Sort:  

Good information! And people wonder why SBI doesn't have a witness up yet... It's definitely not a good use of our resources at this time.

A top Witness receives 1371 * 0.288 = 312.588 SP per day.

This line has a typo in it (should by * 0.228), but I did check and the output is based on 0.228 instead of the typo value.

Thanks for letting me know, the typo has been corrected. Yes I did the math based on the correct number, it’s just when I typed it back in this post.

And that’s right, setting up a new witness is not worth it at this point in time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

a top 20 witness in 2 days gets the amount of steem that i got in 13 months 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I understand fully, I recently dropped to #21 and realised I was only getting 27 Steem per day approx, which does not cover my witness + 2 backups + seed, so I fully understand the plight of witnesses outside of the top 20 and feel it should be addressed with the foundation when they are formed. You mention you have made contributions to certain projects, are you a developer? We are in need of developers currently to contribute to the @tokenbb project, please look at this post and see if it interests you https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@reggaemuffin/new-project-tokenbb-frontend-a-forum-client-for-the-steem-blockchain.

Ouch! Going from the top 20 to #21 is a hard drop in terms of income. Backup witnesses are definitely under paid.

Yes I’m a developer but with a full job and side activities in the real world I don’t have much time left for more projects. I will take a look at @tokenbb

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well it helped me, if i didnt fall out i would have stayed around #18 and not look for more votes. Sure we would love your input on @tokenbb

Thanks for the information on earnings.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is a good amount of money.

Posted using Partiko Android

Based on what exactly? $35k per year before expenses is not even worth considering an income.

Posted using Partiko iOS

To run a witness server is not a full-time job and is more stream of income with other sources combined. )

I guess depends from which country you are from, minus taxes and expenses it could still be something decent. But I don’t consider this a good money either when taking everything into consideration.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Probably wouldn’t have hurt to include estimated server prices as well because the income still sounds pretty good when you don’t factor much else in 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

I did add server price in my previous post and forgot to include it here. Will make an update in the morning.

Posted using Partiko iOS

WITNESSED \o/

Yay! Thanks

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @quochuy, you have received a 45% upvote. I'm the Vietnamese Community bot developed by witness @quochuy and powered by community SP delegations

Thanks for doing this @quochuy... I know it varies a lot, but do you have any estimates on what a Top 20 witness would actually have to spend as expenses per month? Did the implementation of RocksDB change the server requirements for the witnesses?

Hey mate. I have no clue on the real expense amount of top witnesses. Maybe something worth asking during one of the Discord radio shows for witnesses.

The implementation of RocksDB did help a little bit for witnesses but not enough to change witness server requirements.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 112 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98