a few photos to top up a few that I'd previously captured to share with you which I hope you will enjoy.

Apart from that, one doesn't need an excuse to treat themselves to the professionally presented display and soak up the great atmosphere that is featured along the fabulous Bee Gee Way!

mlpduh9t3w.jpg

Barry Gibb was delighted when he first heard about the plans from the Moreton Bay Regional Council to dedicate this Laneway to The Bee Gees and he enjoyed sourcing photos and providing information to enhance this important project.

He wrote:

"I could tell you a hundred stories about my life in Redcliffe. Swimming every morning off the dock on Deception Bay, fishing for that elusive tiger shark off the Redcliffe Pier at night, playing between the fishing boats when the tide was out, listening to the insects while sleeping beneath mozzie nets, eating fruit from the trees, singing and playing on the beach on those soft, warm summer nights.......

bx039ozpq1.jpg

Barry continues:

This incredible place was our world to explore. It is held deep inside my soul and it will always be 1958 for me. The Redcliffe Pier was the main attraction for kids, with its pinball arcade. There were many cracks in the pier planks and we would dive for lost pennies that fell through. The water was clear and blue and provided excellent vision for the best divers, that was us.

It was where Robin, Maurice and I made our first public appearance in Australia through a PA system at the Redcliffe Speedway. People threw money onto the racetrack and we met leading DJ and racing driver Bill Gates, who suggested we call ourselves the BG's.

Hence, Redcliffe became the birthplace of The Bee Gees.

I have changed but the child inside me has not. I am still here on Redcliffe beach, fishing for that tiger shark. I remember vividly my childhood days and I will dwell on 'My Redcliffe' for as long as I live."

qkuw0zjjgf.jpg

Bee Gee Way is a short seventy metre walkway but it is packed with decades of interesting history featuring the illustrious career of this band. The Bee Gees have sold over 200 million records and important milestones of their great legacy is portrayed in style, along this Lane.

Visitors can enjoy listening to their music as they stroll down the lane because every night they can hear songs from the Bee Gees being played (along with an impressive light show) between 7pm and 9.30pm.

f1gyhz7eqo.jpg

Bee Gees Way was officially opened by in September 2015 by none other than Barry Gibb himself. This multi-media celebration attracts dozens of people, especially in the weekends and during week days it is very rarely empty.

9qr0s0gkob.jpg

2avgiuz7xj.jpg

There are over 60 captioned photographs, and 13 album covers featured in Bee Gee Way. But Barry has also included personal stories and amusing anecdotes for the pleasure of the viewers. The giant 5.3 meter video screen plays exclusive interviews and never before seen, home movie footage interviews and of course many of their songs as well.

ys48yfup4a.jpg

What I love most about this special celebration of the Bee Gees is the fact that Barry curated the information himself and so we know the information is first hand and a true account of the bands rise to fame.

I also love the casual appearance of rolled up shirt sleeves and bare feet depicted in their bronze life sized statues. Redcliffe, for me offers a casual, relaxed picturesque beauty that can not be replicated anywhere else in the world, and so I can truly understand the emotional pull that this place held for the Bee Gess and still holds for Barry today.

qr9hbi3q9o.jpg

The Bee Gees said Good-Bye to their carefree days in Redcliffe after comming top of the charts and they went back to the UK to further their career and despite the negative reactions they received on arrival in England, they followed their hearts thankfully, and later shared their talent to the rest of the world.

mv0p98xcqs.jpg

ub1ttpvdf9.jpg

The Gibb family moved houses a few times whilst living in Redcliffe, two of which still stand. One house is situated in 12 Fifth Avenue Scarborough but their home in 4 tramore Street in Margate was destroyed by fire on 2003.

One of the residents of that street tells of a story when both Maurice and Robin were still alive of a limousine parked outside the home in question. All of a sudden the three Gibb brothers jumped out of the limousine and took happy snaps of their old house.

frs1vmh2hb.jpg

0zjxp61q5k.jpg

fy8it5uhf1.jpg

a24gbv1suc.jpg

77nls43fb5.jpg

Have a listen to this short video about Barry's recollections of his home town; Redcliffe. You can see his eyes light up with joy as he relays his thoughts.

lfdeps6h1s.jpg

Source:

Source:

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

wt9p7tuiz2.gif

Posted using eSteem Surfer

09nl4xkzj2.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you @esteemapp for your support

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

This is so cool I for sure would want to visit this if I was ever there I love the Bee Gees music and would have such a blast there, but I got to enjoy it through this great post
Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

Glad you enjoyed this post JJ. My husband and I are great fans of the Bee Gees too. We actually live only a couple of streets away from their home in Scarborough. Many thanks for your kind tip my friend. 💐

That’s cool that you live so close to the family home
For me The Bee Gees are one of the best feel good music bands out there having a bad day listen to a song or two of theirs and things feel better

I totally agree with you JJ. John and I love getting in the car and heading off somewhere (the destination is not important when you're travelling with the BG's) because we have two favourite Bee Gee CDs we keep in the car and we crank up the volume and sing along to their music.......and it feels great.

There is no other band like them and I'm sure their music will live on forever. Redcliffe will make sure it does anyway. 😁

Yes I do think there music will like ge in forever
I don’t have any cd 💿 in the car these days but I do have a bee gees playlist I often listen to

Our car stereo is awesome JJ with extra speakers which is helpful to drown out our singing when we get carried away. (lol)

LOl my wife has a beautiful voice and I love it when she sings in the car, I purposely put on a play list that includes songs I know she cannot resist singing along to :)

I can just picture the two of you cruising down the highway with your stereo on high volume singing along to your favourite music.....mainly because I know how liberating that is myself.

I've heard the saying, "Dance like no-one is watching." I've now created a new saying. 'Sing like no-one is listening! Very therapuetic indeed!!!! 😁 🎵 🎼 🎶

🎁 Hi @trudeehunter! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Its As Cold As Ice Or It Was Last Week Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations @trudeehunter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6500 replies. Your next target is to reach 6750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you @steemitboard for keeping me up to date

Aww, I love the Bee Gees and just mentioning the title of the song "How Deep Is Your Love" and the melody is already stuck in my head. What a wonderful tribute is that! I was delighted walking with you and getting to know more about the trio.

I love the Bee Gees too Neli and have been fortunate enough to go to two of their concerts but one was with Robin on his own and later Barry on his own after Robin passed away.

It was fabulous but very sad also. Glad you enjoyed this blog my friend. Thanks so much for visiting.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-bee-gee-way


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you @steemitworldmap for your support

Such a fabulous Wednesday Walk Trudee. Such a wonderful way to celebrate the music of the Bee Gees as well as the nostalgia and excitement of that era. So well presented. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thank so much Ally. Glad you enjoyed this post.

Thanks for the nice post...grew up listening to the Bee Gees, great music

Thanks so much for your welcome visit and comments @farm-mom Glad you enjoyed this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28