Weekend Freewrite -8/10/2019 - Single Prompt Option: It Was Saturday Morning

It was Saturday morning, not Sunday, but Ms. Maggie Thornton felt like going to church anyway.

She was the secretary of the commissioner of police in Big Loft, VA, and the sixth commissioner in three months had survived and made common cause with Captain H.F. Lee, a key man in the department who it did not pay to cross. He and the sixth commissioner had hit it off well, and were united in purpose to see the Big Loft police rebuild and move in a proper direction.

Ms. Thornton knew just where to go: Church in the Midst of Life, a little non-denominational storefront in downtown Big Loft whose approach to ministry and evangelism was to simply be open every day of the week and have staff available to working people. Street clothes and hour-long services were the norm.

Ms. Thornton did her shopping and scooted on in for the afternoon service, and spent the prayer time thanking God for bringing peace to her workplace at last, and for sparing both her boss and the captain whom she had fallen in love with.

Service over – Ms. Thornton grabbed up her bags, but was not permitted to carry them anywhere.

“Let me do that, Ms. Thornton.”

Turns out that the well-built black-haired man in the sweat suit sitting in front of Ms. Thornton was the beloved Captain Lee himself.

“You come here, too?” she said.

“It's on my jogging route,” he said. “I prefer to worship out of doors, but I come in here from time to time.”

“Really? We must live close by each other – I'm in the Rosewood Apartments.”

“So am I, Ms. Thornton. We are neighbors. If at any time you need help with anything, you let me know – I'm no. 413.”

“You're just over me – I'm in no. 313!”

So, homeward – a nice laugh when Captain Lee went toward the stairs with all of Ms. Thornton's bags and got off the stairs on the third floor at the very moment Ms. Thornton got off the elevator.

“You're the soldier – I'm just a secretary!”

“If ever I could be as good a soldier as you are a secretary, ma'am, that would be a crowning achievement.”

“Captain Lee, you've done all the work so that Acting Commissioner Scott has a clear path and so do the rest of us. If I had a crown, I'd put it on you.”

“Give glory to God, ma'am ... besides, those things are heavy and I have enough headaches as it is.”

And with that, he put the groceries inside her door, and departed upon that sweet, shared laughter.

Sort:  

Congratulations @deeanndmathews! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55