Wildflower series ~ the No IDs

in #wildflowers5 years ago (edited)

I decided to post these anyway. I have asked for ID from some local botanists but never got a conclusive answer. Update: Someone did finally get back to me and it is Schizocarphus nervosus or Scilla nervosa

scilla.jpg

I think that this is a species of Squill, which fall under the Hyacinth family. The similar ones in my wildflower guide have wide leaves and longer flower stalks but this could be a local variant. Many of the local Squill species are used in traditional medicine although if this is what I think it is, it's one of the non toxic ones.

scilla2.jpg

Sort:  

My guess would be an Ornithogalum species?

Good guess although I finally got confirmation of ID from a botanist. He said that it is what I thought it is, Scilla nervosa. Apparently, there are so many local variants that they are all regarded as one species

Excellent. Thanks for letting me know.

Good photos. So well flowers look.

Whatever it is, it's worth planting.

I wonder what it would do in my garden, I suppose I could sow some seed and find out

No matter the id, this look great

Very cute wild flowers, non toxic too!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85