Witness Update (18/9/2018)

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

witnessupdate.png

Yesterday I was halfway trying to upgrade to v0.20.0 when Steem-related services grinded to a halt. That was the beginning of my first emergency experience being a Steem witness. To be honest, it wasn't quite a smooth and intuitive process for me at first. Going through the learning curve I guess. Now I know a little more about the codebase as well.

AFAIK, the problem is with the incompatible post lockout period between v0.19.x and v0.20.0 that forked the chain up, loosely speaking. Good thing there are reliable witnesses to hold the fort, although following the mantra of "don't trust, verify", it certainly took me awhile to make sure it wasn't all a coordinated attack. Maybe I was thinking too much.

giphy (9).gif
Basically what happened. Source

Here's what I did to remedy my situation, in case anyone's interested:-

  • Duplicated the existing blocklog into a reserve and replaced the existing one with a new download.
  • Opened config.ini, searched for checkpoint and inserted the block and hash of interest: checkpoint = [26037575, "018d4d47225e6cada82b9aaabc8503ee318c547c"]
  • git apply these patches on Steem's repo after verifying them the best I can:

a. https://github.com/abitmore/steem/commit/91d9ca782ef0de87015f2d3d14bea4571aa98811.patch
b. https://github.com/abitmore/steem/commit/250e9b96be7080c35220e948e84a9b4b2d255b71.patch
c. https://github.com/abitmore/steem/commit/2e7dca8e9639df6a62429f58a24803978bbc5b7b.patch
d. https://github.com/abitmore/steem/commit/9ef9052e00ddf61dbff6d2a3f1e1a839d3db190e.patch

  • Rebuilt v0.19.12.
  • Replayed the chain.
  • Watched this super duper interesting video while waiting (Source: aoflex):-
  • Chilled out with some music (Source: Ninotchka):-
  • Took a power nap.
  • Signed the pubkey.
  • Now I'm back up running v0.19.12 and looks like it had its first meal of the day a couple of hours ago. Seems alright for the time being.
  • Let me know if I did anything wrong or if I could do anything better. Looking forward to learning the best practices and preparations. Kudos to the witnesses who are helping out with the situation.

    So when HF20?

    Note: By the way, there's a scam / phishing attempt going on the network, read @arcange's post on it: https://steemit.com/steemit/@arcange/phishing-attempts-are-running-and-use-fake-comments-with-images.


    Follow me @kevinwong

    Sort:  

    Obviously... The whatchamacallit and the dodads didn't sync with the chain of the blocks and fuck.... this is confusing haha

    It's okay, all you need to do is HODL

    perfect! HODL is my middle name! haha

    Best summary so far!

    When did you become a witness? just found out through this post.
    I was wondering if steem was under DOS attack but seemed like it was not. hahahaha

    Oh hey @tshering-tamang, I've only started one month ago. Haha it wasn't an attack, just a mistake in a code..

    Cool! :D Voted you for witness.

    Is HF20 has been delayed due to yesterday issue? It looks like they find the issue and working on it, And the amazing was that all the witnesses were working together to resolve the issue, this is brother hood. i like it.

    Not sure if it's delayed, I don't think so

    Definitely hope that it's not delayed, but better safe than sorry.

    It seems the life of steem witness can be very stressed sometimes.
    I have noticed this phishing scam in some posts and have reported few accounts and their comments to @steemcleaners, too.

    If I were in your situation I would have started and stopped with the power nap, so by that metric you did pretty well.

    Haha tbh it felt like a power nap all the way through. But can’t say the same for those actually troubleshooting

    Obviously i've a no knowledge in front of you after all you're witness i can only wish you all the best

    looks like it had its first meal of the day a couple of hours ago

    You guys are really working hard 😦

    This is a cool look into the work of witnesses. Keep the network defended.

    I think only about 50% of people have a vague idea of what has happened including myself :)

    Magnifico forma de expresar un buen post e informativo lastima que mi ingles no sea tan perfecto pero para eso estan los traductores Saludos y mis respetos mi apoyo con mi voto.

    Do you have any idea why Steem auto doesn't work?

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.30
    TRX 0.11
    JST 0.033
    BTC 63968.82
    ETH 3136.80
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.28