#WednesdayWalk - For Real this time!

IMG_3819.jpg

I have enjoyed the #wednesdaywalk championed by @tattoodjay for a while now. Whether it was to see what people across the world see when they walk, to meet new and active folks to support, or to live in the moment and share a simple adventure on my small part of the planet. Sometimes, I post videos, often post on Thursday due to my schedule, and create my own format as there are not any firm rules, just cooperation.

Well, today I decided to take a walk in 30 minutes between daddy taxi duty to get some actifit steps, and bring my little one along so she would get enough steps to make her own actifit post with more than dad has.

Walk along with me through our neat little town

text16.png

IMG_7128.jpg

Here is where she started out in steps. A fairly active day in fencing camp dodging, turning, parrying and thrusting.

text16.png

IMG_7129.jpg

The beginning of the walk started out from the car and took us through an alley. Not much of a dangerous alley as there are none in this town, and this one hosts the police vehicles parking area.

text16.png

IMG_7131.jpg

They have a neat flowerbed that generally looks like the sahara by this time of the year because of neglect. This year, it appears that the rain has been enough or they have kept better care of it. Not bad!

text16.png

IMG_7132.jpg

I had to pause and reflect at this space because the flowers are nicely done, and it is by far my favourite Indian Restaurant in town. I could definitely smell the awesome curry and almost taste the Dansak!

text16.png

IMG_7135.jpg

A few more shortcuts in the alley behind the buildings that line the square and we emerged beside a great diner. This is a really nice row of businesses highlighted by a couple of my favorite bistros. The sun is going down and sapping a bit of the colour with the recessing light but it is peaceful tonight.

text16.png

IMG_7136.jpg

Halfway up the strreet, there is a neat alleyway called Allens Alley. A different route to get where we are going and who can resist an alley that has a name?

text16.png

IMG_7138.jpg

We were walking and not pausing to take too many shots as our journey was being fuelled by hungry stomach on the quest for food. In each of the little wall spaces between pillars, there are paintings depicting some of the musical acts Stratford is known for. Mercifully, no Justin Beiber.

text16.png

IMG_7139.jpg

On the other side of the alley, we came across a nice classic motorcycle I had to pause and capture. Harley Davidson to me is like the Mercedes of bikes if Lemmy Killmeister of Motorhead endorsed them.

text16.png

IMG_7140.jpg

In eras gone by, I would not be pleased by a slovenly plot in the middle of town filled with Milk Weed. Now, however, I appreciate the effort to preserve these as they are where the butterflies lay their eggs and where they start out their lives. I have a newfound respect for Milkweed.

text16.png

IMG_7141.jpg

This perspective of the buildings near the center of town kinda throw me back. Some of them are being redone and others look like they are hiding from the renovations to preserve their retro style.

text16.png

IMG_7142.jpg

This is the main intersection of town. Tourists nearly run over locals, and the townies try and return the favour but running down the slow walking tourists. Many neat and unique craft shops, restaurants and other businesses.

text16.png

IMG_7143.jpg

Headed back to where we started, we round the corner and get a view of town hall.

text16.png

IMG_7144.jpg

Here is a little snap from the store front window of a trinket and jewelry shop. Not my thing but art nonetheless converted into commerce which I like.

text16.png

IMG_7145.jpg

I am reminded again the effort the city puts into its flowers and decorations. It is a tourist town in the summer and it does bring people back when things are bright and colourful. Pics like this are what I try and remember when I look at the property tax bill every year.

text16.png

IMG_7147.jpg

City Hall is a rather cool old building that speaks of the history of town. When you stand right in front of it, you can get some neat angles and appreciate the architecture of a time gone by.

text16.png

IMG_7150.jpg

People are still relaxing in the square, playing in the little fountains or getting their own actifit steps. They are also displaying the Dragon Boat for a team that will be entering this year's races for the Dragon Boat Festival. So many neat ones around.

text16.png

IMG_7151.jpg

Hear is the main reason this is a tourist town. The Avon Theater is one of the 3 big ones here and plays host to the thousands of tourists who come to town for the Stratford Shakespeare Festival. World class theater nestled in a small town is a huge draw for people across the continent.

text16.png

IMG_7152.jpg

I ended up my Wednesday Walk at the ball diamond with one of my little ones practicing. I am a little shy of my targeted 5k mark so I did a couple laps wandering between the fields and talking to my other litle one. SHe was enthralled by a bunch of specially abled folks and they friends playing their own baseball game and stopped to watch.

Life is pretty good today!

text16.png

zekepickleman.jpg

I hope you enjoyed our little walk through our quaint town. I also hope you will post yourself a #wednesday walk and look forward to seeing it.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Anything I find normal that is strange or exotic to you?

Sort:  

What a lovely town!
Do you attend the theater?
It's got that small town feel but is it still really a small town?
Thanks for sharing!

I would rather have a round of golf but the wifepoints and quality of theatre draws me in maybe once a year. Here is the one I went to last month. https://steemit.com/theater/@zekepickleman/i-am-a-thespian

Posted using Partiko iOS

Certainly seems like you live in a very attractive town! In some ways, reminds me a bit of our own (Port Townsend, in Washington state), which very much lives and dies by its appeal to the tens of thousands of visitors who come here every spring and summer... in winter, the place is pretty deserted; just the locals remain.

Thanks for sharing a bit of your world!

Yah standard Midwestish towns are so much alike in North America.

Plus many of the tourists are from the states so it pays to have it familiar enough they would come back!

Posted using Partiko iOS

A hgood walk and your toewn looks lovely with lots of flowers

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

You bet! Thanks for carrying the flag for us walkers!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks Kindly I appreciate the support

I miss being in walking distance to everything... now I'm in a ruralish suburb, cows pasturing, corn fields and lots of homes with tiny yards.

Corn fields are about 2 blocks away from me and everything is a 20 min bike ride away max. I spent so long in the big city it is good to be back.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Cities CAN make people bitter and a little nutty, sounds like you have a decent balance now, a small town AND plenty of breathing room!!!

They sure got some nice flowers in your town!!

I could do a post just on those. Though the wave petunias with the stripey colours are my favourite.

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a lovely town! I was there years ago to attend the theater. Your photos are quite wonderful. I really enjoyed the walk!

You should come back!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Stratford is a really pretty town. Especially with those large baskets of flowers. I didnt know that butterflies lay their eggs on milkweed. That's interesting. I'll have to remember that. Not that I have any in my yard or anything lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Yah apparently monarchs do. I learned that because I thought it would be fascinating and beneficial for the kids to hatch some and have a bond with these essential pollinators.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes! Quite a lovely town! Thanks for sharing it with us!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks so much for walking along with me!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looks like a beautiful town .

I would probably give it up for the money and excitement of the big city if it weren’t for kids. I have them though so I am plenty happy here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awwww .... same here . I moved out into the “suburbs” about 20 mins north of the city ... so my kids get the house ... and the yard ... the small town ... quiet neighborhood ( which can be a big change for a city girl )...especially the part where everyone knows someone ... but I wouldn’t trade it .... my kids get a guaranteed great education system ... rather than taking my chances with the lottery of which school will my child get in the city... and I can’t lie ... it’s nice and cozy most of the time .

Wow are those flowers real? I really enjoyed this stroll. Thanks for sharing this part of the world. What seems like a common sight to you in your area is an amazing sight for others. Thanks for opening up this small window to your world. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82