Wildflower series ~ Sorrel

in #wildflowers5 years ago

oxalis.jpg

I noticed little green trefoil leaves that look like large hard clover but it took a while to finally find them in flower and I was surprised to discover that it is an indigenous form of Oxalis.

Yellow Sorrel, Oxalis corniculata is the bane of every gardener's life, it comes up in every plant pot and flowerbed and if not removed regularly, it soon makes a dense carpet. It's especially annoying in cacti and aloe pots because it has a long taproot and is difficult to remove without getting your hands scratched to pieces.

oxalis2.jpg

Although these sorrel plants look a lot like clover, Oxalidaceae are a totally different family. Clover belong to the nitrogen-fixing legume family. I wonder if it is possible to find one with 4 leaves, though. Maybe one day if I am bored enough I will go and find out.

Sort:  

Amazing flower. I like this color.

Pretty petal power :-)

I wonder how in Africa the plants are trying to occupy a niche in nature. They are trying by any means to take root in the ground to surviv

Africa is one of the oldest continents and they have evolved over millions of years

I'm surprised at the number of them that have pretty flowers.

They are pretty. Some of them are just a serious nuisance

Looks attractive

The stuff we get here in the lawn border and beyond is very little other than an invasive nuisance... although I suppose we could pause long enough to declare it "pretty" with its yellow flowers, for a short while.

=^..^=

Pretty annoying ;)

Parece mentira, como una flor tan bonita sea parte de una planta tan dañina. Gracias por esa información.

Despite his "harmfulness" he is beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25