Of Very Large Cats: Part I ~ My Extra-Big Cougar Adventure~ Inspired by @generikat's Recent Post-A Fascinating Story About A Cougar That Yowled At Her ~ Original Photography and Original Semi-Long Story ~

in #whateveryoudodontgetout6 years ago (edited)

P1020302-2 345kb.jpg

Hello. Just Pretend I'm A Cougar -- Frrawrr!

Li'l Kitty, the smallest grown-up kitty you will probably ever see, standing in for me as a Cougar



Another Woodsy Soul

Awhile ago, the joyfully ubiquitous storyteller and my vundebar Steemit friend @generikat put out a story that would make your blood turn to ice. A re-telling of an encounter she and her brother had with a mountain lion, or cougar. What is truly fun here, is that the story was reportedly 'jangled loose' from her memory cells by one of our often lengthy, always entertaining conversations, disguised as comment streams. Something that I truly treasure and enjoy.

The Original GK Post Can Be Viewed Here: Generikat's Cougar

At the end of her post, she posed the following question:

What about you all, have you ever come across a cougar or another large wild cat? I would love to hear about it!

And since we've both spent a great deal of time messing about in the hills, dales, mountains and forests in our lifetimes, our stories often run along a parallel track.

There's Only ONE Thing To Do Here...

So, and in return, a bit of storytelling has been 'jangled about' in the cranial cobwebs on THIS side of the Steemit world. Thus, I thought I would toss a writing out into the pile of stories on the site. With further ado...



A Very Green Forester Learns A Valuable Lesson

Hi Ho, Hi Ho, It's Off To Work We Go

I've had several sightings and run-ins with mountain lions or cougars (same cat), over the many years I've spent in the woods. The following event occurred fairly early-on in my 'lack of career' in the woods. (Story for another day). But this event, was the most memorable, and my closest encounter to date. Knock on a large piece of downed-wood really hard. Read on into my small adventure with the big cat, if so inclined.

Driving-The Most Hazardous Part Of Forest Work

The roads we drove while working in the woods were often narrow, winding gravel swaths, cut into the mountains and valleys 'however necessary' to keep the road slope at 15% or less. Usually with VERY long, scary vertical drops and no guard rails, and even steeper vertical cliffs above. And almost every road had a highly-limited sight distance around the tight corners of the road.

Driving alone in my green-fleet 'rig' (truck), looking for a particular stand of trees, I steered my way lazily around a sharp corner in the road. Suddenly, something moved out of the corner of my eye, causing me to glance up through the dusty windshield, high and to the right. There, on the vertical cut-bank above the road, stood the LARGEST cougar I'd ever seen. Zoo ridden, OR in the wilds.

I hadn't even slowed the truck yet, when the enormous cat suddenly leaped off the twenty foot high cut-bank in one, deft move, landed in the center of the road, then took one more serious bound to the edge of the road. The cat instantly vanished into the brush and thick dog-hair (small, dense trees), below.

Silent, Fast and Deadly

I'd never seen anything move that fast, particularly in full stealth-mode, in my entire existence. It hadn't made a sound I could detect. I slammed on the brakes as soon as the cat first landed, slid to a stop in the gravel, and in a second or two, had the road and surrounding forest to myself once more. It was all very very exciting. And eerily spooky and quiet.

Sitting and staring for a time out the driver's window at the small trees wafting in the breeze where the cougar had just disappeared, I waited for my heart to return to some semblance of normal. Then drove on, wending my way up around the next bend in the road. I finally stopped, and sat and had a typical chat with the only other person in the vehicle. Myself.

"What WAS that cougar doing up on the cut bank? Sitting on a kill? Stalking something? Just sunning itself ?" The inquiries came fast and furious. And I had absolutely NO answers for any of them. Thus, being the inquisitive type, I did the next best thing. I decided to investigate.



EW1_0012-2 386kb.jpg

Typical F.S. Road Cut-Bank


Let's Hope The Cat Follows Standard, Mountain Lion Protocols

I parked the truck, tossed the chock-block under the back wheel, and wandered on foot back up the road. Cougars are generally quite afraid of people, particularly in this part of the country, where hunting is a common occurrence. Cougars are very smart animals. Any human encounter might mean getting shot. Often just for existing. Unfortunate, but a truism of this part of the world. So I was not particularly concerned with seeing the big cat again. I re-assured myself, "by now, the big kitty is long gone." I ambled on up the road.

As I rounded the sharp bend, I soon came into view of the area where I'd spotted the cougar, five minutes earlier. Lollygagging along, marveling at the forested views all around, I suddenly stopped DEAD in my tracks. My heart picked up the pounding pace where it had left off before. The cougar wasn't long gone! It was back. Standing in the MIDDLE OF THE ROAD!!!! Right where we last saw one another.

If You Were Any Less Smart, You Might Be Dumb

"What ARE you doing here?!"...was about all I came up with...to myself, of course. Not sure if the comment was directed at the cougar, or myself. But making ANY sound at this time, let alone idle, self chit-chat, was NOT a good idea*.

I was amazed. This seemed like VERY odd behavior. I could not see ALL of the great cat, only the back two thirds. And that was enough. The behemoth was just standing in the road, and appeared to be about four feet tall. And what a tail! It matched the rest of the cat. ENORMOUS. As big-around as my arm. Swatting away back and forth in a highly agitated state, like an annoyed house cat. A super-sized, VERY annoyed house cat.

Not surprisingly, the cougar looked even LARGER than our last encounter. Now that I was standing alone in the road, twenty feet away from this well-practiced, killing machine. Rather than in the safety of my four wheel-drive tin can. Only the tail moved, still swishing about in the fresh, mountain air, as I stood stark-still and pondered my next move.




P1020302-2 100 lighter.jpg



Most Excellent Theory Number One: "If The Cat Can't SEE You-The Cat Can't CHASE You"

I could not see the cougar's head, which I figured was a GOOD thing. Since that's where the all-important, prey-discovering eyes, ears and nose are located. And I was rapidly becoming the most easy prey in the area.

So he or she had not seen, heard or smelled me yet. At least in theory. The tail continued swatting away at the mountain air, suggesting the cougar was still highly annoyed at someone or something. Probably the guy that drove by in the green truck a few minutes back. My mouth was rapidly becoming the Gobi Dessert, and I could hear or feel my heart beating up in my ears. I couldn't tell which, and at this point, it didn't really matter.

Whatever You Do, DON'T Run!!

-- OK, How About If I Just SPRINT?!

I very S-L-O-W-L-Y walked backwards down the road, one foot at a time, around the steep corner. Every step I took in my heavy, 14" logger's boots was torture. The Vibramᵗᵐ heels and thick soles made a MASSIVE scrunch-scrunching sound in the loose gravel, that I was SURE could be heard all the way down in Boise, 182 miles away. It was a slow and excruciatingly stressful trip in reverse. Each moment, I fully expected to see the cougar come bounding around the corner, to take me down like a spindly, 180 pound lunch-Elk.

SO far, so good. I kept backing up, keeping my eyes on that sharp curve in the road as I went.

As soon as I could see my truck, I turned, took one more peek back over my shoulder, and headed off in a dead run. Yes, all the science suggests that when you see a cougar, the one thing NOT to do is run. This often triggers a chase response in the cat. As in: "Ooh, something to eat. I better go get it. "

But the good old human survival gene is a strong one. That whole Fight or Flight thing. In my case, flight usually wins out handily. As in "Run AWAY, Run AWAY! " The Face the cougar at all times and don't run mantra is a serious suggestion, that is very very easy to forget, even when good science supports otherwise. For some reason, the run away option just seems the path of least mental resistance.

Don't Run Over The Chock-Block Either

I ran like a mad dog back to my truck, jumped in as fast as I could, and slammed the door behind me. Didn't even take the chock-block out before getting in. Just maneuvered forward, then backed up, opened the door a crack, leaned out, grabbed the chock through the bottom of the door, and chucked it into the cab. I may have been dumb once, wandering around in the open air with a giant cougar, but ONLY once...

Time To Investigate Some More - LET'S Do A Windshield Survey This Time

Turning the truck around on the narrow road took a bit of time, after which I drove back around the curve in the road, to see if 'my' cougar was still there. It was gone. There was neither hair nor hide of it anywhere. Not even anything I could see up on the cut-bank.

Though I supposed it COULD have been back up there, where I first saw it. Hiding out. I will never know. I wasn't ABOUT to get out of the truck again, then climb up and take a look. I already made THAT mistake once. I figured providence was on my side that day, but might not be the most PATIENT virtue, when dealing with a person that doesn't learn so good.

I certainly didn't want to be reduced to local forest folklore, passed down from generation to generation, about the guy who got consumed walking up to the largest-known carnivore on the continent: "Just to see what was going on." Hollywood bases an entire genre of movie upon this very premise. I'm always yelling at my TV -- "DON'T go down the basement. In the dark. ALONE. Just to see what those giant green eyes behind the furnace are attached to!" Come on !!!.

Plus, the Internet now gives out those modern-day Darwin awards to folks that try out these sorts of things. Once. No, I'd rather remain anonymously NON-famous for some big event that never occurred.

At least I'm still AROUND, to write about it.

~ Finto ~



Author's Note:
I'm fully convinced talking to myself, out loud, once saved me from a nasty run-in with a very large mother bear and her cub. A story for another day, but it fully suggests talking aloud to oneself out in the woods is not necessarily a bad thing.



Stay Tuned For More Stories

Of Very Large Cats -Part II and Beyond

Also, the Hollywood Version (Poste Post Re-Write): Big Kitty Goes To Hollywood



Thanks for stopping in and viewing the tale of a run-in with one of the Big Cats. If you have any thoughts about wildlife sightings, large carnivorous predators of the world , working out of doors, the pluses and minuses of running versus standing still, or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 06/13/2018 @ 13:34



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 76

Generikats Cougar I-Cat Eyesight Ketchup and grass.PNG
Generikats Cougar I-Cat Eyesight Ketchup Part 2.PNG

Sort:  

Surviving is better than being interesting. Good read, though. We don't have similarly-sized cats here, but I once met a lynx in a forest in France. It was eating leftovers from my pan when I got up at night to pee. It ran off, and I left it a fish I had caught, which was gone in the morning. I saw it two times afterwards and named it Funny Ears.

That is a fun, cool story. Lynx are amazing. We are about out of them here, but the bobcat is still around. See them even less than cougar. So that was a real treat for you, unless they are ubiquitous there (France), which I'm doubting. Nice of you to share your catch, and amazing you got to even see the ears, let alone more than once.

The Vosges (where I was hiking off the beaten tracks and living off the forest at the time) were on the edge of where you could find them, and that only because a few of them had been reintroduced there shortly before. I read only one remains there now. I saw "mine" in the mid-1980s.

Theory Number Two: tame the cougar!

Learn to live with it. Pee on your territory to mark it, and whistle every time you give it food and water. Make clear to the cougar who is the dominant beast.

Oh, kind of like Timothy Treadwell???

Not an ending I would wish on anyone.

To Sandrina, this is ALL messed up (or I am...O: ) I'm pretty sure I could pee on things till the cows come home, and the good old cougar would guffaw, as if to say, "I'm still king of MY jungle". As for food, I DID leave my lunch banana on a stump for a bear as a peace offering once after a run-in, but never whistled a tune to any of them. Maybe I should have tried that.
As for living with them, that's what I did...try to live with them in peace. It was always up to the kitty though...

Until today, I had always thought of a mountain lion more as an actual lion vs a cougar/puma. Just figured it was merely a lion that lived in the mountains, lol! Damn disney movies (The Lion King had to be it) are probably the cause of my mental "cat facts" being messed up. Anyways, I'm glad after discussing with @enternamehere the differences between 'large' cats and so-called 'small' cats to have now straightened this error of mine out. Thanks for sharing!

They can be confusing, particularly if you throw in panther too. So many names, one big cat. Think there is DNA differences, but don't quote me on that. I'll just deny it and run away...
The movies do mess things up some times. Do you still have any big cats in Texas? Probably come up that way from down south, though they have a lot of people-country to navigate first. Glad I could help sort out the real differences with my post.

Not any REAL BIG cats. I have seen a bobcat back out in the woods here when I was 11-12 yrs old. To me it looked about the size of a lab (maybe shorter) or similar sized dog but clearly a cat! That was more than enough to scare the crap out of me only being about 50ft away when he/she went trotting by.

Ah! Finally, you came back home safely. You are very brave guy!

I can imagine how you felt when you encountered the big cougar. For me, just seeing hyenas closely showing its teeth while look directly at me, in the Khao Kheow Open Zoo, this can frighten me very much. It’s fortunate that the hyenas stood in the higher level and there was a narrow space with water between us, so, I can be rest assure that it cannot absolutely reach me.

Thanks for telling us about your story! I’ll keep in mind that I’ll never get out of car in the wood if I see dangerous animals like the big cougar! ;)

Still safe and sound with the small cats around here. The big predatory animals are scary, aren't they. Even in the zoo when you are close-up. I've seen some big lions banging on the fence at the zoo and it was very un-nerving, even behind the fence. Yikes. Here's to a nice weekend for you.

Ha ha! Small cats around are better than big cougars around, for sure! Yes, those dangerous animals even in the zoo can frighten us indeed.

How many cats do you have now? I know, you are cat lover and you are very kind to them…. That's really nice of you! ;)

Well, firstly, I am sure to be free of cougar or bear or big foot attacks in the house everyday, as I have entire conversations aloud to me or the animals. And, of course, in wood, field, stream, sea and shops I engage in the same said practice, so I imagine it keeps coyotes (probably the most 'dangerous' thing I'd come upon in a MA coastal forest) and sales people away!. Although, sharks probably would like it if I talked, but when I snorkel I only have discussions quietly in my head.

I was hoping the end of the story was going to be, 'slowly you adjusted your rear view mirror to catch the glimpse of a green eye and sleek fur and then just ... That'd probably be the Hollywood version :)

Isn't talking to ourselves the best?! Do it all the time. Saved me from a bear once, I'll write on that later. But your discussion of stores is so real, and cracked me up. Find myself chatting away about something sometimes, all un-awares that someone else is near by. Maybe I can just chalk it up to them as being oddly older. But I'm not all THAT old. So maybe we'll stick to the oddly.
Snorkeling in Florida, I'm pretty sure I still chatted away through the tube. No WONDER I could never see anything, "He makes SO much noise". And a dry throat too.
I like your ending better, and you've given me an idea (one of many from your side of things), a Hollywood version of my ending. Maybe I can write one this weekend. After mowing and other chores. A short dds freewrite. After all, they ARE free ( :
Have a nice weekend, and keep on Steemin' away...

I'm looking forward to the Hollywood version! I can't wait.

I better get busy, the mower is calling. And now the writing bug...

....... pfffffhaaaahahahahahahaaaa!! Seriously, this conversations with the mechanical cat cracks me up everytime!

So glad you enjoy my little discussions with The Cat. I'm sad he/she/it went away. (Fixed?) I used to have SO much fun with them. Now, I keep it going on my own. We does what we gotta does.

I wonder if it was focused on something you were oblivious to like a bear or such. Almost seems unlikely that it would not have heard or smelled you...or maybe you were lucky with the wind and all. Either way too close for me! A great story! Humans can get themselves in some crazy situations. Curiosity killed the cat, as they say, always. Kind of like swimming over to see what that Great White is up to lol.

Might have been what was up. It was highly agitated, that's for sure. I'm pretty sure I was downwind, and not making sound enough to be heard. It would have bolted, in ONE direction or the other. Hopefully the 'other'. I'm not about to be able to wrassle me down a cougar, and that was when I was younger and wiry-er. Run away still works for me...or swim away. I AM really spooked by sharks. Probably because I can run faster than swim. Plus, the whole idea of them appearing out of the un-seen, dark blue water all of a sudden through a little glass window on my mask, must hearken back to horror movies of old. And the silence. Yikes.

This is what I like about our state parks here, there are no animals that are large enough to make me their dinner. :D

I guess we did use to have black bears here but not in my lifetime. Although, I was told a bear did swim over from KY last year and has been seen roaming southern Indiana.

I hope none of his family come looking for him.

It is much more relaxing, hanging out where you are at the top of the pyramid/chain. That's for sure. Any hiking I did in Glacier N.P. was always a bit stressful. More big bear attacks there than anywhere in the continental U.S., if I'm not mistaken. Not likely to happen, but who wants to be a statistic.
Amazes me they know about the one bear that swam across. Talk about keeping track of nature. They are fascinating too, but not likely to see one. You just don't have enough open country in Indiana. Sad, but true. And good if you DON'T want to see a bear ( :

Yes, I much prefer being at the top of the food chain. They found out about him because he was spotted in a state park in southern Indiana. After that they tried to keep track of his location.

I could read this article from @generikat I've never had a close encounter with this I think that the closest I've been to one of these very big cats like the cougar is with a small cat I like cats so I've always had one

Once I went to a zoo but until now I do not have much memory to remember if I could see a big cat

Hello. Yes, I recommend you head off and read her article. It was very interesting. And would be VERY bone chilling to hear what she did in the dark. The cougar is a gorgeous animal, but when you are very close, and everything is completely up to the cat, it is very sobering indeed. I plan on writing more on this in another couple of posts. Thanks for stopping in. How many cats do you have? (the smaller variety ( :

How fun to get to see the giant cat.... From inside the truck! I have never seen one. It would be terrifying to meet up with one on foot.

They are quite fascinating. And as you say, in the truck, pretty cool. But when it's just you and them and the outdoors, it puts it all on another level. Very primal, because everything is up to the animal. Rather humbling..."whatever you think, big kitty, I'm just a punny human, going along for the ride here." I think it's good for us now and then to realize we can be down at the second or third rung on the food chain. Humbling indeed. Thanks for reading some of my older computer scrabble.

My day hasn't worked out as planned and I'm just now getting back to Steem!

It is a feeling that is unfamiliar to us. I remember in the late 70s driving logging roads through Sunlight Basin in Wyoming just outside of Yellowstone Park keeping an eye out for grizzly bears which was all well and good while I was in my truck. But knowing that Sunlight Basin had the highest density of bears, there was no way I could sleep in a tent that night, and felt much more able to rest sitting upright in the cab of the truck!

Do days EVER go to plan??
Yes, I've spent a bit of time in the backcountry of Montana. I was never very comfortable there, with the big bears. I think it is a function of being in the forest so much, and encountering animals on their turf. A realization of reality, more or less. As you say, in the vehicle is one thing, outside, it's all up to them.

I've not been to Sunlight Basin, but Wyoming has some gorgeous country. We used to go there and to Montana for holiday when working in Idaho. Road trips to the area you speak of. Two friends and I camped in Glacier N.P. for Thanksgiving one year. It was a lot of fun. Eating turkey in the bathroom to stay warm. There were only 3 other people in the park that we knew of. I woke up in my tent in the morning and went out, and discovered a grizzly footprint about 12-14" long in the snow, 6 inches from the tent, and the side of my head through the ripstop nylon. Kind of un-nerving, thinking of me in my little blue Forester Burrito bag (what we called mummy bags in bear country), right on the other side. I slept in the truck that night, like you did. Some call it chicken, I call it smart and still here to discuss it ( :

Idaho. I've spent some back county time near Riggins. Beautiful, beautiful country!

I've been through Glacier, but never camped or hiked there. It was too early in the year, they had just opened the road for the season and there was still deep snow in many places. I always thought I would get back there, but it never happened.

Definitely a wise chicken! I saw my first Grizzly a few years ago while driving through Yellowstone. It was an experience of a lifetime for me. It convinced me again that I am not brave enough to tent camp in Grizzly country.
And there is some question if I am brave enough to sleep in a hotel in Grizzly country We had come down the Beartooth hwy and got a room for the night in Red Lodge. As we walked through the hotel lobby on our way to go for a walk and get something for dinner, the clerk at the desk warned us to be careful because they had just been told there was a grizzly in the alley behind the hotel. The police were keeping an eye on it. We decided to forego the walk and I'm pretty sure we walked at a very fast pace to get to the car and drive to the restaurant!

Ah, I don't blame you. They definitely can give you the willies. Any animal that can efficiently disassemble you with little effort, is something to give wide birth to. Particularly since they are a bit unpredictable at times, especially during cub season. And can run about 37 mph faster than
you or mwaah.

Glacier is amazing, and it's always boggles my mind that the Going To The Sun road is only open about a month and a half a year. Incredible snows there. (I guess that's why it IS GLACIER park ( : Though it's sad, I think a lot of it is receding way too fast now.

I've spent a bit of time in the Riggins area too, right on the cusp of the Seven Devils N.R.A. LOVELY area indeed. Used to dirt bike up the road from the town to the areas around the Devils, and then down into the Snake River Canyon now and then. Some of the prettiest country in America. I feel very fortunate to have been able to spend so much time in that country, bopping around in the brush and beyond. Where were you backcountry-ing it there? The Salmon River is gorgeous there too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72