The Weekend Freewrite- 1/5/2019 - by @blueeyes8960

in #weekendfreewrite5 years ago (edited)

This is an entry for @mariannewest's weekend freewrite, where you are given 3 different prompts to weave into one story. If you've never tried this, it's a whole lot of fun. Here's the link to the 1st part of the instructions.

The 3 prompts are noted in the story by bold italics.

7kzst09i26.jpg

source

Not My Day

Yesterday was Sunday. I should have been Tuesday but it got messed up. Now the whole rotation was out of whack. I didn’t know why they had called me out on a Monday, but it was a nightmare. The address they sent me to was a boarded up abandoned house in the projects. Normally I wouldn’t go anywhere near a place like this, but the address on my phone checked out with the building in front of me.

Around the corner came a neatly dressed gentleman walking a miniature schnauzer and they passed right by me without a glance. He looked so out of place I was sure he had been my contact. Ok, so who was I supposed to be meeting? My skin was crawling with the feeling of being watched. One of the boards on the front stoop moved to the side and a young man stepped out. First thing I noticed was that he was looking straight at me and he was holding a gun. My eyes widened and I took a couple of steps backward towards the street. This was supposed to be a pick up, and it wasn’t even my day, how do I get into these things?

“Are you Callie?” asked the dude with gun.

I got down on one knee. I was going to pop the question right then, but before i could get out the prearranged courier sequence he motioned me back to my feet and said, “Hey, don’t freak out, I’m not gonna hurt you. You can’t be too careful in this neighborhood.”

I got up and looked around nervously. “Ok, what do you have for me? I’d really like to get out of here,” I said imploringly. He looked back at the abandoned house, “You have to come back in here with me, there’s some graffiti on the wall. You’re supposed to take a picture of it and call the number that’s scrawled beneath it.”

“Seriously, you want me to go in there?? I’m not on good terms with dark, smelly, abandoned houses, I think this job was meant for someone else. My day is Tuesday!” I whined at him. But I could tell by the glint in his eye that my plea was falling on deaf ears.

I listened in my mind to the way the guitar sounded playing the funeral march. That was my own mental warning sign when my instincts were telling me that things were about to go south in a big way. He raised the gun and pointed it at me, then motioned to the gaping hole where once had been a window. “Don’t think you have much a choice, sweetheart,” he drawled and stood aside.

I walked slowly up to the ominous hole and bent down to peer inside. It was pitch black in there. Reluctantly I stepped one foot inside and prepared to lower my body through the gap. Gun dude walked up behind me and gave me a not so friendly shove of encouragement. When I was standing inside I snapped on the flashlight of my phone and darted it around the room. It smelled and looked as bad as I feared. I heard murmurings coming from the next room and the gun at my back prodded me in that direction.

The scene in that room caused my bladder to let go, and my last thought before the gun crashed into the side of my head was “But I should have been Tuesday!”

qsc50uktnc.gif

cbcvl3ph9q.png

9ztd2swgkm.png

31ct3mhs4u.png

p9k516fdwb.png

Sort:  

Not bad. I like the idea of a 3-prompt story. You handled this well.

Yes it's different. You read the 1st post and get the starting prompt and write for 5 min. Then you find the 2nd post for the 2nd prompt and write 5 more minutes. Then you find the 3rd post and get the last prompt and do the final 5 minutes. So you only know the 1st one when you start out. That last one about the guitar about got me, lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I thought that was an interesting twist in a new direction. Took me by surprise.

So proud that you tackled the 3 prompt #freewrite. Uncle Bruni is happy.

An interesting concept to free write, tying the three together, and not knowing what the next would be. Must have been fun.

I was a bit confused with how the story started, but it is a great one!

Posted using Partiko Android

I was confused too on the prompt. The post said it was "I was Tuesday" and I thought it maybe was supposed it to be "It was Tuesday" but I just went with what it said. So in the story Callie's day to be called out for courier duty was Tuesday. As in for instance I'm Tues, you're Wed, she's Thurs in discussing a schedule. Guess it was a little hard to follow... 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Well only the first lines, but after that is was easy to follow and great to read. As I read it for the 2nd time it was no problem at all. You managed to make a great thriller out of it!

Posted using Partiko Android

You did a good job by leading us to your storyline even though the first line was a bit weird.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blueeyes8960 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

And callie didn't make it back home. What a bad day for callie. Nice story!

Hey, @blueeyes8960!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steemit project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

You did great!! yes, it was supposed to be it - but by the time I saw it, I figured most were already on their way writing with I. You did a wonderful job bringing the prompts together!

Thanks! I love your contests, it's such a fun way to stretch your imagination, and to meet and make contact with new people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97