What led me to Penfolds iconic Magill Estate

in #wine6 years ago

I've always had a list of wine goals:

  • Spend a vintage winemaking
  • Drive down through Washington, Oregon, California's wine regions
  • Go wine tasting in Tuscany
  • Become a wine judge
  • Attend a vertical tasting of Chateau Margaux

Some of these I've since done, some I haven't. But the list is always growing...

One goal that used to be on that list was 'Visit the iconic Penfolds Magill Estate in Australia'. I was lucky enough to check that off my list and it was one of the best moments of my career. To be in the presence of that much Grange is enough to make a girl pass right out.

IMG_2792.JPG

IMG_2808.JPG

IMG_2789.JPG

This winery and the Magill Estate have been here since 1844, and is considered one of the founding wineries in Australia. In fact, in 1907 they were responsible for 1/3 of the total wine production in the country! Their beloved Grange has been the recipient of endless amounts of awards, and the 2008 vintage is one of only a small number of wines in the world that has received a score of 100 points - a perfect score.

IMG_2777.JPG

I can't say enough how making a list of goals helped me to achieve them. There's still a lot to check off, but that just gets me excited for the future. And it also equals drinking a bunch more wine. :)

Thanks for reading! <3

Sort:  

Are you more looking towards selling and marketing wine or actually having your own winery? How is it with wine in Canada anyway? :D //edit ahaha, @kpine, I would love to know your motives.

We'll see what the future brings for my career, owning a winery is on the list! Canada has amazing wine, you should check it out some time! Thanks for commenting, don't forget to vote :)

New information for me
Thanks you so much

Upvoted and Re-Steemed.

I have shown your Steem site to some friends at the local coffee shop.

Thanks for your support!

What is the secret ?
Wine is keeping years and not getting any germs or other disease generating factors?

Wine doesn't rot because of the fermentation process. It's a method of preservation! Grapes BEFORE fermentation would most definitely rot. Thanks for asking! :)

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @kpine valued at 282.81 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Beautiful photo

Hope you can achieve all your goals. I'm doing the same my self. Have you tasted any Hungarian wine yet? It's a must ;)

Not a lot, but I love Tokaji <3

Haha, good. Thats our more famous one.

Do you have a favourite Australian red wine ? We´ve been to Perth some years ago and I was impressed by the may wine yards and different wines in this area.

I don't know if I have a favourite, but I love a lot of the stuff that comes out of McLaren Vale. Oh, and I've mentioned the Adelaide Hills on here before and I really love that area too. Cooler climate, some seriously good wines :)

I like that you are goal orientated @travelingsomm and you can combine that into the steemit platform. Got to love the future happening now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64804.67
ETH 3109.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27