Wednesday walk challenge: A walk to the Cathedral

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Good afternoon, my dear steemians! How are you? This is my third entry to the Wednesday walk challenge hosted by @tattoodjay. This time it's the turn to show my walk to San Ildefonso's Cathedral, known locally as Mérida's Cathedral.

It is a 15 minutes walk from my home to the place in question. On the road you can find many places between the 59th and the 61st streets with 64th, 62nd and 60th streets.

59th street view

 64th street view

In the 64th street, before reaching the 61st street, there's a huge house locally known as the Bishop's Home. Some people told me that the house belonged to the Catholic Church local leaders for generations before being sold to some particular. I'm curious about how it looks inside, but maybe I will never know. Or maybe I will, just if I get the chance to enter there.

The Bishop's Home facade

61st street view

From a few meters before entering to the Governor's Palace area, you can see the Cathedral's towers covered by the Plaza Grande's trees.

The Cathedral's towers seen from the 61st Street

Once I reach the area, I observe a part of the core of Merida, the Plaza Grande.

View of a part of the Plaza Grande

Walking some more meters, I see my destiny:

The Cathedral

This building is one of the most ancient churches built in Latin America alongside Saint Dominic's Cathedral in Dominican Republic. It was built on the XVI century, some years later of the Spaniard arrival. Some stories are told about this place; one of the most famous stories mentions that under the place there are some passageways that connect the building with the churches of  Santiago Apóstol, Monjas (which was a nunnery), Santa Ana, Santa Lucía, Tercera Orden, Candelaria and San Juan. Those passages were used by the priests to go to the nunnery for a "visit". Or at least it is what people said. Of course, such story is a myth; the archaeologists proved that there are no passages at any point of this section of the city. 

I hope that in some wednesday I could show you its insides.

Hugs!


Sort:  

Thanks for sharing both views of this interesting area, but also so much information, I felt like I was there with you
Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

You're welcome, my dear @tattoodjay! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Hugs!

Thanks and have a great evening Morning or day depending on when you see it

Thanks for that awesome tour to the Cathedral! It would be fun to see the insides as well! Cheers!

Maybe the next Wednesday I'll do it. I need to plan it very well. Hugs!

Howdy there vickaboleyn! Wonderful walk that you took us on, I really enjoyed seeing all the views and sights. What country are you in?

Hello, @janton! I'm from Mexico.

howdy again vickaboleyn! hey I forgot to say how impressive that cathedral is, it's a majestic building. Anyway, wow, Mexico! You know what? I'm in Texas but I don't know anyone in Mexico so this is a pleasure to find someone from there. You speak very good English too. Do they teach English in schools down there?

Hello, @janton! Yes, on schools is taught the English language, from Elementary to University. My English is not si good, at least at conversational level. I need to practice my pronunciation 😅

Howdy again vickaboleyn! oh really? about your English? I mean I thought it was pretty darn good! If you get stuck you just use Google Translator or something similar? I like your English! Do you have other family members that you can practice with?

I can understand what I'm reading, but sometimes, when I write on English, I consult an English - Spanish dictionary or consult Google Translator. I use the latter one only for looking a word that could fit on a sentence.

Howdy again vickaboleyn! Oh I understand, or entender or comprender. lol. So you do not have family members to practice with?

I have a family member to practice with, but I prefer to practice with a native speaker. Sometimes, or at least I've noticed it long time ago, in the school the pronunciation is not corrected. When you practice with someone who is not a native speaker, he or she rarely detect you a mistake on it. But if you practice it with a native, he or she will point out with no doubt.

It happened to me some weeks ago on a reunion on the English Library, and I'm grateful with that because it means that I need to work more on it.

And I'm practicing with a co-worker from the little schools where I work for.

Votado por el trail @team-mexico
Canal Discord ¡Te esperamos!

Delegaciones para @team-mexico ¡Ayúdanos a crecer!

10 SP - 25 SP - 50 SP - 100 SP - 150 SP- Mas información.
teammexico (1).png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85