Updating my witness votes to those running 0.19.2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

0.19.2 has been out for two and a half weeks now and though it's not a mission critical update, it is recommend for everyone "due to p2p network stability fixes". I think witnesses (especially the top ones) should take updating their nodes to the latest version seriously and do so promptly. To support that, I've removed my votes for versions lower than the latest stable release.

I hope to restore many of those votes once their nodes are updated as I have great respect for those witnesses and the benefits they provide to the community. As they say, "it's not personal," I just decided to make a statement about the importance of witnesses updating their nodes quickly and efficiently unless they communicate good reasons for not doing so.

If you'd like to update your votes as well, compare what you see here: https://steemd.com/witnesses

With your own witness votes here: https://steemd.com/@lukestokes (but use your own username)

For more on witness voting, see my weekly Witness Voting Engagement Report which comes out every Wednesday night.


Update: I'm happy to report three off the accounts I had previously voted for are back in as they upgraded to 0.19.2. :) Also, please see @anyx's great comment below for an important point about witness nodes and version 0.19.2 (he's upgraded now, btw).

I'll continue to post about the process of witness voting, and I thank you all for your questions and desire to keep Steem running smoothly.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

@lukestokes you are doing a great job and one of my top witness , upped-always

Thanks Charles :)

welcome bud, more success to you.

@lukestokes - I have used only 4-5 of my witness vote slots. I do not know most of the other witnesses or their work because I have not seen their updates or have had no personal interaction with them. Any guidance on how to select witnesses to vote for and what should we look for in good witnesses in terms of activities that help Steemit ?
Thanks for your statement and guidance. Upvoted full.

Yeah, I may do a full post on this or just expand my normal witness engagement report this week if I have time to put it together. Many of the top witnesses run sites which support the Steemit ecosystem, many of which are listed here: http://steemtools.com/ Part of their witness pay goes to funding and running those projects. For those who are new, it can be difficult to remember who does what, especially if they weren't around back before those projects existed.

True. Since some of us new comers do not have the history, we do not notice some good efforts going on in the background unless the concerned witnesses post about them. I will take a look at Steemtools.com. Thanks

A full post or a section in the witness report would be most welcome. Thanks

Thanks for this post now I can search who really is the one to be the top witness. ^_^

node updates sounds like an important issue, i'm too noob to actually understand but i take your word for it ! (-:

Hmmmmm. I may need to adjust some of my 17 standing witness votes accordingly.

I would have had a hard time figuring out whose updated their node recently so I appreciate you sharing this as it's pretty important for people who have actually voted for witnesses.

So glad it was helpful to you! :)

Glad to see all the witnesses I have cast a vote for are on the list and a few that I have been on the fence about will be getting a vote later today.

Cool. :) I think I'm going to try and keep my votes a little more dynamic than they have been in the past and change things up here and there. Hopefully I'll people updated with my thinking as I go along.

Hi Luke. So I'm still here, and I'm trying to understand what makes a "good" witness. I'm assuming all witness have enough steem power where their vote can mean a lot to newbie content creator like myself.

Saying that, is the witnesses role to lift up minnows like myself? I see your list of 23 people you always vote for. How did you choose them? Or am I way out in left field all together on this one. Thanks for the education as always! -Dan

Thanks for running the network, Luke. I just upvoted you as a witness at https://steemit.com/~witnesses

I mentioned you on a heart felt blog tonight.. Not looking for a vote more than I am a comment. You might like it:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@intelliguy/understanding-your-existence-your-soul-the-meaning-of-life-how-much-is-your-soul-worth-be-careful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13