My Week Of Thoughts - Day 4 - The beauty in going for a walk.

This is a series of automated posts since I'm out of town for a week , I'll be catching up with comments whenever I can get my hands on some WI-FI but my interaction will be limited

All of the liquid earnings of the week of thoughts will be donated to @adollaraday.

Screen Shot 2018-09-30 at 8.22.18 AM.png

I have always found great joy and release in walking, maybe it's one of the things I enjoy the most... Setting on a trip with no real destiny and just get lost in my thoughts for a while.. While I move around I just keep reflecting about things going on in my life , I think of others, I think of what decisions to make regarding a certain thing that bothers me... etc . Usually just walking slowly clears up the picture for me and it has actually gotten me to be lost for real... which is not that fun if you live in a big city like Buenos Aires.. I have ended up stranded in weird places... so .. I try to be more careful nowadays hahahaha...

Also , for some reason.. every time I am going through an important and difficult change and I am in one of these ''walks of release'' it usually rains .. as if life washed away the doubts in a poetic way. I have experienced this over and over .. Every big move , Every big change is usually accompanied with rain and I end up completely soaked but with my path a little clearer.

These walks are also the inspiration of many of my songs.. I think most of the ideas I have written came from these state of ''wandering''.

I can cite a few.. ''El adiós'' came to me under one of these rains.. I had just moved once again and I was tired and sad of all these movements and uncertainty that were going through my life at that time.. so as I was walking the first lyrics came to me: ''Saying goodbye to a balcony , saying goodbye to a love''.. the rest came in shortly afterwards.

The Goodbye
(P.Mena)
Saying goodbye to a balcony
saying goodbye to a love
finding yourself in new skies
knowing yourself in new ports

Feelings take off
They detach from this nest
Questions arise
and they fall one by one

Where are we?
Where are we going?
Will you walk with me?
Or is this a goodbye?

I sunk my fingers
inside time
and lost my fears
to the wind

I burnt the pages
of doubt
I washed my sorrows
in the rain

This was just a description of one of these walks.. After writing it I performed it for Open Mic and just put it in my ''box of songs'' as just a little moment of release and leave it be. Some months later @lillywilton decided to cover it and she instantly transformed it into one of my favorite songs :) . I still listen to her version from time to time to cheer up , she just brought it to life so beautifully .

Also , another song that I still haven't recorded came from these walks.. it's called ''La Rambla'' and I shared it's story quite a while ago , maybe I should work on it soon :)

https://steemit.com/openmic/@pechichemena/open-mic-songwriters-challenge-week-1-broken-mirror-la-rambla-original-song

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=202&v=9k-ZPgLISpo

Do you also have the need to take walks to clear your mind? Do you find inspiration there?

Thanks for reading!

Pechi

Sort:  

Greetings from the train to Barcellona reading you

i need to go on walks more. lately i wish i had someone to go with, but then i wonder if i would be half as aware of what surrounded me compared to whom i was with. it's funny how companions alter our perception with the language of being. even a simple bug on a weed will have me wonder how the world looks thru their eyes.

even if they were silent, the presence of a friend who shares the beauty of layered clouds in the sky or the sense of snow in the air, how light and shadows filter thru the trees or the song of birds in the morning, the soft prickle of warmth from sun on skin.

but then i wonder, do all creatures share these senses? are they amplified or heightened, like a duck sensing the approach of winter or a change in the wind current.. do clouds matter to a grasshopper?

Going alone and with someone else are different experiences .. I enjoy both to be honest ... sharing a moment also has beauty in it . I also wonder a lot on how the world would be through the eyes of different beings and I kind of like the mystery behind it .. as If in the end I don't want to know.. don't spoil the mystery for me :P .

''even if they were silent, the presence of a friend who shares the beauty of layered clouds in the sky or the sense of snow in the air, how light and shadows filter thru the trees or the song of birds in the morning, the soft prickle of warmth from sun on skin. '' <--- now that's a beautiful image you just put in my head :) . I'll have to go in a walk with you someday :D

I think different creatures and people are universes in themselves , just the other day I went down to the lake to chill and think about things while having some nice breeze hitting on my face. A buddy dog came by and he just wanted to take a dip in the cold water and play a bit ... he was noisy and very energetic , and everytime he dipped in the water he got more and more excited.. while I on the contrary was getting calmer and calmer... so.. complete different experience :D ... he seemed happy though , and I enjoyed having him around

He says hi btw :) , His name is Arturo <3

Much hugs

Pechi

hugs arturo me love pupsters! i seed a brown dawg and a black dawg today, and it make me happy :) I went out to do errands and i saw some cheepers and dey make me smile too.

ohhh .. birdies!.. I'ma see if I can take some pics of them around here.. me likes :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94