Witness Node updated to 0.19.5!

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

As you are probably aware of, the steem blockchain has halted for a few hours today due to someone power-down some negatived amount of vest 7 days ago.

image.png

The Steem Dev team has acted quickly and rolled out the fix here: https://github.com/steemit/steem/commit/ecb2a90e9e2268e40916eb5bc57fde07aade5260

image.png

The account assets are safe in this incident. and the steem blockchain has resumed normal operations.

Witness nodes hang and have to be upgraded to 0.19.5 manually. Thanks to the help (in particular @drakos @timcliff @therealwolf @emrebeyler etc) from #witness channel in steem.chat, I have followed the correct steps to upgrade (see @someguy123 's post on how to upgrade)

Unfortunately, my node needs a replay/reindexing, and it took time - about 16 hrs this time.

image.png

I check ./run.sh logs from time to time to monitor the progress of node reindexing. I can confirm from the docker logs ID | head that it clearly says blockchain version: 0.19.5 and as soon as I see the first line of Got XX transactions on block ... by ... I enable my witness node by conductor enable KEY.

After a few minutes, it started to produce blocks:

image.png

Nice, although I am just a backup witness, I am still so thrilled that I do actually contribute to the steem blockchain - my ID is written to the steem blockchain about once every 2 hours - How Cool Is That!

Support me and my work as a witness by

  1. voting me here, or
  2. voting me as a proxy.

Thank you! Some of My Contributions: SteemIt Tutorials, Robots, Tools and APIs

Sort:  

Hello, are you on discord? Can not seem to find you.

yes, I am on discord and also steem.chat

Please contact me at chronocrypto.

I'll talk to you on steem.chat. Cheers

Surprised it took this long for someone to power down a negative number and find the issue.

I enjoyed your articles and you seem really into helping build steem so i just voted you for witness. Keep up the good work @justyy :)

Thank you!

Right on thanks for the details 😎
So as a backup witness you do earn rewards? I have been wondering about some of the details of being a witness, I am glad to see there is incentive for the backup witnesses. Dropped a vote from myself and @onelovedtube.

thank you very much. Yes, all witness earn rewards - but at a different rate (you earn SP when you produce your blocks).

Sir follow you follow me thanx

Well you read him Dookity-dook, follow the sir, he seems a really nice... bot :P

Lol nice to hear from ya, I was wondering how you been doing lately I seem to get side tracked with things before I get a chance to peak in on you 🙃

I think eventually I will be pushing onelove as proxy, we have a few already set that way but I will really have to research the witnesses.

Posted using Partiko iOS, join the beta testing program here

Sir resteemed your blog upvote me thanx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04