How Are Wine and STEEMIT related?! IT'S ALL ABOUT MARKETING!

in #wine6 years ago (edited)

Should You Judge a Wine (post) by its Label (title)?!? No one will understand this frustration more than STEEMIANS!


I've been wanting to do a post about this for a while because it's a hot topic these days! When you walk into a wine store, what are you looking for? Are you usually in there for something specific or are you just wandering the aisles for the first eye-catching label? Or maybe you're just looking to buy whatever is on sale. Whatever the goal, a wine label will almost always be a topic of discussion at the wine and cheese party you are at.

wine-feature.png
Source: scarymommy.com

I have to admit, I've walked into a store on a mission for a certain wine and have been pulled in a different direction because of a fancy label that caught my eye. The wine ended up being awful, but they still got the sale due to strategic marketing! They caught me and I was bitter. Even so, after that experience I started purposely buying wines because of their label. Not because I wanted to drink bad wine, but because I wanted to find the good ones. I was frustrated that certain wineries could get away with producing a mediocre product while still making a ton of money because of a label that drew in consumers. On one side of things I was impressed with this tactic, but mostly it just felt icky.

But what is their ultimate goal? To attract our attention. To connect with consumers. No one can understands this more than EVERY SINGLE PERSON on STEEMIT! What are we all trying to do? Attract attention! Build up our reputation. Someone can write a post and give it a fancy title with all caps and emojis (guilty) and it catches your eye in the 'new' section! And what happens when you open it? It's 3 sentences and a gif (not guilty). You were pulled in by the 'label'. So it's not very hard to understand why wineries are doing the same thing. In a market full of competitors you have to do whatever you can to get noticed!

So what's the solution? If you see a wine label that you like, take a second to google it on your phone and see what the reviews are saying. You have to do the leg work, otherwise you're just going to end up sifting through all the crap until you find the good stuff. Too bad we don't have this option for Steemit :(

In the end, I love wine and I love Steemit! I put up with the frustrations of both because most of the time everything is well-intentioned. I'll continue to learn about the wine industry and support it, and I'll do the same thing with Steemit.

What are your thoughts and frustrations?! I'd love to hear other peoples thoughts on this, whether it be wine or this platform. Let me know! :)

Thanks for reading!

Jen🍷

upvotegif.gif

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76