Wednesday Walk - O'Leary Park

in #wendesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

Wendesday Walk is a cool contest by @tattoodjay that basically involves going for a walk and taking some pictures. I figured it was a good way to show a little more about where I live, work on taking some cellphone photos which is not my best skill, and do a little bit less of the "this is social media I will show you the most excellent" thing. This is much more mundane, daily life stuff than the photos I usually post.

Today I'm going to introduce you to my closest neighborhood park, O'Leary Park.

Oleary1.jpg

One of the things that I love about living in Minnesota is that "my closest neighborhood park" is meaningful. This is the one that's three blocks in one direction, rather than the one that's seven blocks in the other direction, or any of the twelve or so that I walk to fairly regularly.



I walk a lot; I can generally get a couple of hours of work done after I wake up, but after that if I don't get up and move my body around I find myself sitting around playing video games the rest of the day. Most days I walk between two and six miles, but I've been keeping it shorter this week after falling down some stairs on Sunday, to give my body some time to recover. Also, it's pretty hot here.

On the side closest to me O'Leary Park is nicely landscaped with a playground on the top of the hill. It's usually full of kids in the summer, and I was surprised to find it empty today. Farther in there's a bridge that crosses a narrow spot in O'Leary Lake and a wooded area.




This time of year the lake is full up with duckweed. Our neighborhood's name is Duckwood, but sometimes we call it Duckweed in the summer. No ducks today, but I regularly see mallards and mergansers here, as well as the occasional coot. I've also seen painted and snapping turtles, great blue herons, and a red-tailed hawk in the park. (And Canada geese. So many Canada geese.)




On the other side of the bridge is this art bench, which the city put up last year. Due to a lot of community effort by some of my friends, the city finally got itself a public art plan a few years ago, and this bench is one of the first results of that. I'm not sure that I'm terribly fond of the canoe-and-chainlink-fence combination but it works ok and it's distinctive.




After the bench there's a little wooded path that diverges to the left, and runs along the edge of the lake. This is a peaceful little spot where I like to go when I just need some quiet and some trees. Even though it's in this middle of a developed suburb, it's pretty calm. The lake on that side is pretty full of weeds, too, as you can see below.

oleary6.jpg

It's just a short little walk but I like it; it's nice to be able to just get out for half an hour or so on days like today when that's about all I can manage. As the summer goes on I'll show you some of the places farther afield.

Sort:  

Well you are privileged to have those beautiful views within reach of a short walk. I like the bench.

What a beautiful spot for a walk love that view over the water, I do like that Canoe art but not so sure about the fence behind it

Thanks for joning Wednesday Walk
tip!

Very nice! Thanks for sharing these photos. The last one could be a Monet painting, huh?

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-11T20:10:18
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 55.95/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

Hi @tcpolymath! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76