announcing myself as a new witness - @emrebeyler

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

I have been thinking running a witness in the last weeks, today I made it real. If you read this post and have no idea what is a witness, check out the related section on Steemit FAQ.

About myself


My name is Emre, a software developer from Istanbul, Turkey. I have been programming since high school which makes almost 12 years experience with programming languages. I currently lead a software development team in a B2B hotel provider company - biggest in Turkey.

I bought my first Bitcoin on 2014 and I am active on the scene since then. I have been studying blockchain technologies for a long time.

My contributions to STEEM


It has been 5 months since I have joined Steem network. I have been developing my own projects, contributing to others. There are just too many projects to list there, so I will just list some of them :)

An alternative activity feed for STEEM accounts. It has currently 200 daily unique users visiting the website. You can also see your potential earnings in SBD, SP, and USD.

I am running a steem-python fork with the fixes included and installable via pip.

Curobot is a personal curation bot, intended as the replacement of Steemvoter. You can get the same functionality (even more) without giving away your account's posting authorities.

I have documented steem-python with practical examples. Even, I go back and check these articles from time to time.

I have originally found the utopian tip bot's idea and implemented it. It's been serving without any problems for months.

I have automated lots of things at Utopian Discord for moderators. Probably we have saved countless hours of manual work in total after these bots came in place.

Page views at Steemit can indicate lots of things and used as a metric. However, getting that information programmatically was a challenge. I made a simple API giving that metric for posts.

I have also coded @abusereports' initial code in exchange of a bounty. However, I continue to give support and co-run it.


This is not all, I was like a project machine in the last couple of months. You can see more at my Github profile.

My Witness Server Specs


I have one witness server for now.

64x GB RAM
4 CORE Intel i7 CPU
2x2 TB HDD
1gbit/s network

If I go up on the list and start to get multiple blocks in a day, I will also open a backup witness server with automatic failover.

Vote for me as a witness!


Sort:  

Am I the only one thinking it's totally inappropriate to do self-promoting through spamming people with 0.001 steem transfers?

& upvoting yourself looks good when you post negatively of others...

Indeed, I upvoted my own comment to make it visible as the top comment. It's cheeky and I don't do it often (and when I do it, I usually spend only 1% voting power to make my comment above most of the spam-comments, but still allowing others to curate the comments).

On Steem, people are quite concerned to come with criticism or opposing views, and there is an abundance of complimenting comments (for quite some of them it's even obvious that the complimenter didn't even care to read the article). At one hand, it's nice that open conflicts, ad-hominems, flag-wars and bitter arguments are rather rare at this platform, at the other hand I do think there is too few discussion going on. It may lead to echo-chamber effects and circle-jerking, where most people only bother reading things they agree on and avoid reading and commenting on things they disagree on. I find it very healthy when the most visible comment is a constructive criticism rather than the ordinary dull "great job!", "nice article!", etc.

In this case I felt that the spam was inappropriate and hence some kind of reaction was appropriate - like leaving a comment at the top of the article linked to.

Seeing the replies it seems like I'm quite alone on the opinion that this is "inappropriate spam". Either that, or out of all the people thinking it's "inappropriate spam", I was the only one actually bothering to follow it up.

Yes, inactive voters is most likely a problem, but I don't see the "wallet spam comments" making people much aware of it.

Great points! I like this spam as I only look at 10% or less and the little money sent adds up! Imagine if they used a bot to send to all 1 million accounts, would cost 1,000 sbd or my decimal off?

probably you’re not the only one. Thanks for speaking out loudly and giving your input.

My promo script works like this:

  • listen account witness vote operations
  • if the voter has free slots, send a memo about my witness campaign.

There are a couple more checks (one memo for one user, etc.)

I do it because witness voting is underrated on the network. @freedom and a few whales decides which witness should be on top50.

More minnows, mote dolphins vote - than we have a healthy network about witnesses.

I am sorry you feel kinda spammy about me however I am doing it for the awareness.

I do it because witness voting is underrated on the network.

That may be a valid point, it's nice to bring around some awareness. Anyway, I've delegated my witness votes but still got spammed.

I didn't consider it as spam at all. I considered it as a new witness reaching out.

  • I think it's sad a muti-million $ corporation like Steemit, Inc. does such a poor job on their witness page.
    • Only listing 50 without pagination to the rest.
    • Allowing dead witnesses to be on the listing.
      • Check some of @ura-soul's posts about this situation. They are eye opening.

How would you recommend a new witness get noticed?

  • spending big bucks to get on the trending page?

I'll give you my witness vote since I'm not doing anything with them. And I don't think it's a spammy idea at all to promote yourself. If not you, then who?

I think its a great way to let people know what you are up to. Its super passive and non intrusive.

Voted for you for your tools etc. I have a request for steem.rocks. Would you be able to implement the STEEM part of post payout in it? I know it is a small part but its not in any tools I can find.

Hey @emrebeyler I was intrigued by your message!
I like what I've read in your post and have voted for your witness.
Music and creativity is why I joined Steemit and I hope to carry on writing and posting music here indefinitely.
If there are any musician promotional type tools or bots you can help me with please get in touch.
Cheers and the best of luck to you.
@darrenclaxton on Discord

I received your notification and have read your post, I think you have enough contributions to deserve the place of witness, from this moment on I will follow you, I will vote for you as a witness and I will mention you in my publications expressing my support and inviting at the users to support you, of course if you agree! :)

Thank you, followed back! :)

This comment has received a 70.42 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @jesusjacr.

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

@emrebeyler has been a great help to me so he certainly gets my vote!

Thanks my friend!

Hey @emrebeyler,
Thanks for being with us with your wonderful works.
I've just voted for you as a witness. 😉😉😉

emre.png
Hi, @emrebeyler I voted for you!

Hi @emrebeyler

I got your memo.

I'm voting for you because a friend @seesladen likes Steem.rocks (I doubt if he even knows you're the one behind it). Personally, I use Steemd.com

Blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34