Wildflower series ~ Justicia anagalloides

in #wildflowers5 years ago

justicia anagalloides flower.jpg

These tiny, pretty little flowers are quite common in grasslands although they are extremely difficult to photograph because they are so small. When I posted them in a group looking for ID, most people couldn't ID them correctly either. They don't seem to be either medicinal or poisonous, just one of those tiny little creeping herbs that everyone overlooks although they would work well as groundcover plants in a garden.

justicia anagalloides.jpg

Of course this picture raised questions when I was editing there are little greenish star-shaped flowers next to the plant which I never noticed at the time. I will now have to go back, find that particular bush I took a picture of and find out what those are. It can be quite a game of hide-and-seek finding some plants again and I have learned to make a mental map of the landscape and fix particular plants at various points. If I don't do this, it can take a while before I find particular plants again.

Sort:  

You mention using it as a ground cover. I once put a wild violet in my garden and was surprised to see how it grew in a lovely clump when treated like a garden plant. Growing native plants wasn't common back then. Years later, I noticed the wildflowers in Central America were the same as some of the plants in my house and garden. It makes me wonder if a gardener somewhere would want my dandelions.

Not your dandelions, everybody has those anyway although some gardeners use them in salads and they are medicinal.

This plant with flowers probably scatters its branches in different directions in search of good soil and moisture. It is programmed by nature.

Probably in search of sun as well

I like the patterns on the flowers.

Medicinal these plants or poisonous, they are still very pretty!

So! You are plant detective!! Another kind of Sherlock Holmes! Have s good hunt!

Cheers.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It keeps me amused

They are very pretty little flowers.

Exquisite...elegant. wonderful macro. absolutely gorgeous! Love your photography style.

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72