Weekend Freewrite - Three Prompts, One Story: Running Away (Also, finally out of lazy mode...)

in #weekendfreewrite6 years ago

“We guarantee full satisfaction,” she said with a smile, looking rather shady as she whispered quietly into the ear of my companion.

My friend, the person who dragged us right into this fiasco, grinned back at the woman clad in clothes befitting a person about two decades younger than her, and said, “Lady, if you want to entice customers to whatever pot of trouble that you’re brewing, at least do your best to look the part. I’d rather go and drown in a vat of wax rather than buy it is whatever you’re selling.”

I shook my head and stared with pity at the person. My friend’s poisonous tongue really didn’t match his looks, people really got fooled by outward appearances. In comparison, I was pretty merciful despite the villainess-like countenance that I sported.

Taking a few steps forward, I ended up separating the shady lady and my poison-tongued friend, the former looking like a frog with her mouth open in shock while the latter looked as if he was just warming up for more shots at the unfortunate soul that triggered his malicious personality.

Smiling fake-warmly, I grabbed the arm of the person with the appearance of a saint but hiding the heart of a demon king, and dragged him away at a run just as a couple of evil-looking creatures appeared behind the shady lady.

“Dude, the next time you unleash your mouth, check your surroundings first. That woman had goons hiding behind her.” I yelled at my highly intelligent, but at the same time, lacking common-sense friend as we ran, dodging people and kicking down whatever inanimate object that we could to provide our chasers with fun obstacles.

I rush toward the back room, stumbling down a step and grabbing at the wall to steady myself.

“JASON! When I get my hands on you, prepare to be castrated!” I screamed in frustration as I glanced about wildly, trying to find a way out of the predicament that I found myself in, a situation that was the fault of my utterly cunning, and soon to be dead by hand, friend.

While running away from the rather stinky horde of henchmen that the offended shady lady sent after us, we ended up hiding in an abandoned factory, which is a cliché when it comes to fighting scenes.

Imagine, a girl and boy running away from a number of evil men. Cue, a scene of a desolate building, danger abounds as the two lovebirds are cornered and the young man steps up to the job of protecting his beloved person.

Well, unfortunately for me, while the scene was right, the situation was wrong, the partner was wrong, everything was wrong!!! All because that stupid but supposed genius friend of mine insulted a shady lady! One who was, as it turns out, a criminal leader of shady repute.

And the reason why I ended up cornered in a smelly room was because Jason had this ‘brilliant’ idea to have me act as a diversion while he ran off to find reinforcements, and I, in my stupidity, agreed.

“I’ll kill that guy when I see him.” I muttered to myself as I swung around a broken mop to hold off the people trying to grab me, giving them an evil glare.

After a while, I caught sight of the shady lady as she came into the room, and she stood looking at me with a smirk, a man standing stoically beside her as she nestled closer to him.

Instead of the scene looking seductive or flowery, it looked as if a snake was trying to wrap around an iron statue.

“Little girl, where’s your companion?” The shady lady asked.

I blinked as I cleared away the disturbing image of a fat python wrapped around the statue of Hachiko.

“Poor dog.” I blurted out.

The woman turned white, then red, then white again, kind of like a Christmas light. “Who are you calling a dog?!”

“Huh? When did I call you a dog?”

“Just now!”

“Wah-? I didn’t!”

“You did!”

“I did not!”

“Did!”

“Old shady lady, along with your bad fashion sense you also have Alzheimer’s disease? You should just go and get yourself checked in at a hospital instead of chasing innocent people.”

The white face turned red as she charged at me, only to be hit in the face by my trusty mop. Immediately I sat on the knocked-out shady person and threatened her with my cleaning implement to keep her goons away.

Thankfully, after a few minutes Jason ran in with police right behind him, ending the stalemate between me and the group of the shady lady.

(The police went on to arrest Jason along with the hooligans and the shady lady, because of something concerning stealing women’s underwear on sale or something. He said it was an unfortunate leading of fate, explaining that it was a desperate ploy to lure the police to the factory. But I think he was just being a weirdo.)



For some weird reason I can't add pictures to my post... (Am I being bullied by the internet?)

So no pics with this post. Couldn't find a suitable one anyway.

After a long break from being active on social media, I'm back to writing. Hopefully I have greater will power this time around, Chinese dramas caught my attention for the rest of my summer break, I ended up watching about six dramas, each ranging from 52-58 episodes of about an hour each.

Yep, I prefer Chinese to Korean. They're kind of harder to predict in a way. (I think I'm in the minority here, most people I know watch K-dramas, nobody has found out how interesting Chinese ones are. Maybe because of the series length... 58 hours of watch time...)

Anyway, I ended up with going above five minutes for each prompt. I almost couldn't myself. Though, it turned out weird... Really weird... Or maybe my brain's messed up after all those dramas, or something.

Oh well, for those who took the time to read this, hope it wasn't too annoying a read!!! Or something...


Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10