Witness-voting? What the heck is that?

in #witness-voting6 years ago

image.png

Learning new things every day

"Vote for witnesses", the tab said, just a bit further down from the Welcome and FAQ tabs. I was brave enough to click on it a few days ago when I first started exploring steemit. The page informed me that I could vote for 30 witnesses, and there was a list of 50 names. Apart from that, it contained little additional information that I could easily take in at that moment. I didn't have much of a clue what a witness was, let alone who or what these 50 were. So I didn't dare vote for anybody and it went to the too-hard basket for the moment, one of the things I could come back to at a later stage, when the time was right. And then I forgot about it because all the rest of steemit completely took over and used up all my time and attention.

So how come I've now already cast my votes?

Well, I could pretend that I was smart enough to figure it all out myself, haha, but of course, I had some help from some amazing steemians, and particularly @dreemsteem and @welcomewagon through whom I keep finding content that is most helpful indeed. So, just by chance (or was it?) I came across a mention of @katrina-ariel who has posted this witness-voting contest, and on that post I found a link to this post by @rhondak which explains witness-voting in a way that even the newest newbie can understand. I instantly understood that voting for witnesses is super-important. I then read a few more posts on the topic such as this one by @drakos as well as from steemit itself.

How did I choose?

At first I got so excited that I wanted to enter @katrina-ariel's contest immediately. Then I realised that I can't do the requirements justice. First of all, it will be 1am where I live at the time of the Steemit Ramble witness chat, and second, being so new and reliant on other's guidance, the choices I made were really borrowed choices, and I don't feel that makes a sophisticated enough entry for a contest. So I will not enter the contest but I voted anyway and I upvoted the contest post. The choices I made are a mix from the suggestions made in these and a few other posts, all by people who say and do things I like and who seem to know what they're talking about. Before I voted I went to the profile of most witnesses to see if they generally appeal to me, and I also checked here that they weren't dead or otherwise inactive. I thought their "missed blocks" number should probably be low and in the green, so I was confused why other people had voted for @pharesim but this post by him somehow tells me that he's a good one. If someone could please confirm that for me, I'd appreciate it.

Somehow, my list doesn't appear yet when I try to look it up here. I found that feature in @rhondak's post and thought I'd try it with my name, but maybe it takes a while for it to show. When I click on "Witnesses can be voted for here", all my votes are there.

I would really like to know if I accidentally voted for anyone that people think was not a good choice for one reason or another. So below is my list of witnesses, and if you have a legit reason why I should take a vote away from one of them, please let me know and why, and preferably also name a good alternative I could give the vote to instead.

@gtg
@roelandp
@timcliff
@ausbitbank
@someguy123
@aggroed
@pharesim
@lukestokes.mhth
@followbctnews
@curie
@drakos
@busy.witness
@utopian-io
@teamsteem
@yabapmatt
@blockbrothers
@raggaemuffin
@patrice
@ocd-witness
@adsactly-witness
@sircork
@enginewitty
@swelker101
@jackmiller
@jrswab
@guiltyparties
@gmuxx
@noisy.witness
@steemcommunity
@danielsaori

I can't believe how much I've learned in the few days since I've posted my introduceyourself post. Thank you to all and everyone who makes my experience here so enjoyable!

Sort:  

Please enter my witness voting contest! :) This post shows that you're participating and learning. That's what the contest is about. You don't have to be at the Steemit Ramble chat to qualify, and you can always listen to the replay later. Just pick a witness you've learned something about, come comment on my post to tell me what you like about them, and remind me that you wrote this fantastic article!

There is so much to learn as a newbie to Steemit. I've been here since January and I'm still learning tons. My witness choices change, and there are many I still know too little about. At first my witness votes were borrowed, just like yours, but I was still voting. That counts. The longer you're here, the more you'll learn. Keep writing, keep posting, and have fun! You're doing great! 💖

Thanks heaps for the encouragement, @katrina-ariel. This is what amazed me most when I started out on steemit, the amount of immediate help and support from really great, caring folks. It provides the confidence to really participate :)

I'm so glad my post was able to help!!! Yay! Mission accomplished. :-)

The list looks great to me. You can remove your vote for GMuxx, though, because he disabled his witness recently. He's a great guy and I was sad when he decided to give up his server.

If you'd like another suggestion after removing GMuxx...
I absolutely LOVE the steemauto app!!! It's great for when you'll be away on vacation and you want to schedule your posts...or you can even out people that you always want to support on an autovote! The witness who created that is @mahdiyari
Check it out before you vote!!! Always know who you're voting for!
www.steemauto.com 😊

Ok, will do, thanks for the tip :)

Yes, that's a really good suggestion.

Thanks @rhondak, I checked most of them but this one escaped me.

You are amazing me!!!!! 😱

What a fantastic list!!!!! If you do join discord (you mentioned in another post) please look me up!!! 😊

Will check that out soon. I just have a feeling that I'll need quite a bit of time once I do because it's probably a great thing. But you'll be the first I look up when I'm there :)

Hmmmm... I'm not sure if you'd need more time. But it's probably one of the biggest keys to unlocking Steemit (in my opinion)
I just did a little training today for it.
But... When you're ready!! 😊

Thanks for the thumbs up, @dianadora. I see in my activity log that you up- and un- and up- and un- and upvoted the post. Can you tell me, is there any benefit to that, or did you just change your mind a few times?

sorry for taking so much time to reply............no there are no benefits to that ........ all i can say is steem on

☀ Post Resteem Service Offer ➡ Re-steem Your New Post ➡ Send 0.400 SBD or 0.400 STEEM To @stoneboy ✉ Post Url in the Memo ✉ Your Post Will Be Re-steem to 9500+ followers 2 different accounts.☺

Thanks for the vote! Please feel free to ask me any questions you may have. I am always available via discord.

THANK YOU for entering the @welcomewagon contest for helping us choose our comment banners! @tipu send tip, please! :)

Hi @ydraz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Wow, you really did your homework fast. Really lovely to have good content creators like you on steemit.

Steem on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85