Steem Witness Forum: @timcliff, @good-karma, @furion, @cervantes, @exyle - @andrarchy

in #witness6 years ago

I'm pleased to announce the monthly Steem Panel Discussion on MSP-Waves. We'll kick off the meeting with @andrarchy.
He's the new Director of Content for Steemit Inc. He'll answer some questions and reiterate some of the recent news from @steemitblog read here

After that I'll welcome top 20 Witnesses @timcliff, @good-karma, @furion as well as back up witnesses @cervantes and @exyle will have a discussion with me about the state of the Steem ecosystems, projects we're working on, and challenges that we as a community need to meet head on.

Projects

@timcliff is best known for collecting information on needed tweaks to condenser, the program which powers steemit.com and clones such as mspsteem.com and gosteem.com. He's a constant presence in the Steemit.chat help section, and puts together recurring posts detailing updates from witnesses.

@good-karma is best known for his creation of a mobile application for interacting with the Steem block called esteem.

@furion is best known for his database project called SteemData, which seems likely to be surpassed in the near future by his project view.ly.

My viewers should know me best by having founded the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network, which is home to the Minnow Support Project and currently

Backup Witnesses

@cervantes works to build community within Spanish speakers.

@exyle is the one of the members behind the @blockbrothers witness. They created Steemify a notification tool as well as an open source voting bot.

Logistics

The Panel happens this Saturday February 24. It occurs at 11am (1600 UTC).

The panel will take place in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network.

You can listen live at mspwaves.com/listen.

You can interact with the panelists through chat
You can listen in Discord

Sort:  

Awesome, setting up this panel was such a great idea.
I'll be there listening :-)
Thanks for the organization @aggroed!

Can we get you on the show please!

I could be the cheerleader, Asher - haha! I'm not a witness, but I'll be there listening and feeding the comments thread :-) Will you be there, too?

You make a good point :)

Yes I will be there in the comments thread with my cheerleading outfit on, see you on Sat!

THE BEST WAY TO WIN....

Actually can someone explain me what is “steem witness”? Is some kind of owners or... I think my blonde hair little disturbe me to understand 😍😂

Basically they're the ones that are running the blockchain (their servers). While centralized solutions are controlled by one entity that has full control over the corresponding servers, a blockchain is controlled by many. On Steem they're called witnesses, for Bitcoin they're called miners etc. They're also responsible to democratically decide on future changes of the blockchain called hardfork.

You can (and actually should) vote for your favourite witnesses which makes their selection being a democratic process. Before voting you should inform yourself well about the whole process and impact of your vote.

For further details you can check the FAQ for instance: https://steemit.com/faq.html#What_are_Steem_witnesses

I'd also recommend you to read this post from @lukestokes, currently one of the top 15 witnesses:
https://steemit.com/witness-category/@lukestokes/steemit-is-free-but-your-witness-vote-determines-its-future

Here you can see the ranking and vote for your favourites: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

I hope that helps to get an idea of it :-)
I'm not an expert of witnessing, so if there is someone who wants to add something I missed to mention, I'd be happy about that.

@surfermarly and now I understand. 😍

I don't even get it lol
why there is a witness?

See my reply to @rhubarb for further info :-)

awesome it is!!

Cool, I got to tune in there 😊 thanks for your great work to bring the witnesses together and building a community. You really add a lot of value to the community. Keep it up @aggroed

i agree with you bro..@raci
really @aggroed you do a great work and keep it up bro

Lets unite to vote a good and deserving witness for the future of steemit.

Good morning friends.how are you.

Good, I think. Although it's not morning for me.

Log live Steem witnesses!

Another impressive list of speakers you've managed to gather up here man, I'll be tuning in to what I think is a close 2nd to being at Steemfest.

Thank you!

Will you be recording and posting all the content? I'm guessing so...but I thought I'd ask. I'll try to make it live....sometimes life gets in the way of all the steem stuff :)

yep. We record all of them.

Wow good friends.👍👍👍👍👎👎👎💘

Your initiative is great and I enjoyed the previous discussions. The only thing I am missing is some follow through actions. How are the items that are discussed tracked and eventually addressed?

One thing that is important for me is the steem distribution and the Steemit account in particular. The blockchain is decentralised because of the multiple witnesses running the nodes, the Steemit account however holds the majority of steem (65%) ? and could influence the price by the action of a single account. I hope @andrarchy can say something about distribution plans, if any.

we should all unite under one tree and market it so that steem fetches good value to its family

Yes, teamwork is the only way to get ahead in this world.

What I appreciate the most about you is your ability to gather some of the witnesses together in one place and facilitate a great conversation.

I didn't vote, I see that you handled that on your own.

Good morning friends.
You UPVOTE I.m ayipeciaceh please🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏

It's better to not directly ask for upvotes.

okay my friend did not know how to play in steemik. thanks for the information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77