Starting My Journey To Learn Coding // Introduction

@steemcreativeLearning Java Script.jpg

Where I'm starting from

For the last year, I've been trying to learn as much about the Linux operating system as I can. I have played around with installs and whatnot for many years, but it never "clicked" with me until I had to immerse myself in it during my initial witness builds. I had a goal I needed, and that's what motivated me to stop horsing around and get to it.

I'm sure I still have plenty to learn, but I now feel comfortable enough with the OS that I'm ready to start learning the basics of code.

I did take a half semester of Turbo Pascal 20+ years ago, but have retained zero. I did teach myself HTML many years ago as well, and I've probably retained 50 percent of it. The mind certainly works on the "if you don't use it, you lose it" principle.

What I have decided on

I know many of the Devs here use JavaScript and Python on a daily basis, so I was torn on which one to learn first. This has been my biggest stumbling block to be honest. Part of that may be just the fear of learning something new and using that option as an excuse to not start, who knows?

Chatting with @bflanagin last night, and seeing his enthusiasm with making games, it lit the spark I needed to get off my ass and spend that time learning something useful.

Anyway, I did some more web-searching and landed upon a site called Watch And Code. It looks to have a fairly comprehensive FREE basics course. And I liked the presenter, so I will be starting with JavaScript.

What My Goal Is

My goal is to learn enough to build some basic tools for the Steem block-chain using the Steem API. A stretch goal would be to release a tool for public use.

What These Posts Will Be

This came about due to not having a fresh notebook handy. So I quickly opened a hackmd.io tab and started to take notes. These posts are going to be my study notes that I am sharing with the block-chain. I do welcome any suggestions or correction that may be needed if you see something that I may have missed or completely messed up.

This may be a good place for an absolute beginner.

Like I said, I consider myself to have lower to mid level knowledge of Linux (which in NOT a pre-req) and 20+ year old half-knowledge of HTML.

The Tools I'll Be Using.

  • watchandcode.com
  • Google Chrome
  • hackmd.io for note taking

I'm starting right after posting this. I'm pretty damned excited about what I'm about to do. I have felt that as a witness, I should be able to offer more than just "Hey, Vote Me!"" As a reason and I think this is a good step to remedy that.

@steemcreative is a joint witness venture and first Husband and Wife witness team of @swelker101 and @isaria, focusing on user engagement, creative content curation, contests, and supporting worthy projects. Please vote for our witness at https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=steemcreative&approve=1


Thanks to @zaxan for the banner!

Thanks, guys.

Shane @swelker101

Sort:  

This post has inspired me, I'm also just starting out on a very similar journey, I have been a big linux fan for years but have only just started taking coding lessons, I can really recommend you have a look through edx.org for the python courses. I am onto course 3 and it has been really helpful, another great resource is a mobile app called sololearn, you can take coding challenges against other learners and its fun to do if you have to commute by the train, better than squandering your brain resources on candy crush etc lol, good luck and I will be following your journey closely, thanks!

I heard of Sololearn, I definitely check it out. I sometimes have patients cancel and have some downtime between drives. Thanks!

Glad I inspired you @swelker101 , and its awesome you're going to share your journey with the community at large. JavaScript is a great scripting language to start out with as its supported in so many applications and frame works. Its not just for web pages and webapps.

Here are some other toolkits that support JavaScript in various ways:

  • QT : What I use for most my projects. Can be used in embedded devices, game consoles, Windows, Linux, MacOS. (example app: Krita) (example Desktop Enviroment: KDE)

  • GTK : The library behind a HUGE amount of desktops and desktop applications in the FOSS world. (example app: gnome-twitch ) (example Desktop Enviroment: Gnome

Sorry it took so long to respond. That first lesson, which I did just jump into after posting, took longer converting notes to a 'reader friendly" format instead of my normal "Shane short-hand". Thanks again!

I learned JavaScript in college, then immediately forgot everything I learned. So I totally understand what you’re saying! I look forward to following your notes and journey!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! Hopefully I'll retain this stuff this time around when I use it more.

I think I'm going to have to do the same thing. I know enough about docker and steemd to get myself into trouble, but not quite enough to know how to get myself back out. Core witness competency, right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73