Im sorry, but I have to get this off my chest...

in #wicca6 years ago

... you are not a feminist if you bash women who wear makeup. You are not a feminist if you think cosmetic things are disgusting and damaging to women. You are not enlightened if you think your way of life is the correct way and people who live otherwise are simply not as enlightened as you are. It just doesn't work like that.
I just half way listened to a podcast that I had to shut off because the woman being interviewed was so irritatingly sure of herself, I couldn't believe the shit these hosts were eating like dinner.
Let me tell you, when I was first introduced to the spirituality I claim now I was bleach blonde, hair extensions, spray tanned, false lashes, fake nails and I have NEVER met more judgemental people in my life than the "hippies." To be honest, if I hadn't witnessed what I did with my own eyes and experienced what i did in real time, I would have N E V E R bought into what they were talking about. I would have rolled my eyes and moved along like I did with several different kinds of "religious" people throughout my life. Social expectations don't bother me, pack mentality amongst less than average intelligence does.
Now, how I am now is different than how I used to be. Not drastically different, but different, and it doesnt offend me when someone doesnt believe the full extent of my spirituality and how dedicated I am to it. I don't care if you choose to not shave your legs and talk with a slight Jamaican accent, Rachel from Minnesota, it's not my business - just don't mock me because I curl my hair.
So heres my challenge, hippies of the world - HOW can one be so annoyed about witchcraft being a main stream thing? If you so radically and profoundly believe in your craft or lifestyle then what part of mainstream is it that threatens you? Is it because you're afraid the corporations are going to take all the money that you're so "deeply against" and "strongly believe is the root of all evil" from your start up crystal shop?
Are you afraid you're not going to be able to recognize who is and is not safe to discuss your last tarot reading with because every girl in a 10 mile radius is wearing an amethyst choker and a flat brimmed hat?
Are you honestly going to sit there and say that you are centered and grounded and enlightened enough to communicate with spirits from the other side but you JUST CANT with these wannabe posers? What??? I really thought this anti-sellout- mainstream phase ended in, like, your teens.
What are you grasping at here. For that matter, where exactly does your deep profound belief end and your anger with Wicca going mainstream begin because I REALLY can't see how those two things exist with each other.
If anything, would this not give you an 'in' to introduce others to what you know to be true? A chance for your practice to dominate the world, to open the eyes of those around you, or at the very least be UNDERSTOOD better? Or are you just Wiccan because it's the F society thing to do? You're real cool.
I am sick to deeeeeath of every single one of you self important douche bags. Wicca, spirtituality, being One has absolutely nothing to do with how people look or what they shop for and absolutely everything to do with how we treat each other.
Get 👏 over 👏 your👏 selfIMG_20180501_125731_512.jpg

Sort:  

@bohemianbunny, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Congratulation! You got an upvote from me.

I give free upvotes to all good quality posts under the tag “feminism”. You can tag me in the post if I forget or send me a reminder. I will not upvote if the post is not relevant and wrongly tagged under “feminism”.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13