A little lesson on little Chablis <3

in #wine6 years ago

If you read my last post about Burgundy, you'll notice that I didn't touch on Chablis. Chablis is technically part of Burgundy but is more north and actually has some of its own regulations, so I thought I would cover it separately.

This village, much like the other villages within Burgundy, has a reputation for outstanding wines - all while being an adorable little French town! As soon as we drove into it, I was immediately sad that we only had 1 day there :(

IMG_5719.JPG

What sets this region apart from the other Chardonnays made in Burgundy is their very distinct soils and the fact that they rarely see any oak-aging (with a few exceptions, including the top tier bunch). A sip of a Chablis isn't going to have those creamy, buttery notes you've come to know from other worldly Chards, and that's the whole point! It's why Chablis is Chablis!

Those notes of vanilla and butter are coming from oak-aging, so we're not going to see that a lot here. And the fancy soil that I'm referring to is Kimmerigian soil. This area was formed from an ancient seabed and marine fossils, and its what gives the wines their signature zesty minerality!

Enough of the facts - here's some shots of our time here...

IMG_5706.JPG

Umm yes. I'll be following that arrow.

IMG_5702.JPG

IMG_5704.JPG
I think I've literally had dreams about this moment

IMG_5720.JPG

IMG_5712.JPG

I loved it here so much that I briefly debated taking french lessons just so I could feel more like a local! It's not going well...

Thanks for reading <3

Jen

Sort:  

Truly one can not tire of traveling
Every land is characterized by people and their traditions and smell different
Thanks for sharing

Little sketchy looking with a dark stair case and then a small room with only one table, looks like an underground russian roulette ring in some ways. But the dozens of bottles of wine along the walls made everything A Okay!

That's a awesome blog Really someone is helpful for your blog I appreciate your great work @travelingsomm

A real nice post and as I really like my wine, I appreciate your post even more. I do prefer a dry wine.
Our South African wines are also something you should not miss out on.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Absolutely beautiful. As I look out my Ohio window and see snow and grey.

And as I lay in bed knowing that I’m 5 hours I have to get up, put on my scrubs and work for 11 hours.

Jelly.

The place is like heaven .if one can get time to visit it its amazing .how good is that wine travelingsomm

All these pictures looks amazing. I am always interested in exploring new places, especially like an old town. It looks a small but a ROME styled town.

I like regular wine too, but our wines are expensive and not pure.

Please share the wine with me

I’m not a wine fan at all, but the first picture is beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04