Witnessing from the Bottom at Rank 99, but Still a Witness ;)

in #witness-category5 years ago (edited)

I've dropped almost out of sight to the bottom of the top 100 witness list, holding at position 99 for now. It's a bummer, but I am still thankful to those who vote for me as a witness.


Source

It's costing USD $100 per month to pay for the server, and at the witness position of 99 and the current value of STEEM... well I only cover about 50% of the monthly costs for the a month of witnessing.

I get 35 SP each week for witnessing blocks. 35 x 4 = 140 SP per month about. The server costs 282.053 STEEM at this point.

It's a good thing I am a content producer and get decent rewards. I don't produce content to pay for my witness server though, but it is what it is now, and I will have to take my author and curation rewards to pay for some of the server costs. Having saved up SBD helps me out in these tough STEEM times. But it will only get me so far until I have to question if running the server is really worth it...

Thank you once more for all of your support. It's appreciated. Have a nice weekend :) Peace.

P.S. I'm thinking of reviving my curation/community app project that I killed in the winter of 2017 when Steemit Inc. announced they were making communities. I didn't want to make something that would be redundant when it would be offered on the primary front-end of Steemit.com, is what I thought... It's been almost two years, and nothing from Steemit Inc. on that front. I shouldn't have killed it back then :/ Some of you may remember it. I will be remaking the app from the former PHP/JS code base to only JS running on NodeJS.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

Sorry to hear this @krnel.

We are struggling with costs too, and that's 2 of us producing content and at around rank 70 in the list.

With apps and devs holding back due to Steemit inc apparently going live with SMT/communities 'soon', and then pushing the timelines back, this is a real bummer - Your app. could be live, and Appics would have taken a different route to SMT and be making progress.

Good luck with your project and have a nice weekend.

Asher

Thanks :) Good luck to you as well. I'm not familiar with Appics. What's the significance? Thanks.

They were at SteemFest 2 ready to go with SMT, and then presented last month stating they were upset by the lack of communication with the delays. I can imagine that this week they are thinking about ditching the SMTs and looking for another approach. :(

These times are very hard for every witness and project on steemit. We will see what future brings, but to be honest this is some kind of purgatory for every individual, group/community and witness.
It's sad to see, but also a harsh reality that many people are abandoning our little space ship (on the way to the moon other galaxies). True, honest users and persistent ones will stay until some brighter time, and these users will probably gain more STEEM than before; But witnessing with these prices is so hard.

Good luck with your app, whatever you decide about it; We'll be watching its progress closely.

Cheers,
@svemirac

Yeah, all of crypto is seeing abandonment. The top 20 witnesses are still making about $3,000 per month at these prices, so their costs are more than covered, and have been for a long time.

Thank you for witnessing!
Take my vote.

I'd also like to run a server to keep steem stable and maybe even more decentralized but can afford it.

Maybe in some time..

Posted using Partiko Android

There are over 100 witnesses, and only 19 are needed really. The rest of us are backups and get a slice of the block processing once per minute in rotation, while the top 19 are each getting a slice every minute. If you start a server, you probably won't cover the costs unless a lot of ppl with SP support you ;)

Thanks for the support :)

I seriously need more witness votes, there are so many I want to support and a lot of them are lower in the ranks. It’s a time of transition, but there are things that are being built and getting stronger. I’m excited to see where we go from here with all the great minds contributing to the future of Steem.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, I made a policy of only supporting witnesses lower than rank 60 months ago.

I don't envy you the politics of being a witness, but thank you sincerely for securing the blockchain. Also, that's a pretty awesome policy.

I am scared about the future of steemit.Is it going to die?Now a combined effort need from all the existing member to save steemit.We must bring more people to steemit,which can help steemit to survive.

Steem won't die if Steemit goes down. The coding needs to become less restricted to Steemit Inc's control though.

I heard it few days back from one of my friend. He was telling that steem price will be high in January. Is it true?

In the same boat my friend. I feel ya.

I went ahead and voted for you, Good Luck!

Hi @krnel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 7.267 which ranks you at #65 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 230 contributions, your post is ranked at #4.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I know you you feel. It's hard to pay for the server yourself. With our 244 rank we producing 1 block per month and we pay around 80$ for server. But the thing is we need to believe in better future :)

I voted for your Witness. Hope it will help atleast a bit :)

I hope things will eventually turn around. May likely not happen for the shirt term, but hopeful for the longer run.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86