The dastards of the daisy family

in #weeds5 years ago

blackjack.jpg

Blackjacks or Bidens pilosa are a real curse at this time of the year if you have cats. Even if I stay out of the patches that grow in the area, my cats don't and they bring them home attached to their fur, go and lie on my bed and clean them off of themselves and leave them on my sheets or any stray item of clothing I may have left there.

blackjack2.jpg
Mutant dandelions, basically

This comes as a surprise to most people but the leaves of this kind of Bidens are eaten as spinach in some parts of Africa and they are actually highly nutritious. Perhaps I should get harvesting next year instead of complaining.

blackjack3.jpg

They are an introduced plant in Africa, coming from Europe and Asia and have sneaky habits, they only germinate and grow well during the height of summer when it rains frequently and then they grow and fruit very rapidly. I keep them under control for most of the year and then suddenly it rains heavily for three weeks and I look again and they have gone from nothing to seed-heads and we are back to square one in the control department.

Sort:  

I love them! They cover my yard and the bees love them!!

Love daisies, never dastardly but yeah...I don’t like extra cleaning....

Yipes stickers, i'm always spreading stickers around on my mushroom hunts. Is the spinach any good? Or is it bitter?

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't tried, I will do and report on it

Seems like we have more nuisance plants then we can handle ...

weeds and invasives are a huge nuisance here

Congratulations @nikv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Es cierto. a todo hay que buscarle la la vuelta. Para que no nos arruinen la vida. A lo mejor no son desagradables al gusto.

I will try them and report back

It looks so beautiful, but in fact clings to everyone.
We also have similar plants. The popular name "doggie."
If they stick, then they have to rob them for a long time.

It's fascinating how they have all found their little niche in the ecosystem.

Survival is all about adaptation

I think these flowers can be brew as tea?!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't know but I don't think so

Super!
Very beautiful photos!
Surprisingly, wild flowers are so photogenic!

With a little posing ;)

Yes, I agree with you.
They can do this very well!
Studied since childhood! :-)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07