Witness Server Updated to v0.19.3

in #witness-category6 years ago

I have updated to the latest release of Steem v0.19.3, released while I was on vacation. This release isn't a hardfork, but addresses some security issues from spam attacks:

Previously fixed, but not contained in a tagged release, is a fix for an I/O vulnerability that could lead to a denial of service attack on nodes.

Added mitigations regarding bandwidth for custom operations, exploitation of which could lead to minor network instability, resulting in high block latency and the missing of blocks by witnesses.

Witness Node Config:

Feed: 3.135 (updated every 15 minutes)
APR: 0.0%
Registration: 0.1
Block Size: 65,536
Missed blocks: 137


Thank you for your support. Peace.


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

Nice, thanks!

Ooo wow this sounds cool.

All steemit witnesses are doing a great job.

Thanks for looking after us and the security of this platform, if people feel its secure and safe then it can only continue on an upward curve.

Thanks @krnel. We all get very sick of spam.

I stayed the same I did not understand anything haha .. :p
In case of program I am bad.

thanks excellent work, enough spam

Could I ask your thoughts regarding dust votes please? Some people say it was addressed in hf20 others say not, I am finding it difficult to get a definitive answer regarding the 0.249 cent dust threshold.

I think it may be lower...?

"STEEM_MIN_PAYOUT_SBD": "0.020 TBD",

from python_scripts/tests/api_tests/database_api/get_config.json.pat

Okay thank you, so it does still exist then.

mvandeberg commented on Nov 13, 2017
We are removing the vote dust threshold in HF 20.

We have two options in how to implement this.

Do the vote as is
Floor the vote to 0 rshares
I am inclined towards 1. The vote dust threshold was instated during quadratic rewards. Votes under the threshold could add up to decent reward and should not be overlooked.

HF20 will have it removed it seems. Right now the first comment I made is what I found in a search for 'dust'. I guess it will be change to 0 later ...

Sorry for taking up your time here with this, though does the taking it down to zero, equal a diminishing vote level over a 1 year period for all? As I understand the maths, to get to a zero threshold would require a diminishing vote over a 1 year period, I may though be wrong, and am open to that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65