Fatal Decision - The Weekend Freewrite -2/9/2019steemCreated with Sketch.

in #weekendfreewrite5 years ago (edited)

6zy2vbd40v.jpg

source

This weekend freewrite is a 3 prompt story for FreeWriteHouse by @mariannewest. Here's the link to the starting post: start here

This is a fun and creative exercise. If you wish to participate - don't read any of the entries until you have written your own story. It will spoil the effect of not knowing what the next prompt will be.

The three prompts given are shown in italics in the body of the story.

8z5f1lbvxk.png

Fatal Decision

I left the house, feeling like a piano had been dropped on my head. The taxi stood waiting for me.

I was up all night, tossing and turning. The decision to leave my job, my friends, my nice safe world, was frightening. On the way to the airport, my mind was reeling with the stress. After months of debate with myself, or anyone who would listen, I had finally bought the plane ticket and now we were arriving at the airport.

The taxi driver helped me out with my luggage and I found my way to the customs area. Going through all the rigamarole that’s associated with flying these days served for a few minutes to take my mind off of things.

Soon I was sitting in the hard plastic seat with my luggage at my feet. Next to me sat an older gentleman, snoring softly, chin tucked to his chest. I wondered how anyone could fall asleep so easily. It seemed like I hadn’t had any sleep for days.

My cell phone beeped the weather warning signal. I had barely noted the high winds and torrential downpour, but now I looked out the huge terminal windows and could not even see the planes sitting on the tarmac. The scheduled arrival and departure boards were all flashing “cancelled” as the murmuring around me grew in agitation.

The only forces now in play were the hurricane winds flinging everything in their way towards their shelter. My own dilemma was forgotten as loudspeakers directed everyone away from the windows and out into the main terminal hallway. The panic in the air was becoming obvious. You could feel the whole terminal shuddering.

There was a tremendous crash of broken glass as an unidentifiable chunk of metal machinery came flying out of the maelstrom. People began screaming and running in all directions with the high winds and rain now coming in the gaping hole. A mother with a baby in her arms was trying to protect the infant from the onslaught. Everyone was moving away from the area, but there were too many people and not enough room. Escalators had shut down, along with the elevators, and the crowds of people trying to make it down the stairs were tripping themselves up. Pushing and shoving: it was a free for all. Every man for himself, it seemed.

I spied a woman standing against the wall, trying to hold a mirror and put on lipstick. At a time like this I would think her reasoning should be make up now optional. Shaking my head, I decided the stairs were too risky. People were already falling down and getting trampled. What is wrong with people? I took hold of the young mother’s hand and led her over to a cul de sac next to a Starbucks kiosk. We sat on the floor together, backs against the wall. I helped her to cover the baby with my jacket, which had only gotten partially soaked with the onslaught.

Three young men in military uniforms were pushing through the crowd and trying to calm people down. One of them spied us sitting on the floor and they headed over. “Are you hurt? Is the baby ok?” asked the taller of the three.

“We’re fine so far, we just had to get out of the madhouse before we got trampled.”

At that moment, there was a horrific crashing sound as the whole inner structure seemed to crumple as a wall of water surged forward. I only had time for one final thought. “I guess I made the wrong decision after all.”

8z5f1lbvxk.png

blueeyes8960.gif


[credit@EdibleCthulhu]


99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

It all started so normal like lives of many, even mine. Leaving everything behind and going on an adventure to a different country where you'll be all on your own.. but then..

I didn't expect it.. It thought that maybe the plane would crash or something like that but the whole airport?! That must have been a huge hurricane :) Unfortunately it was too late to realize that it was a wrong decision..

I like how slowly the story started and how quickly it developed. It became all scary in a split of a second. Well done! I wish I could write like this :)

Thank you for sharing and have a good start of the week!

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed the story. I hate sad endings myself, but in 5 minutes to write the ending, you don't have time to think, you just type and see what happens.

I tried the 3 prompt option for the first time last week and found it very difficult, so I wimped out this week. You came up with an excellent freewrite for those unusual prompts @blueeyes8960. The last sentence and your title make it! And we never know why she left. I love it :)

Big congrats on your curie. I am always so happy to see freewrites getting them and you deserve it!

Thanks @fitnfun. I had problems when I first started doing the 5 minute freewrites. It seemed impossible to have anything cohesive in that amount of time. But it got easier each time to just unlock my mind and I swear the stories come from my fingers on the keyboard, not from my brain! Don't give up if you enjoyed it. I really have fun with the 3 prompt challenge. (And, yes, the Curie is always a welcome bonus!)

@blueeyes8960 Nice freewrite story!! (:
Enjoyed it alot.

// But sometimes, we don't know that we'll never know that we made the wrong decision until we actually make it. Hmmm... (:

Hi @ blueeyes8960
great story! You gave me the creeps, because you have to know that about two years ago my partner and I have made the same choice of your protagonist, we left home, city, friends and family and we started a new life traveling. You can imagine that it was not an easy choice: think that if the end of the world had arrived at the airport! Our choices are sometimes terrible. But do you believe in destiny? Not me, I think it's just damn coincidences. Whay do you think about it? Congratulations and Thanks for sharing with us!

You are welcome and I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Thank goodness the disaster at the airport didn't befall you. I'm not too big into destiny either. That kind of takes the responsibility out of your own choices that you made.

Hi blueeyes8960,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you @curie and community!

Posted using Partiko Android

Really love the cover photo on this, it certainly grasped my attention!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! I actually spent longer looking for that pictures than I did writing the story. I'm glad it was effective.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great story line I discovered.
I knew steem can do more than the eye can see.
Keep on postin

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for reading. Glad you enjoyed it!

Posted using Partiko Android

This post is sponsored and featured by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared. Just keep up the good work.

Thank you @appreciator and community!

Hey, hope you are having a nice day!

We stopped by to invite you to participate in the "B&W Photography contest", "'Dream' -- 100 words free writing contest", and "Food Photography #2 contest", and win prizes worth 18 Steem!

Try 1Ramp Android or Web to easily participate in the contests or host your own.

Cheers!

Nice job blueeyes8960, I really felt like I was part of the story

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, that's what we hope for, to bring you inside the story with us for just a few minutes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85