Wedenesday Walk & Make Me Smile

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Happy Wednesday Steemians!!

It's time again for another #wednesdaywalk and #makemesmile challenge!! @tattoodjay is the mind behind these wonderful walk challenges, and recently, we have had the pleasure of participating in the make me smile challenges, hosted by @elizacheng. Before I get started, let me first share the guidelines that @tattoodjay has provided...


  • Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

  • Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

  • Try and get a few shots not just one

  • You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

  • Try to limit yourself to a set distance or time from the starting location, say 5 Blocks, 5 Minutes walk or whatever and see what you can find in that short distance

  • Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

  • Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all.

  • Following me and resteeming the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion, but you may have a better chance of receiving a Steem Basic Income Share if you do.

  • I am not strict on these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

  • I will try and visit, resteem and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk, plus I will be sending @steembasicincomeshares to a selection of those who participate.

Simple enough right!?

So then; as I have mentioned many times before, this is my way to get out, check the mail, and get my legs working... give that M.S. a kick in the rear!

This would certainly justify the "looking up" part... several months ago, we had quite a nasty storm... before the snow hit storm. The thunder was BOOMING and of course, I loved it. As the day went on, the lightning and thunder starting getting closer... you know, "start counting when you see the flash..." closer. Anyway... I decided it was time to use the bathroom, as my stomach wasn't feeling the greatest, and just as I was about to "finish my business", a HUGE boom rang out!! Our lights flickered, smoke alarm made that chirp sound, and yes...I came off the toilet about three feet!! This picture from today still shows the aftermath of the lightning strike; keep in mind this Is about oh... 10 feet from our trailer? Wasnt trying to be too TMI, but surely this justifies as #makemesmile... and yes, that's the scorched path of the lightning bolt... top to bottom...

20190313_163810-02.jpeg

[samsung SM-G960U1, ƒ/2.4, 1/1308, 4.3mm, ISO50]

There wasn't any mail in the mailbox today (no news is good news they say), so I started to walk back towards the trailer... when these lovely things caught my eye... you'll probably remember my constant talk of flowers, and our owl display we created last year. We picked up a whole bunch of different bulbs from Lowes and Menards and proceded to try and create something nice to look at. We waited for them to come up last year, but found that varments had eaten the bulbs before they could come up... well despite a few hyacinth's, tulips, and crocus... I was tickled to see that the original arrangement we created, had slowly started to come up! You can bet I will be taking photos and sharing in a soon to be released post!! As my son would say; because... flowers.

20190313_163854-01.jpeg

[samsung SM-G960U1, ƒ/2.4, 1/235, 4.3mm, ISO50]

It's quite a long walk up to the mailbox, so I started heading back inside; we had found extra bulbs while we were cleaning up a grandkid mess (use your imagination) so we planted them by our arbor, in hopes they would come up too... I think there is a combination of hyacinth, daises, tulips, and maybe some more crocus... as I said, once they start coming up (and if they don't get eaten by varments) I should have some pretty nice photos to share with you...

20190313_163719.jpg

[samsung SM-G960U1, ƒ/2.4, 1/237, 4.3mm, ISO50]

So that's about it for this weeks #wednesdaywalk and #makemesmile challenges... I have had a hard time today interacting the Steemit'verse; I'm sure its solar flares, or maybe...aliens... who knows. Special thanks again to @tattoodjay as well as @elizacheng!! Let's get those tags out there again, shall we?


I appreciate you taking the time to read my post...see you on the next #wednesdaywalk and #makemesmile challenge!

For Steemit Sig.gif

#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

steemit_big.png

Sort:  

That lightning-struck tree is a marvelous shot. Any closer though and you might have wound up like Elvis.

Well... I'd ask, which part of Elvis?... Rich, overweight, or...

I appreciate your kind words...I had some shots of "the day" it happened... the smell was for sure interesting. Reminded me of fall, burning leaves smell, clove cigarettes, and Type 0 Negative on the radio...haha!! Our trailer is grounded of course, but yes; as I said, this was just several feet from the sidewalk to where we park our truck...I am actually surprised it didn't hurt our truck...

Well... I'd ask, which part of Elvis?... Rich, overweight, or...

The "dying on the commode" part of the legend.

I remember a lightning strike like that years ago where we live in the mountains. Knocked pictures off the walls. I actually felt the concussion like I'd been hit in the chest. It gives you a healthy respect for the stuff. You don't want to mess with it!!

I went outside to see if the house had actually been hit -- because, yes, the smell is amazing.

The lightning and thunder part sounds scary and the first tree photo has that feel too... 🌩️⛈️ But overall I like how the photo looks... What MakeMeSmile are the "flowers" photos... 😁😁😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!!... and thank you so much for commenting on my post! Ominous yes?... perhaps if the flowers were what made you smile, then this collage would be better suited...


collage1496616404498.jpg

Thank you again for commenting... I am honored, my friend...

😍😍😍wow!
🙂🙂🙂
Beautiful flower collage!
Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

Agree with tattoodjay it's great to see signs of spring right around the corner! It sucks for trees when they get struck by lightning, but it's awesome to get a chance to see all the patterns that are left behind. Thanks for sharing your wednesday walk!

Thank you for the reply, and pleasure to meet you!! I have a good friend that works for a tree trimming service... he was going to come out and cut this thing down, but never got the chance. It killed the tree of course... I spent almost two days on and off cleaning up all the bark that flew off. We were actually afraid it might be burning from the inside out...but we were lucky... thanks again for taking the time to view my #wednesdaywalk and #makemesmile post...

Congratulations @wesphilbin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments. Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Great to see signs of spring with the plants starting to grow haven’t seen it here yet but we should soon

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

Thank you for creating the challenge, to begin with, brother... special thanks again to @elizacheng for the #makemesmile challenge incorporation... I hope the bathroom bit was sufficient to qualify lol...

I am sure it does qualify, we actually collaborate on the third week of each month officially, but there is no problem combining them into one post any week :)
and it is my pleasure to host this challenge I love seeing walks all around the world each week

Ahh, spring! We are days away from being blanketed in pollen down here in Georgia, but it is still a miraculous time of year. Though I don't like getting the 💩 scared out of me by too close lightning either! 😂 Hope those flowers pop up soon for you to enjoy!

Posted using Partiko Android

Instantaneous smile... arent emoji's awesome!!

I see you are getting bad weather this evening, by watching the World News...tornado warnings...certainly hope things are ok on your end my friend... don't want strong winds blowing hard...especially if there is 💩in the mix!!

This is actually how the owl display turned out last year... minus half the bulbs being eaten before they could bloom...the empty spot between the "eyes" and the daffodils were supposed to be full of flowers...the area on the other side and to the end of the owls face, is where I took the picture in this post...

received_2007980616195430.jpeg

Emoji's really do help get across a point quite succinctly sometimes. 😉 All is well after the storms last night. I haven't turned on the news yet to see how the rest of the state fared, but we mostly got heavy rains. Thank you for your concern! 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Spring is my favorite season - I just love to see when nature is slowly getting its colors back - tx for sharing :)

I think the smells in the air, with beautiful colors, is also part of my favorite memories...

Let me share a picture of a Double Bearded Iris that bloomed after being dormant for over 5 years!!

received_2026909000969258.jpeg


Thanks for popping in my friend!

This actually did make me smile! This was a great post and it is so nice to see signs of spring everywhere!

The tree shot was epic!!! That certainly made me loooook up! Happy Pi Day and Have a great one!

!tip

Right!?

I think... well, I thought, for a moment, that the electricity went through me when I was in the bathroom lol...

Obviously, it didn't, but it was SO LOUD... and it was so close, it didn't have that preliminary crackle that lightning has before it strikes. It was just...BOOM

Ah yes... for sure #lookup and OH YES...I forgot about π...so you get this...

20161123_163813.jpg

Oh, yes!!! I missed these delightful babies!!

🎁 Hi @wesphilbin! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Its As Cold As Ice Or It Was Last Week Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

🎁 Hi @wesphilbin! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37