Witness "pjau" Update Week 36steemCreated with Sketch.

in #witness-update5 years ago

Hello everyone!


So my thirty-sixth week as a witness is over. At the time of writing my full rank is #114 and my active rank is #102.

I had my first ever issue with the server, I was almost running out of hard drive space (96% used) so I had to sort that out, now I've plenty of room for the blockchain to grow. Since last weeks update I've produced 20 blocks and haven't missed any. I haven't changed any of my witness settings.


Outside of being a witness, I've put in 16.5 hours with @steemcleaners since last update, processed over 400 user reports and done lot's of Discord chat support. I've also increased my delegation to @steemflagrewards and @antiabuse by 100 SP because I've almost hit my 15,000 SP milestones. I've also this week set up a dedicated flagging account with 1,750 SP, it's currently hooked up to @reazuliqbal new auto flagging project FlagTrail, I will also use it for manual flagging when I see fit.


I keep forgetting to say this, but I've remembered for once. If you haven't already done so please give @antiabuse a follow, it resteems posts from many people that fight abuse on Steem, the posts aren't all about abuse, well a fair few will be but interesting things as well. 😊


Anyway, I think that is all for this weeks update!


Every vote is a treat for Xander!

Vote for me as Witness

https://steemit.com/~witnesses: type in pjau and click vote

Vote @pjau via Steemconnect


THANKS FOR LISTENING!

Sort:  

Wow, finally, @pjau. I've been waiting for something different to happen with your witness updates, and now you had to replace a hard drive. :) I suppose that does speak to the amount of data that is ending up on the STEEM blockchain, which I believe is supposed to be a good thing, right? more data, more activity, more STEEM goodness. Or is it 90% bot work at this point?

Any thoughts on the recent Steemit moves? Any way of sorting out what's what? That's what I need. A fact sifter that actually gets to the truth of the matter.

I've been waiting for something different to happen with your witness updates

Yeah, at least I have been keeping an eye on it. lol, I'm only using 40% now.

amount of data ... a good thing

I don't know, it's probably good and bad, because there are a lot of automated bot spamming right now, even though they are negative rep and being auto hidden on Steemit. It doesn't matter to them they are bots. But there are definitely a lot of new users too, so, good and bad. 😊

Any thoughts on the recent Steemit moves?

I'm assuming you mean the transfers and delegation removals? There was an HF proposal that would effectively remove Steemit's stake, and apparently that is why they are moving to exchanges. Read more here. Completely would destroy Steem for everyone if it was to ever happen. 💩💩💩

Yeah, that's what's I'm referring to. I've read that article, plus a few others. I'm not sure if we're talking false flag (create a reason, blame it on the reason), or if there's one party acting against Steemit, Inc., or if Steemit Inc.'s actions are totally unrelated to the other, since a hard fork would need to take place (with presumably 17 of the top 21 witnesses on board), which also seems unlikely.

I agree, though, that if such a thing were to happen, someone able to write code and then get the witnesses on board to act, that yes, that would destroy STEEM. It would destroy STEEM for whatever account(s) (doing it to Steemit just makes the biggest statement possible).

re: bots

Yeah. Plenty of them hovering around. I wonder if anyone has written and submitted any code to github to wipe out automated comment bots? Probably not. That might actually be helpful.

false flag ... party acting against Steemit

No clue to be honest, but if it turns out they are selling off a large portion of their stake, could be a good thing in the long run. Could also be bad. 😉 But yeah this HF proposal is just poop, I really don;t see anyone accepting it.

wipe out automated comment bots

Problem with that is, there are good and bad things with this, there could be a legitimate app that is "good" that requires posting tonnes of the comments, like 1 every 3 seconds. Then there's the case of who decides what is considered automated comment spam? Steemit just needs to move over to moderating what is shown, but they just want to show everything. If you use an app like musing, they moderate what is shown, like this post will not show up on that website. Steemit need to be more like that in my opinion.

I wasn't aware that was how musing was doing things. Seems like there's plenty of questions being repeated, and answers being scooped from somewhere else on the internet that make it through. It's been an ongoing cause for concern by quite a few people on musing. Or was. Now they're concerned about other things. :)

re: automated comment spam

Agreed, and I guess I should have been a little more precise when I wrote that. Something was prickling my brain when I wrote it, too, but it wasn't specific as to why, so I went with it.

I'm not really all that keen on any automated responses. Most are there because a) the individual/group putting them there want them there and b) no one has moved against them.

Getting the umpteenth comment from steemitboard telling you you just surpassed another milestone, or some bot letting you know you just got a random upvote, is still spam in the strict sense of the word, it's just that people seem to be more tolerant of them (maybe because in their spamming, they're also contributing to morale/upvotes) than they ever are for the serialized version of, "Great post!" or "I follow you, you follow me!"

At any rate, it's obvious that on STEEM, where there's not really a whole lot that is absolutely out of bounds, you will have those who will do what they do and those who will counter. Gives it all just enough topsy turviness to keep it interesting. :)

Yeah, that's what's I'm referring to. I've read that article, plus a few others. I'm not sure if we're talking false flag (create a reason, blame it on the reason), or if there's one party acting against Steemit, Inc., or if Steemit Inc.'s actions are totally unrelated to the other, since a hard fork would need to take place (with presumably 17 of the top 21 witnesses on board), which also seems unlikely.

I agree, though, that if such a thing were to happen, someone able to write code and then get the witnesses on board to act, that yes, that would destroy STEEM. It would destroy STEEM for whatever account(s) (doing it to Steemit just makes the biggest statement possible).

re: bots

Yeah. Plenty of them hovering around. I wonder if anyone has written and submitted any code to github to wipe out automated comment bots? Probably not. That might actually be helpful.

The war that you are going forward, I'm a mini soldier on that! 😛
You have made a genuine contribution so far. Wish you good luck! ✌

Working 16.5 hours weekly or daily?

A week. That's what I clock in for, in reality I'm on steem more.. lol

Hi @pjau!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.741 which ranks you at #424 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 421).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #106.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been included in the latest edition of SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66