Meet Our Steem Witness With @enginewitty. Episode 15

in #witness-category6 years ago

image

As a steemian who want to see this platform continue to grow and flourish, we all have 30 votes to cast for any steemit witness of our choice and I will say this is the most important 30 votes you will ever cast on this platform.

Meet our steemwitness is a program put in place to know more about our steem witness, there roles and obligations. We need them as much as they needs us. Our witness are the leaders on the platform and thus it is our paramount importance that we due our due diligence before casting our votes.

Today I would like to introduce you to @enginewitty Witness, cryptocurrency savage.

What you need to know about @enginewitty

229238_10150588619780652_2948958_n.jpg

<div class = text-justify Welcome to my interview and thanks for the honor @enginewitty

How did you first hear about steemit and what made you decide to join?

I First about steemit through a search for new blogging platforms. At the time, I was heavy into marketing and needed a few more venues to 'peddle my wares'. I joined then, but didn't do anything until about three months later - when I saw that STEEM was creeping up with stability on the crypto exchanges.

For steemians who don't know much about witnesses, can you give a layman explanation of what it is that witnesses do?

In the simplest terms I can think of, a witness' role is to 'witness' things that happen with STEEM. We do this by setting up servers that help to record what is done on the STEEM blockchain. This can be anything from a wallet transaction to someone making a comment on a post and even making posts themselves.

Being a witness takes a lot of time and energy, how do you keep a balance between this and other commitments?

I have intertwined it with all my other facets on the chain and in my life. I really don't look at myself as anyone special. "Oh hey look, that's @enginewitty! Isn't he a witness? Ya, I vote for him, you should too." That's about the gist of it. Many people I've met have no clue that I run a bot, created #thealliance or moreover, am a witness. They know me as that 'hip-hop artist with a sexy voice' or 'erotic poet' or 'fisherman'.

What is one thing that most people don't know about you?

Most people don't know I am Native American. The room gets quiet when I say something about it, so I tend not to typically bring it up.

What makes you from different witnesses in the steemit community?

What makes me different? I'm willing to participate. I'm not one of those devs working hard to create new daps or UIs, I'm what I've coined as a social witness. I'm all over discord, I get out and meet people, I engage heavily on Steemit itself and I'm really just a 'social' guy. This is a social network after all. Without a pure social witness like me out here keeping it real, showing the world what can be, I honestly don't see it surviving.

What is the biggest challenge you have ever faced since you joined steemit?

The biggest challenge I have faced was the very first one, getting noticed. I realized early on that to make this platform work and be successful, I would need a team. That notion gave birth to my family in #thealliance.

As one of the witnesses what is your duty?

As a witness, I feel it is my duty to further the progress of the STEEM blockchain on a good path. One of the ways I do that is by encouraging quality content creation. Another (like most recently with https://github.com/steemit/steem/issues/953 ) is by collaborating with other witnesses to make changes to the chain.

What is the biggest challenge the steemit community must overcome before it goes widespread?

I feel the biggest challenge we face (right now) is retention. It doesn't make any sense to bring in ten million people if only 5% of them are going to stay. That involves educating people on the volatility of cryptocurrency markets, what plagiarism is and why it is frowned upon, and even simple things like engaging on a healthy (for the platform and people you are involved with) basis.

I know that you are always busy with your computer trying to help the community, apart from that, what are the other things you enjoy doing?

I think the picture speaks loudly about other things I enjoy doing LOL! I also do a bit of hunting, pick up the occasional Xbox controller, hop on a bike, take a hike, throw in a little gardening from time to time and just about anything that involves being outside.

Where do you see the value of steem in the next 4-5 years along with the platform?

I see (and am pushing) toward some amazing advances with this chain. One of those being the communities when SMT's arrive and all kinds of fabulous daps springing forth from that. I see it making more of a global impact across the planet as countries far worse off economically than my own U.S., begin to really understand what it is we have here and how it can help so many financially, educationally and socially.

What's the big plans you are working on to make steemit great?

I can't reveal my super top secret classified plans. If I told you, I'd have to kill you. (this message will self-destruct)

Besides being invested in steem, what other crypto currencies do you fancy?

I'm a long-time fan of Litecoin. I think LitePay has yet to see the true value they have there. I was about to hop on the EOS bandwagon until it froze the other day. For claiming to have all this speed and just freezing like that? Made me scratch my head. I am however, enthralled with Bitcoin. "Why? It's so slow?" I know. But, I look at Bitcoin as the 'model-a' of cryptocurrencies. She may not move very fast, but she looks damn good sitting in my garage.

Some people have called crypto currency the internet 2.0 while other think it is just a hiccup in evolution, what are your thoughts on the future of crypto?

I think STEEM itself is the best kept secret in the cryptosphere. We're always evolving, but this chain here, the scalability is unlike anything we've ever seen. I look more to this chain here, to be the pioneer of the next 30 years of cryptocurrency. As for being the internet 2.0? No, it's just a better wheel for the overall machine and its movement. Maybe not even a wheel, but like, jet packs LOL!

What will be the implications of government having a say in cryptocurrency world?

Governments have been moving toward a 'cashless society' since the early part of the 1990's with the mass adoption of credit cards and debit cards. Granted, they wanted to keep the money in the banking systems, and cryptocurrency has severely interrupted that plan. I'd be willing to wager that more cryptos like XRP surface, which involve banking and insurance companies, to try and overpower the free reign of the cryptoverse.

If you could only vote for one witness (not yourself) who would it be and why?

If I could only vote for one witness? At this point in time, I would have to go with @timcliff. He has taken a step down from the coveted top 20 pedastal on countless occasions, spoken with me, and participated in multiple witness chats I was part of. He doesn't think he's better than anyone else, but he is downright brilliant.

In five sentences or less, tell steemians why you deserve their vote.

Why do I deserve your vote? Ask around. I'm Batman.

If you could have a privilege to change something about steemit, what would it be?

The first thing I would change about Steemit is the wait time to be approved for a new account. People lose interest if you don't let them hold their shiny new object and give them a chance to play with it. I personally onboarded one a few months ago, it took 3 and a half weeks for her to get approved. After the excitement I had stirred within her, it was all gone by then. So, when that changes, I'll personally bring many more people.

It is so awesome finally having a chat with you @enginewitty
Thanks so much for creating time for meet our steemit witness. Have a wonderful day 🤝🏻

You're welcome.

PROMOTING AND INTERVIEWING STEEM WITNESS IS ALL I DO

As steemit users we need to do everything in our power to choose witnesses that will represent the community well. Before voting make sure you do some research on the people you are voting for and be informed. Head over to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and click on some of the witnesses names, get to know them a bit better and do your part to make sure this community thrives.

Now that you have read something about @ enginewitty I strongly recommend you to choose @enginewitty as a witness. For now if you want to select it then open itIMG_20180707_125225_753.jpg

please vote @enginewitty to be your witness today!

If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me by Upvoting, Sharing and Reblogging and kindly follow for more content to come !

linedivider.jpg

Thanks for reading. Till next time

You can check and read my previous interview with
reggaemuffinexyleadsactly-witnessfelixxxlukestokesneoxianabh12345good-karma
liondani
aggroedyuriks2000jatinhota themarkymark and you can make sure you follow along with the next episode.


Help a soul today so that the world will be a better place for you and for me.



I remain my humble self @dhavey

VOTE @enginewitty @themarkymark @jatinhota @yuriks2000 @liondani @aggroed @good-karma @abh12345 @neoxian @lukestokes.mhth @blockbrothers @adsactly-witness @timcliff @drakos @roelandp @reggaemuffin @felixxx @steemgigs as witness.

Thanks to @official-hord for the badge

GoldenProjectBanner-01.jpg


You can join @goldenproject whataspp group using the link below: https://chat.whatsapp.com/I28fEttLZCj2yrC2JjFNlz

Sort:  

This is a great interview and to building a great future for everyone on this platform.
I love all what i read from this witness. He is such a great person for what he said up there.

Thanks for the nice commenting.

How I wish I could have such knowledge about cryptos, @enginewitty is a cool witness would vote for him right away.

@Dhavey Nice one!

Thanks bro for stopping by... U can start learning today nah!

Thanks for reaching out and including me on your interview collection! Hopefully people can learn a little from it :)

You are welcome. Always happy to learn more from you guys.

Nice one @dhavey

I keeping counting my number of witness here because you bring us amazing individuals

😂 haha!
Keep counting friend. More to count

Thanks a lot @dhavey.

This was a great interview! Thanks for increasing awareness around witnesses, and giving us a chance to get to know them better.

Thanks for reading

Great interview! Not only is @enginewitty one of my favorite witnesses, but he is also one of my favorite people on the blockchain! He has a great amount of intergrity, and one can trust him at his word. He reaches out to people to make everyone feel special. He works, tirelessly, to make Steemit and Discord better for all. He is awesome! 💙

Thanks for the nice commenting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20