The Okanagan Valley - put it on your radar!

in #wine6 years ago

I've done a lot of posts talking about wine regions I've had the opportunity to visit, and I hate that it's taken me this long to talk about one of my favourite regions - the Okanagan Valley! As a BC girl, the Okanagan is practically a second home to me, and aside from the fact that this wine region is a small fish (or a minnow :P) in the wine world, it's winning countless awards every single year! CedarCreek Estate Winery, Quails' Gate Winery, and Mission Hill Family Estate are just a few examples that have recently brought home top awards from the Decanter World Wine Awards.

QGvineyard.JPG
Source: winetrails.ca

I think that alone is enough to bring attention to this incredible region, but I can't rave enough about the beauty of it as well! The 2hr drive from Kelowna in the northern part of the region down to the town of Osoyoos on the US border includes views that make you want to pack your bags and move here! Trust me, I did at one point ;)

MHview.jpg

okanagan4.jpg

I've been so focused on visiting regions abroad lately, that I'm long overdue for a visit here. The plan is to go this spring, and when we do I'll be following that trip up with a bigger blog post covering some great wineries! I just wanted to do a quick one now to at least get this region on your radar (if it isn't already!).

If you are planning on visiting the Okanagan anytime soon, LET ME KNOW! I'm happy to help you plan out where to visit :):)

Thanks for reading <3

Jen

Sort:  

Hi Jen, I live in Summerland worked in the Vineyards in Narmata. I love the area and people :) Please check out my site and web page.
http://stepstoawareness.org

Very interesting - thanks for posting! I recently worked on a project for a company that hosts wine events around the world. Long story short - winemakers from the Okanagan Valley kept appearing in stories/articles/reports about innovative work with different grape varieties, especially those well-adapted to colder climates. If I'm not mistaken, a number of German grape varieties have been embraced by Canadian winemakers. I'm from the U.S., so mostly familiar with Oregon/Washington wineries, but sounds like British Columbia is also ready to break out on the international wine scene!

Once had a road trip : Vancouver to Penticton - had some cool stop offs en route. Remember eating amazing cherries from the fruit trees and a mad Elvis convention being in Penticton. Very nice area, and great weather when we travelled there.

Hoping to go there soon! :)
Nice article. Thanks for sharing it to us

New Resteem Service!

Click to check it out! :)

** This is a HUMAN service, no bots! :) **

Follow - @duchess1 for FREE resteems!

If this post bothers you, feel free to just flag it! No need to be bitter.. Thanks! :)

thank you for contributing such a meaningful,useful,and informative post here on this platform,wish I had enough sp I would have given you 100% for this nice writeup

Wow! I'm pumped for a visit.

Interesting post

I lived in Armstrong and on Swan Lake and found the Okanagan to be an amazing place for wine and for people. The air is clean, people care about people, and there are some remarkable wines. Plus, there are views you just don't find elsewhere.

Barn-sm.jpg

I took the shot above in Armstrong, BC and the one below in Cherryville, BC.

Cherryville.jpg

These are great shots! Always nice to meet a fellow British Columbian on here! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83