WIP Day 02 : Johanna Basford ~ Enchanted Forest River with Derwent Inktense

in #wip6 years ago (edited)

20180516_102921.jpg

The Details : Day 01

Book: Johanna Basford's Enchanted Forest
Media: Derwent Inktense 72 with water brush
Colours: Payne's Grey 2110, Willow 1900, Sea Blue 1200, Aquamarine Green 1220
Time: 4 hours (yesterday)

20180516_102123.jpg

In the light of day this morning I saw all the pencil lines and knew instantly I missed more spots last night than I thought.

They will all need to be blended in with the water brush before I add another blue in the mix. Probably a darker blue and perhaps a green just to add depth to the river.

I also see a light smudge mark on the page that will need to be fixed if I want to frame this. Smudge marks with inktense sucks because it does dry like ink and depending on how thick the smudge is, it can either be rubbed off (best case scenario) or coloured over. And you can only erase so much before you start damaging the paper.

Colour Charts!

20180516_102409.jpg

The first thing I do when I get new pencils is make a colour chart. Even though there are charts already available for download most of them already have the colours on it. I actually don't like those as the colours will depend on how good your printer it.

So I go to the effort, make the chart on excel and colour in the boxes. I feel this really helps me get to know the pencils and the colours. And it's accurate. What colour you see on your chart is what you will get on your page.

Another advantage of having a colour chart is if you're like me and terrible with colours, you can put your chart next to your page, see the possibilities and be in a better position to choose the next colour.

Day 2

20180516_110823.jpg

All things considered, it's looking ok at the moment. Colours are good, I'm mostly within the lines but that could all change today.

I'm generally good at laying the first couple of colours down. It's when I have to match more colours in that it goes pear shaped.

This is usually the point where I have a look at how everyone else did theirs and get some inspiration on how to do mine.

And already I'm wishing I used the grey for the rocks and the brown for the skull. Too late now!

Here we go!

First thing's first, I need to blend the river and get rid of those pencil lines. I also want to leave quite a few white spaces in it to blend more blues and greens in.

Then time to tackle the lily pads and add greens

20180516_132850.jpg

20180516_135059.jpg

See how much colour comes out?!

20180516_143448.jpg

20180516_142429.jpg

Now some pink

20180516_151219.jpg

20180516_153346.jpg

Some purple

20180516_165802.jpg

20180516_172450.jpg

And I'll stop the clock here.
Total time today: 4 hours

20180516_172854.jpg

I'm on the fence with the purple. I thought it was a good idea but looking at it now... ehhh... I tried to add a pink and orange tint, and close up it does look better but when you pan out and look at it as a whole.... ehhh....

Maybe I'll feel differently tomorrow. What do you guys think?

Happy Wednesday Steemit!

❤ Arly

Sort:  

its really marvelous!!but your art is highly appreciable..I like the purple color.. It's looking really pretty mam..

Thank you very much @lanamo!

its really awesome!! i don't believed this!! critical photo!

@bearone dear you're such a talent! How something that initially doesn't fit into any structure turns out to be a masterpiece of art, can only be attributed to talent. This you embody.

Steem on!

@eurogee of @euronation community

Awww @eurogee you are lovely. Thank you ❤

Thanks dear

omg lol I was looking at the picture and thought to myself, that picture looks familiar. So I pulled out my work in progress which has been on hold for a very very long time.....

20180516_202559.jpg

Mine is just a small version though; they are postcard sized calendar.... and even still I couldn't even finish it in one go. It is no where as good as yours. This is just coloured pencils though; I'm not very good with watercolour. I've only tried once and it didn't look anywhere as good as yours.

By the way, I love the idea of the colour chart you made. I also noticed the different type of water brush you use. That is a really good idea. I will look into getting some the next time I try water colour pencils out.

Hi @supersoju!

Ohh I love that calendar! I saw it in the shops, thought about it, wanted it and forgot to buy it 😭.

For me, they all take forever to finish no matter the size lol. The fact that Im blogging about it just means I need to see it through 😉 I figured maybe I can get this one finished (I have heaps of wips)

If you can, try to get your hands on some derwent inktense. Ive never used water colour pencils before, but I believe inktense is what makes the colours so vibrant. It seriously isnt me lol

And definitely get a water brush. The blue water brush is from the art shop and the small clear ones are from ebay, and work just as well as the art shop one.

Ps. Ebay is way cheaper

awww, you should of bought it. It is really cool. I said to myself I would colour one a day for each day since it was so small.... well we know what happened there.

hehehehe that's a good way to force yourself to finish one. Good motivation lol

I remember looking at inktense, I ended up picking pastel and watercolour ones. I will have to look at getting some inktense one next time. Though I do like using pastels and the different type of blenders.

Nice, thanks for the tip. I just bought a set of 6 different sizes kekeke 😉

Ohhh I was doing some coloring the other day on live! So glad I found another fan here!!!

Omg i just saw! We're working off the same book too. High five, high five!

I like the purple. Try a slightly redder tiny maybe? It's looking really pretty :D

goatsig

Ok I will try it today! Also was thinking of maybe going a bit darker on the purple. Thanks Ry!

I like the purple, it makes me think of the seaweed down the beach when I was a kid, the skinny and tiny round ones were green and th big leaf shaped ones were always a dark purple!

Thank you! And Yes! I remember them to be a darker purple too. Maybe I'll work a bit more on the purple bits today.

Spectacular and so much fun to look at! Great job B1

Awww cheers boo! ❤❤

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

So nice! I love the palette of colors!!1

Ohh wow. Thank you so much @silviabeneforti that means a lot to me ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02