An-Cnoc 18YO and H. Upmann Sir Winston

in #whisky5 years ago

Sipping whisky and smoking a cigar on the second day of a 3 day long weekend is just nice. I'm back at the P&L club as the family have decided to go shopping and that's just not my bag.

AN-CNOC 18YO SINGLE MALT SCOTCH WHISKY

So I've reviewed this whisky previously (https://partiko.app/yippeekaiyay/ancnoc-18yo-with-a-h-upmann-connoisseur-b-lemuzww1?referrer=yippeekaiyay) and its still wonderful. Citrus honey and oak on the nose, the taste reminds me of the orange rinds you sometimes find in a whisky soaked Christmas cake (if you've never tried whisky soaked Christmas cake, it's so rich and delicious eaten warm with vanilla ice cream and crème anglaise or a touch of caramel...... I'm drooling just sitting here describing it to you🤤). A really great whisky but as I've said before, all of the An-Cnoc series are pretty wonderful.

H. UPMANN SIR WINSTON

Was in the mood for a longer cigar just in case the family decided to cut short their shopping escapade but I didn't need to worry as I easily finished it in just over an hour. Anyway I digress.... The cigar is tightly rolled which makes the draw somewhat difficult though curiously there's plenty of smoke when you get it going. Could be because the cigar I was smoking was a little dry. The taste of the first third is smooth and comforting, not overwhelming and slightly nutty, almost creamy in a dark roasted coffee kind of way. The second third was even harder to draw and was a lot more bitter but the final third opened up and the flavour was fantastic.

PAIRING

This pairing is amazing. What I do is take a little whisky in my mouth, breath out with the whisky still there, take a good draw of the cigar, mix the whisky and cigar in my mouth, then slowly blow the smoke out before tasting the whisky to experience how it is changed (if at all) by the smoke. Its not easy to do and you have to be careful and patient about it. This whisky is a little tart to start with but after you mix in the smoke, the whisky mellows considerably to the point of being creamy when consumed. Amazing pairing. Each third of the cigar was good with the whisky.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 8.88% upvote from us for your 1019 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34