We-Write with @sima369- prompt: medicine

in #wewrite5 years ago (edited)

Now that we have figured out how to create a shared Google doc, here is our we-write with last week's prompt!

The first part was written by me, @scribblingramma:

The doctor told me to take my medicine every two hours, with food. What was this, some sort of new get-fat-quick diet? He didn’t say how much food, of course, so I could have just eaten an orange or a cracker, I suppose. But suddenly I had this tremendous appetite! So I ate eggs, toast, and orange juice with the 6:00 a.m. pill; oatmeal, bacon, and coffee with the 8:00 a.m. pill; a fruit smoothie at 10:00, a BLT with a dish of pears at noon, and now I am finally getting full. I suppose when 2:00 rolls around I will just have a bowl of breakfast cereal.

I wish I knew what is really wrong with me. The doctor never did say. He just looked at all the bloodwork results and got a weird look on his face and wrote out this prescription. I hate it when a doctor gets all snooty like that, and gets that superior, know-it-all expression. Hey, I’m the one with the problem, whatever it is, and there must be some law that would require him to fill me in.

And the second part was written by @sima369:

But maybe he didn’t actually know what is “wrong” with me. Maybe the strange look he had wasn’t that he knew and wasn’t going to tell me but that he saw something that he couldn’t interpret and didn’t want to appear ignorant. Ah! It’s frustrating and frightening not knowing. Not knowing what’s “wrong” with me and not knowing the intentions of others in relation to me. And not knowing if I have any power to do anything about...well...anything!

The familiar flood of tears was rising. NO! I didn’t want to cry anymore. Isn’t enough to have cried an ocean already! But I couldn’t stop the tears as the wail from deep inside me gushed up and out to the heavens. A wrenching cry of pain, confusion, fear and doubt continued pouring out of me, seeking some answer, some comfort, anything to help me feel assured. Assured that I’m not alone. That someone bears witness to my pain. And that somehow, in some way, true understanding of what’s “wrong” with me can be had and the repairing of my being can be real.

Thanks again to @freewritehouse for all the fun writing opportunities and prompts!

Sort:  

Good job! You've both expressed a very real concern. How much do the doctor's tell us? Why can't they explain themselves better? It's so frustrating. It's so much more effective if we know why we are doing something or what it is they are trying to accomplish. Our best defense is ask tons of questions and demand answers.

You are quite right!

You two did an excellent story!!!

Thank you so much!

If you want, you are welcome to write another one with the new prompt....

If you want, you are
Welcome to write another
One with the new prompt....

                 - freewritehouse


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hm, that's tempting!

Hello @scribblingramma, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14