@jatinhota Witness Update 4th July 2018, Node Update to 0.19.5

in #witness-update6 years ago (edited)

Namaste, Its @jatinhota for A Witness Update

Yesterday Issue

As you are probably aware of, the steem blockchain has halted for a few hours yesterday due to @nijeah tried to power-down some negatived amount of vest seven days ago.

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 10.45.05 AM.png

Since this was a security issue on v0.19.3, Steemit, Inc, Read The Official Announcement Here. After a few hours of investigating and testing, the developers came up with a fix that was implemented.

I think I among the first few witnesses who updated their server as soon as the patch available. Kudos to @drakos for his help. Also, I didn't miss any block within this period

It's imperative that all witnesses update to the latest 0.19.5 version, or 0.19.10 (AppBase) since the update was a soft fork. If you are still not updated your witness server then here is the guide for docker user by @someguy123


Current Standing

Unfortunately, Two large SP holder unvoted my witness, which cost me a lot and now my witness rank below 100.
My current positions are - 101 and if we exclude the inactive witnesses - 80. See here the active witnesses

I am thankful to those who voted me as their witness and trust me.

Why vote for me?

I am passionate about Steem and the Steem community. I approx of 8-9 hours a day on Steem and Steem-related communities. I am here for the long term. You can see I am posting daily news and event post from Dec 2017 and never miss a day of post despite rewards payout, my health issue and all, which showing my dedication towards steem community and my follower. Unlike other daily, I am not using any bot to post, I search and prepare which posts would help most then publish those.

I am very active in many communities on Steemit and offer a lot of help to other witnesses and users. You can find tons of users mentioning my username in their post for my support towards them.

I am supporting four communities and Pitch Perfect, A music contest started by @alejandra23.

I joined four communities and inviting you to join these excellent communities

###The Alliance
We are one family. A very supportive comm. You can get any help on any subject thanks to our intelligent member. Join @thealliance

thealliance2.png

###Air Clinic
Health Care for Everyone, Every Where. A good initiative. You will get daily health advice here. Join @air-clinic on Discord

Join_Air_Clinic-2.png

You Are Hope

Help|Opportunity|Purpose|Empowerment. An excellent project by my friend @SirCork. A steemit community supported worldwide humanitarian aid organization powered by steem.

image.png

Team India

UNITED WE STAND. Our Indian Community to help Indian
Steemians.

IndiaUnited Discord


Join here on Discord

Vote for me as a witness


Click this link and input your active private key when asked to vote


Alternatively, You can vote for me here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Go to the witness page https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Scroll down and Type "jatinhota" into the box (without the quotes and @), and then click the vote button:

Vote Jatin Hota Steem Witness

or Set me As Proxy

Vote Jatin Hota Steem Witness

If I am on the top 50 witnesses, you'll be able to vote for me simple my clicking upvote symbol the beside jatinhota.



Have An Idea? Want to Chat with me or Need Support? You can Directly Chat with me in Steemit.chat or Discord #IndiaUnited

Thank you for reading it.

jatinhota.png

Sort:  

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited Community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Any software that is coded will be exploitable - because the code is created by humans and the same humans can find some way to break or hack into it.

Does this mean Steem and it's blockchain is weak? No, in fact it only shows how well this blockchain has been developed - it detected the issue and shut itself down to protect all our accounts. We might have had a period of time when nothing was accessible - but the developers and top Witnesses quickly patched and solved the issue getting everything running again.

You only have to look at Apple, it's iPhone operating system which they fiercely lock down and the Jailbreak community who have managed to hack through exploits every single version of iOS - code is code and no matter how hard you try to make it perfect - someone will find a way to break it.

Personally I see this, like earlier hacks as a positive for Steem, Steemit and the blockchain - hacks are inevitable but that they are quickly dealt with and resolved is priceless - all our Witnesses quickly worked together to install the patch and keep this blockchain running.

Thank you again @jatinhota, you helped me once again ensure my own Witness server was updated at a time when pretty much every other resource was down.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Code is code and no matter how hard you try to make it perfect - someone will find a way to break it.

Perfect. No Code or Software in the world is hack proof. We can only solve the past issues which make it stronger.

Welcome mate.

bhai kya hai ye kuch samajh nahi aa raha 2-3 post read kari hai mene aur ye witness wala kya scene h kese update karna h ??? please reply with helpful action thankyou waiting for your response. and for your positive attitude towards steemit i already voted you !!!

Bhai, Yeh Thoda technical hoga aap keliye. Jo witness hey wo update karenge, app ko kuch karna nehin hey. Agar witness ke baare mein jyada jana chahteho to is post ko padho.

https://steemit.com/witness/@jatinhota/what-is-steem-witness-everything-you-need-to-know

thankyou bhai now i understand all about witness. hey man, i want to ask one thing more can you please tell how many upvotes i can give in a single day, jaisa ki m dekh rha hu people are giving 300+ upvotes i know this is totaly wrong and koi fayda nahi hoga uss se. please tell me the guess numbers of upvotes if i upvote good level posts daily like 50+ level post.

Please join India United discord server and you can ask doubts and also get help
https://discordapp.com/invite/vPZcE6Y

wonder why someone with large sp unvoted you. hmm
Anyways, if all Indians stand united, we certainly can achieve something
all the best to you

Me too.

Yes, Correct. But, The bitter truth is most of Indian aren't voting for me.

thats sad indeed. I will start resteeming your posts from now on. Hopefully, you can get more votes. Doing my bit

Thanks a ton for your support.

Upvoted and followed with pleasure :)

@jatinhota : Voted for you & I think you are at 99 as of now! Keep up the good work.

Thanks, mate. Yeah 99 Now.

I just joined allianz and air-clininc thank you

I am joined your group thealliance! thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82