What I’ve Learned From Losing 40 PoundssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #weight5 years ago

weight_loss.jpg

5 of the most important things I’ve come to realize.

I’m writing this in hopes that my personal experience can be of value to those also looking to lose weight or just interested in a healthier lifestyle.
Here’s what I’ve learned so far:

*. You’re a living, breathing organism, not a machine.

When people discuss the process of losing weight, they usually go on a tangent outlining just how simple the process can be. They say it’s all about creating a calorie deficit. Consuming fewer calories than you burn guarantees weight loss, right? Well, not always.
The reality is that while the formula makes perfect sense and that should be the way this works, our bodies aren’t computers. Sometimes the scale won’t budge for a few weeks, even if you are maintaining your calorie deficit.
When this happens, try to pinpoint external factors that could be messing with your progress.

*. Losing weight doesn’t solve all your problems.

“If I could just lose 10lbs, I’d be happier/prettier/able to do that/able to wear this.”
If you’re unhappy at 200lbs, it is very likely that you will be just as unhappy at 145lbs. The weight is nothing more than a superficial mask on top of the real problem. While it is true that weight loss solves physical ailments, your mental perception of yourself and your happiness are just that — mental issues.
As for being able to “do X” or “wear Y,” you can do that right now. You just choose not to or don’t feel comfortable doing so. Either way, it’s also not a weight issue.

*. Be sure to take pictures and measure yourself.

The most difficult part about losing weight is staying motivated. It’s so easy to get discouraged. I find that taking progress photos and measurements help. I’ve noticed that in the weeks that my weight is staying the same, I’m losing inches off my waistline instead. I won’t claim to know why this happens, but I do know that’s usually the case for a lot of people and myself.
When it comes to progress photos, I‘ve learned that it’s very difficult for me to see my transformation without them. They are often used for motivation the days when I feel like my weight loss has stalled.
It’s always nice to have something to reference to remind yourself of just how far you’ve come.

*. It doesn’t get easier, but you learn to trust the process.

Losing weight is hard work and requires immense dedication. While we get used to the routine and find motivation in our results, the difficulty remains the same. Even if you do it for 8 months straight, the 7 AM workouts still feel too early, your muscles are still sore.
Just because we’ve chosen to prioritize our health doesn’t mean that we aren’t still human. I think that the rewards you reap from your dedication definitely offset this feeling, though.
A bright side: find solace in the fact that diet/exercise to lose weight is the hard part. Once you switch to a maintenance diet/exercise routine, it won’t be so bad.

*. The diet/workout plan you choose isn’t what leads to successful weight loss.

What really matters is whether or not you give your all in whatever you’ve chosen to do. Some people lose a lot of weight on the Atkins diet, others find more success on the Paleo diet. Some people swear by cycling classes and others CrossFit.
It’s not the diet, it’s the determination of the person behind the diet.
Obviously, some diets are better optimized for your body but finding the best routine for you is part of the dedication. Trying one diet, then giving up when it “doesn’t work” will never lead to success.

After all that being said, check out this system I stumbled across surfing the net. At the begining I was not convinced at all, but thank God I was patient and let me know more about this system. Just a few minutes took me to get interested in.... https://pepetolema77.wordpress.com/

Sort:  

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00